We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Seaside Cabanas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaside Cabanas
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2008

We have just returned from a trip to Belize and Honduras.
Belize was by far our favourite of the two countries. We stayed on Caye Caulker and at a jungle lodge(hidden Valley).
Caye Caulker was a wonderful little island. We felt totally relaxed the minute we got off the boat and sat with a cocktail around Seaside Cabanas pool. I went off diving during the days while my wife relaxed around the hotel or walked around the island spotting birds and iguanas.
We felt very safe here, and just to verify, they do have security at night now, though the phones were not in the rooms yet.
The staff were great and went the extra mile to arrange things for us. Even phoning ahead to help us book things on the jungle part of our trip.
Wonderful Island. Wonderful Hotel!
We will be back to Belize for sure.

  • Liked — Location and friendly service
  • Disliked — Beaches are not the best
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JWalk2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    157
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
88
356
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Shore, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2008

We booked this room while in Belize at a jungle resort. We found that the two days we saved to do nothing but relax was not going to happen at our original hotel so we booked at this place for the last leg of our trip. What a RELIEF! My boyfriend and I did absolutely nothing for 2.5 days except snorkeling for 3 hours! The rooms were fabulous! They were asthetically pleasing and completely clean! The reception girls were also wonderful and helped us discover that we had been overcharged on our 'taxi' ride there and called their management office and the driver returned our money. They were extremely helpful with all our questions, mostly where places were and just pleasant. The whole stay was just relaxing!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peppa22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandview
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2008

My fiance and I spent 7 days at the Seaside Cabanas and couldn't have been happier. The staff was friendly and helpful. Thank you Carol, Efren, Holly, and many others!

The location was ideal for shopping around the island, or jumping on a last minute snorkeling excursion.

The rooms were clean, colorful and had beautiful views.

We look forward to a return visit to Caye Caulker, and would not hesitate to stay at Seaside Cabanas again.

  • Liked — Location, staff
  • Disliked — hard bed
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WAZZU36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2008

My husband and I stayed at Seaside Cabanas during our first trip to Belize and Caye Caulker this winter. We were very pleased with our stay and would love to return some day. We literally walked the entire island (which really isn't that hard) and didn't see any other place that we would have rather stayed. Keep in mind though that Caye Caulker is a VERY laid back place and you are not going to find any large resorts with spa services and on-site restaurants. If that's what you are looking for in a beach vacation, Caye Caulker is not the place for you.

We stayed in Cabana 2, which is a detached cabana with a rooftop terrace, complete with a hammock and lounge chairs. The only bummer part is that you can't really lounge up there and look out at the ocean because there are two large palm trees blocking your view. Just an FYI.

Things we loved about the room include the tropical decorations and paint job and the air conditioning. Things that need to be changed: the bedding is really subpar. New sheets and new towels are needed desparately! We are even considering bringing our own on our next visit. Another issue is the shower head. Please replace the shower head in room 2!!! PLEASE! It was all clogged up, with only a few streams coming out and at an extremely high pressure. This may seem nit-picky but we both got sunburns and this shower head made showering a painful experience.

We absolutely LOVED the pool and I really enjoyed the hammocks all over the property. The onsite bar was a nice touch becuase it was easy to grab a beer and lounge by the pool.

If you stay at Seaside Cabanas, be sure to eat at the Sandbox restaurant adjacent to the hotel. They have a great breakfast (LOVE fry jacks!) and the prices are fantastic. It is so great to just sit at the picnic benches outside and watch the waves while listening to reggae or sometimes 80's music for some reason. Another restaurant we enjoyed was Havana's for a nice dinner. It is pricey, but well worth it!

We loved Caye Caulker. We only spent three nights there and that wasn't long enough. Just as we were feeling relaxed, it was time to leave. Next time we will plan a longer visit.

  • Liked — The awesome location and the pool!
  • Disliked — The sheets, towels and showerhead need to be replaced desparately!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PDXLadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2008

There is no better place to stay in Caulker than Seaside Cabanas! It is a bit pricier than our stay in Cayo, but it was worth every penny of the $130/night. The hotel is directly in front of the water taxi dock, so you will not require a taxi to your hotel, there is a clean pool, a majestic carribean view with excellent sunrises! Additionally, the hotel is centrally located on the caye.

Any traveller should try to book the rooms 1-4 as they have private rooftop decks. They cost $10 more per night, but the value far exceeds the additional cost.

We stayed in unit 4. The room was clean and large with a great remote controlled A/C unit. there is a mini fridge in the room to store your rum, juices, and snacks.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Fugonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver Colorado USA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2008

We Stayed at the Seaside Cabanas from April 27th till May 7th. We got Married on the Island on May 3rd and filled the motel with Guests. The rooms were very comfortable although we hardly stayed in them except to sleep. The location was perfect right next to the boat docks with easy access to everything. The bartender Jabalos was fantastic and kept the Uno Mas bar open late most nights to accommodate our party. The pool did turn a nice shade of green during our stay, later we found out the filter stopped working but no harm done and we enjoyed the afternoon pool party vibe. The rooftop cabanas were nice although really hot in the midday sun.
For fishing and diving trips ask around for Charlie(Charlies Charters). He and his cousin Davis are the nicest guys you will ever meet and give fair prices for any trip you might be interested in. All in all a perfect trip and ideal location for a group of friends and family.

  • Liked — The Pool and how the horseshoe shape of the location. Fun for groups
  • Disliked — No coffee or rolls till 8:00
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Denvervacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2008

Our room at the Seaside Cabanas overlooking the pool and the ocean was wonderful! The room was clean, it had cable TV and a refrigerator. And you can't beat the location-it is literally right across the street from the water taxi terminal, and just a few minutes walk and you're at the center of town. Because of the breeze blowing in from the ocean you won't have to worry about mosquitos. The staff was helpful and friendly and the bartender made wonderful drinks (I recommend the banana shake!). We were able to book a last minute snorkel tour and rent golf carts to tour the island right from the hotel.

I highly recommend this hotel-great price, great location, great staff, great room!

  • Liked — Everything! Location, room, staff, value
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bighair87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.1 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Cabanas

Property: Seaside Cabanas
Address: Caye Caulker Village | PO Box 39, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside Cabanas offers Caye Caulker in luxury with a true atmosphere of the tropics. Hotel reception staffed by our friendly and professional team. 24hr security. Free Wifi, pool, bar, gift shop, tour/dive office. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaside Cabanas Caye Caulker
Seaside Cabanas Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing