We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet, very comfortable - loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tree Tops Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I loved staying at Tree Tops and was happy to manage to get a room here. The B&B is set back from the beach behind a palm tree garden but that way it's very quiet and the owner Doris said one can use the pier of a neighbor property to lay out in the sun. We didn't have time to do this though.
The house is in great condition, everything modern, very clean, nicely decorated and little things thought of, like bathroom towels for the floor and on the sink where it's always wet. So even in bad weather it'd be a nice place to stay in a for a day or 2. Doris also makes sure that the stairs and the garden are in top notch condition.
The roof top is great too, to watch the sunset or just sit and enjoy a few hours under the stars.
The location is quiet far south in Caye Caulker but no big deal.
I'll definitely go back to Belize and would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelcrazy013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
There are newer reviews for Tree Tops Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at Tree Tops Guesthouse on Caye Caulker near the end of our 10 day trip to Belize in November. We did not plan ahead and were happy to get rooms for us and another couple. We had a room on the 3rd floor facing the sea and the other couple were in Room 4 on the first floor. Doris was helpful and answered any questions we had and gave us some history of the island. The rooms were very clean, nicely decorated and the air conditioning worked great. We had no issues with the wifi at any time. We were mildly disappointed that there was no beach for swimming, but we asked and were told that we could swim off the end of the dock in front of Tree Tops, so we took advantage of that. The girl that worked for Doris recommended someone for our snorkel tour and we had a very personal, out of this world, wonderful snorkelling adventure. We did not feel unsafe in Caye Caulker at any time and did lots of walking. Cons: Warm water took a really long time to come up to the 3rd floor, sometimes in the morning, warm water didn't come until I was finished showering and my husband had started. Upgrading of the plumbing may aid in water consumption as I am sure that some people would just let the water run until it gets warm. Also, as per other comments, we all commented on the fact that bottled water was not provided in our room, this was the only accommodation that we stayed in Belize that did not do that for the customer.

I would definitely stay at Tree Tops again. We really enjoyed Caye Caulker for the 2 days we stayed there and think it is a perfect place for a relaxing, laid back holiday. However, if you are an on-the-go type, anything longer than a week could get boring.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My boyriend and I stayed at Tree Tops for about a week and had an amazing time in Caye Caulker. The hotel is very clean, Doris (the owner) was very helpful with informatin, orientation and tips for our stay. We also rented bikes at the hotel at a very reasonnable price.

The room was great, very nice and confortable and the cleaning lady me everyday to make sure everything was perfect: new sheets, towels, etc. The hotel is well situated and the island is small, so we could go around easily in bikes.

Great choice for a couple vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxanemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This is a lovely place with a lot of charm! Doris, the owner is a sweet lady who immediatly makes you feel at home! Great hotel and very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Rooms are very clean, comfortable bed its nice to be able to sleep when traveling. Convenient location, easy access to downtown and surrounding areas. Try to get the Sunset Suite!

Room Tip: Sunset or Sunrise suites, worth the extra money
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 27Emma_Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed at Caye Caulker in Sept, and spent 3 nights at Tree Tops. The owner is a lobvley lady, we had some really good discussions. My room was very cozy, everything was in order, the channel selection was excellent! All in all, I recommend this place, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zsolt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Hi there, this place is stunning. Doris put so much effort in decorating the rooms and it is so clean. We felt so home and comfortable from the frist minute we stepped onto the property. I highly recommend this place, because sometimes it is just nice to stay in your room and read and stuff. Outside it is burning hot and all you need is rest on a nice bed in an even nicer room. Well done, Doris and thank you so much for everything.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoodGirl0577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We arrived on the water taxi from Belize City and walked several hundred yards down the beach to Tree Tops. As we knew from our directions, it's situated behind a large grove of palms that seem to have grown a lot since the marketing photos were taken. We were upgraded to the oceanside Sunrise Suite on the top (third) floor. It is a very large and beautifully designed and furnished space, with a full-length balcony. But instead of the beach and ocean views we expected, the view is of nothing but the tops of those palm trees. The beach view from the smaller ground floor rooms through the tree trunks is actually better. However there is an open rooftop lounge area reserved for the two third-floor suites and furnished with chaise lounges and hammocks from which you can see the water in nearly all directions - at least until those palms grow another ten feet.

Tree Tops deserves its reputation for immaculate maintenance and cleanliness. Hovever we have two small criticisms. First, the city water is not considered safe to drink but we were not told that until we asked on our second day. We were then directed to a local market to buy our own bottled water. Second, there is a sign in the bathroom instructing that used toilet paper must be placed in the covered wastebasket provided, not flushed. This seems like a third-world anomaly not consistent with the room rates and otherwise high quality of this facility.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank blueskiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.0 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
278 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Caye Caulker
175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
0.0 mi away
Yocamatsu
Yocamatsu
#10 of 32 in Caye Caulker
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Tops Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Tops Guesthouse

Address: P.O. Box: 29, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range: £51 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tree Tops Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tree Tops Guesthouse Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing