We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Pearle Royale Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This was a great little place to stay at. The Austrian lady who owns it is nice and relaxed. Beautiful common area painted like you were under the water and its stays fairly quiet because its location is not on the main street. Has a microwave and fridge to store food.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelsita107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Pearle Royale Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here for five nights after a G-Adventures tour (Belize and Guatemala). Gertrude owns and looks after the hotel and her husband owns and runs Frenchie's Diving at the end of the street. Both are very friendly and willing to chat whenever you're in the mood. The rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable. There is free coffee and free internet in the common area and free internet in some of the rooms close to the front of the common area. The hotel is perfectly situated, close to all the amenities of the island but just off the beaten track enough to be quiet.

One of concerns when we planned our trip to Belize was security because we had heard that theft from rooms was a problem, particularly in Belize City but we found this little hotel to be perfectly secure and didn't hear of any problems at all while we stayed on the island. Gertrude is always at the front desk of the hotel during the day and lives upstairs at night when the gates are closed.

The hotel is basic, so if you're after something like the Hilton or the Holiday Inn, Caye Caulker is not the place for you, but for a totally relaxing holiday with plenty of snorkeling, scuba and other water sports, you won't find a better place.

Room Tip: If you need a good internet connection in your room, ask for rooms 1 or 2.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

For the money - $30US, this was the best place I found to stay on the island. Clean (bedsheets changed everyday), nice vibe and good location. Decent wifi signal and the hotel felt secure. Also close to Wish Willy's grill / restaurant next door which is a decent place to get some BBQ'd food and a beer. Would visit both again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights to save money after staying at one of the more expensive places on the island for 10 days. Ocean Pearle is affordable and clean. Location is great... super close to the Split but a tiny bit off the main road so it wasn't loud at all. We didn't pay extra for AC and we were not miserable, the fan was fine. My only complaint is that the wifi did not work from our room so we had to sit in the lobby anytime we wanted to use it. But for the price the place is clean and felt safe... what more can you ask for at this price?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristineH1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed three nights in a twin room and paid extra for A/C that worked great. There is nothing fancy here, but the room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Some things were a little quirky, like the missing control knob for the ceiling fan (grip the stem and twist with your fingers) and hot water that worked (a bit) for my friend but not for me. There is a large common area where the WiFi worked well (in the middle). Owner was friendly and helpful, made us feel at home. Outside there are lounges, chairs, and hammocks in a rustic yard of trees and island sand. We took advantage of the clothesline in the back to dry our wet bathing suits. Frenchie's Dive Shop (same owners) is just steps down the street: it was very convenient to dive with them, and we got a discount for staying here and diving with Frenchie's. Of course, the island is small, but this hotel is just a short walk from the Split (to the north) to a wide variety of restaurants and shops (to the south). Overall, I enjoyed my stay and I would recommend it to you if you are looking for a budget hotel, have basic needs, and enjoy peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Pay extra for A/C. It was worth the small extra cost.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DivineMissMaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. The hotel manager/owner was very welcoming and we rented a double room with no air conditioning for $30 USD per night. Based on other hotels we stopped in at; this was reasonably priced.

Rooms are basic; yet clean. The rooms are not big; but the common lobby area and the outdoor areas are very large and very nice. There are several couches, chairs and hammocks to sit on. Wifi worked good in lobby area. Hotel was very quiet at night and we felt it was centrally located (everything seems to be a short walk away).

Room Tip: We suggest taking the early water taxi to caye caulker as many hotels had no vacancy in high season...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Best deal in one week on Caye Caulker, very close to the Split, has a dock on the other side of the island, friendly owners, quiet if you need to sleep. Would stay again and sincerely recommend the place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vlad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.1 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
278 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Caye Caulker
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Pearle Royale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pearle Royale Hotel

Address: 249 Starfish Crescent | Belama Phase #1, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range: £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Hotel Ocean Pearle Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing