We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing place to stay on Caye Caulker”
Review of Maxhapan Cabanas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maxhapan Cabanas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2008

You'll hear about Louise - she is very helpful and friendly and adds to the experience.

The rooms are really nice (given that this is Belize) - better than they look in photos - with plenty of outside space. The garden's very large and open, and looks pretty at night lit up by fairy lights.

There's the free bikes (v. good) and snorkel equipment, and it is a lovely place to relax.

A couple of notes:
- it's not the cheapest place to stay on Caye Caulker, but you could pay a lot more
- it's in the village - this is not a "resort" experience - you will get a mild flavour of Belizean life going on around you.

I'd highly recommend staying here though.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Didsbury_Ryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2008

I have to totally agree with the previous couple of reviews - this is such a fantastic place and can wholeheartly recommend it! I'm totally stumped as to why it doesnt appear in any of the guidebooks (that i have seen) as it is great value, Louise (the owner) is a genuinely lovely person and nothing seems too much trouble to her. Its a lovely setting, the grounds are really well kept (as only someone who is proud of their place does) and it is a genuinely relaxing and inviting place to stay :-)

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calumrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2008

This is a small place with three rooms. The rooms are very comfortable with small fridge, and air conditioner. Each room has a balcony with a hammock. There are free bikes to use while on the island and a nice common area outside. The best thing about this place is the owner. She is incredibly kind and friendly. While we were there she had friends over for a party and invited all her guests. She made us great drinks and gave us the opportunity to meet people visiting and living on the island.

This place is not on the water, but a few blocks back. Guests do have access to a quiet dock and most people on the island head north to the split for swimming and sunbathing anyway. Still highly recommended if you are looking for a mid range room with tons of hospitality.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lanik23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2007

After reading such positive reviews we wanted to give this guesthouse a try. It definitely met and exceeded our expectations. As everyone says, Louise is a wonderful host with lots of good advice and help. She kept our place (room and yard) spotless and made sure we had our free drinking water every day. She was very good about not being intrusive and made sure we had left for the day before coming to clean. The apartment had a fridge and cups so we could buy fresh squeezed juice from a local vendor and store it there.

We used the free bikes to pedal around the island which was great in the heat. I also got a lot of use of the hammock on the front porch. The breeze was refreshing when the sun was too strong to sit out in. My husband loved the satellite TV so he could watch the NBA finals at night after dinner.

We highly recommend these Cabanas. We agree with all the compliments previously posted.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The_Tembas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at Maxhapan from 3/5 thru 3/9 and had the most relaxing stay. There are two cabanas on the property (one is two-story and can accomodate 2 separate parties and the other is a one-story stand-alone) and a common courtyard with a covered gazebo and an outdoor bar. Each room had it's own covered porch with patio furniture and a hammock. Inside our unit, we had a refridgerator, microwave, cable TV, AC unit, hot water, and a locked drawer to keep valuables in. The property also provided us with fresh water and bicycles to ride around the island on. There were also several children's bikes available for those with kids.

The best part of the stay though, was Louise. She is the owner/housekeeper and she came and cleaned the rooms and provided fresh towels and linens everyday. She was very friendly and extremely helpful. She will tell you where all the "clean" restaurants are on the island (After a light encounter with food poisoning she immediately asked if we had enough toilet paper. haha.) and which of the many tours offered on the island are the best. You just have to ask.

We stayed at the more expensive condos closer to the Split for a couple of nights, but liked the atmosphere and ambience at Maxhapan MUCH better.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank jeanpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2007

We recently spent a week in Caye Caulker at Maxhapan Cabana's and had a fabulous time. If you are looking for an economical place to stay but don't want to have to give up comfort and cleanliness then Maxhipan is where you want to be. Louise is the perfect host and goes the extra mile to ensure you are having a great time and want for nothing. Her cabanas are spotless and cleaned daily with fresh linens, bottled water and coffee and the yard is the perfect place to kick back and relax after a "hard" day of snorkeling and sightseeing. Louise's advice on where to eat and areas to avoid was certainly an added bonus. She also provides bicycles free of charge, which is a must on such a small island, you really get to see Caye Caulker, not just the tourist spots. Some of the hotels we saw on the beach, for more than double the price, were not 1/2 as nice as Maxhapan and since you are never more than a 2 minute walk to the beach (on either side) being "in town" is no sacrifice.

If you are looking for relaxation and peace of mind when booking online then Maxhapan is where you want to be. Thank you Louise!!

Stayed: March 2007
4  Thank Fluxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2006

We stayed in Cabana nbr 3 for 5 days and throughly enjoyed it. To repeat what has already been said here Louise , the owner, manager, housecleaner, etc. was great. She was always gracious and more than willing to give advise, directions, local info whatever. The cabanas are cleaned daily and are spotless. The water is fresh with good pressure you just need to give it about 2 minutes to heat up. My youngest son took his first shower cold not realizing than it doesn't heat up as fast as at home, but certainly no problem once you know that. A large fresh water bottle is provided free of charge daily as well as the use of bikes. The bikes although getting on in age where definitely the way to get around the island. Louise gave good advise on restaurants, our favorite was the Rainbow which sits out over the water with a nice view and even better breeze. It had a fairly extensive menu reasonable prices and between us we tried about 8 or 10 different items all good. And do go to the bakery for breakfeast its cheap and very good! Also Louise gave us the name of an excellent fishing guide Eloy who I would highly recommend ( 3rd trip to Belize 4th guide and probably the best) Price was only US $55 per night (low season) that included all taxes. The only draw back (?) was that the a/c had a hard time during the hot daylight hours keeping the cabana cool but at night however it worked great for sleeping.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Trying-4-100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.4 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jan's Hotel
Jan's Hotel
#9 of 33 in Caye Caulker
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
0.2 mi away
Amanda's Place
Amanda's Place
#2 of 33 in Caye Caulker
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yocamatsu
Yocamatsu
#6 of 33 in Caye Caulker
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maxhapan Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxhapan Cabanas

Address: 55 Avenue Pueblo Nuevo, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maxhapan Cabanas - Island Cabanas set in a tropical garden ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maxhapan Cabanas Caye Caulker
Maxhapan Cabanas Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing