We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap, clean and nice hospitality.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Pearle Royale Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Pearle Royale Hotel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheap, clean and nice hospitality.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

Very nice place, nice service, worth visiting. Very good location, 1 min from the split beach.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vaXman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    46
    10
    3
    7
See reviews for
13
39
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We were recommended the Ocean Pearl by a new friend. Even though we took her advice we were not sure. The price was quite low for Caye Caulker residences and it was off the main road. Well it was really wonderful. The owners, Frenchie and Gertrude, were amazing, down to earth people. They made our stay wonderful. The room was exactly what we would imagine a laid back Belizian accomodation to be. If you are expecting the Hilton forget it. They kept the room clean and towelled. The water pressure was low but there was lots of "Hot" Water.
The location was excellent. Just two lots in from the main street and a block from the Split where evryone goes to dunk their warm bodies in the great Carribean Blue. By the way everything is just minutes from anything on Caye Caulker. Its not all that big.
All in all our stay here was a highlight of our trip and we would go back any time.

Room Tip: We liked the room with the two windows that allowed us to have air ventilation without having to hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed at the Ocean Pearle while in Caye Caulker this summer. Grettle, the owner was very nice and keeps a tidy place. There is a nice lobby that has a kitchenette and free water for your use. You can use the refrigerator too, which is nice. There are couches and tables with chairs to enjoy your food, play one of the many board games she provides, or read a book off her bookshelf. Outside, there are hammocks, tables and chairs and couches as well, if you prefer to lounge outside. It's one street back from the main drag, so you don't have all the noise from the businesses and it is well priced. We would definitely stay there again if we went back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at the Ocean Pearl Hotel end of February, beginning of March 2012. I booked the hotel online through the owner, Gertrude. We spent one night in the hotel itself. The rooms in the hotel are $25usd/night, and are basic and clean. We didn't get a room with a/c, and it was just fine with a fan. The hotel has an open common area with chairs, couches, wifi, coffee, free drinking water, a refrigerator, microwave, and toaster. The rooms have their entrance, and some have windows into this common area, so in some ways it is not so private as you can hear everything. The rooms, common area, and grounds are very well kept. We never heard any noise, and it was in a great location near the Split. Although, the island is small, and I don't believe there is a bad location anywhere on the island. The other 8 nights of our stay, we rented the studio cabana, which was $225usd/week. We really enjoyed the cabana as it was more private and had it's own deck with a table and chairs, and a hammock. The cabana had a wide open space with a tv, ceiling fan, vaulted ceiling, plenty of windows and light, and a full kitchen with pots, pans, dishes, silverware, etc. The cabana was new and very comfortable with plenty of room for 2 people. No maid service was provided for the cabana, but if we ever needed more towels or sheets, or anything, Gertrude supplied it.
We had a great stay at Ocean Pearl, and I would definitely recommend staying there. Great location, service, and price for a simple, clean, and well-run hotel.
This was our first trip to Belize, and of the four cities we visited, Caye Caulker was our favorite. A very laid back and friendly place with wonderful people. Another definite recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackieca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastsound, wa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed in Tree Tops, Mara's, and Ocean Pearle during our visit to Caye Caulker and Ocean Pearle was the best. Tree Tops was clean and in good shape but a bit too far south and overpriced in comparison to Ocean Pearle. Mara's was a good price, good location with access to the water but the room was run down and I left with many bug bites on my legs. Ocean Pearle is not on the water but is close, is near the split, is very clean and in good shape with a nice shaded courtyard. We stayed in room 4 which had plenty of breeze from the windows, a shower with hot water, and was kept up very nicely, all for $25 US. The owner, Gertrude, is friendly and helpful, provides free drinking water, a refrigerator, and space to prepare light meals. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Room no. 4 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Great place - especially for the price. Nothing fancy, but clean and well run. Best deal on the island. You get your own room, bathroom, and hot shower for $25/night. My room and the place was very clean. Free water and coffee were a nice addition. Best of all was that gertrude(sp?), has lived there for a long time and is a wealth of information if you get to know her.

I can see how some people could be put off by her "cold" attitude, but I think that is why the place is so clean and well run. And I think if you put in a little time to talk to her and not just ask the same tourist questions, the she warms up.

I was on the east side and only negative if there even is one, is the the restaurant out the east side has their music until 10PM, but after that, it was quiet.

The discount for SCUBA diving with Frenchies if you are staying there is an added bonus too.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jack t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
262 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Although we had read a lot of good reviews we still weren't sure what to expect from Ocean Pearl mainly because at $25/night for a room with a fan ($40 w/ AC) it seemed too cheap compared to most of the other places we looked into on Caye Caulker. But it was terrific. The room was basic but airy, with a fan, good bathroom and cable TV. There was also free wifi and drinking water. There is a big open common area full of chairs couches inside as well as hammocks in the yard. Gertraud has plenty of information about things to do on the island but doesn't really sell anything herself, which was nice. All in all I can't imagine there is a better place to stay in Caye Caulker in this price range.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.1 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Pearle Royale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pearle Royale Hotel

Property: Ocean Pearle Royale Hotel
Address: 249 Starfish Crescent | Belama Phase #1, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Hotel Ocean Pearle Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing