We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation and great host”
Review of Maxhapan Cabanas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maxhapan Cabanas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed for 4 nights (extended from 2 as we loved both Caye Caulker and Maxhapan). Louise was a great host and couldn't have been more helpful. The room was cleaned to a high standard every day. She provides you with free bikes which are ideal for travelling around the island. The best accommodation we saw on the island, it deserves to be number 1,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyaEnda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

Went to stay here during the Lobsterfest. Louise is wonderful and personable. The cabin (#3) was a welcome relief from the jungle eco-lodges we had stayed at, especially Cotton Tree in Punta Gorda. Typically, this would be an excellent choice and value. I also fully support Louise's business.

A couple of areas for improvement and again not a knock on Maxhapan as a place to stay:

1. there is free wifi, but you have to exit the cabin to use it because the range is limited for mobile devices. Problem is that mosquitoes were everywhere during our stay. I think she should either extend the wifi range our create a netted area where guests can use wifi outside in the courtyard.
2. having smaller bikes would be great for kids but Lousie mentions that she doesn't typically have kids stay because of problems in the past. I am grateful that she made an exception to us.
3. A more thorough orientation would have been ideal. Only upon leaving did I learn that there was a doorbell to reach her. She explained that she was busy with the Lobsterfest and made an exception to accommodate us during the dates.
4. Improved communication, maybe a two way radio to reach her if urgent questions come up would be good versus trying to reach her informally. Her husband is there if she is gone but mostly in basic coverage mode.

Also, no noise problems during our stay. The place is about 6 blocks from the water terminal. Avoid paying the taxi fare 5BD per person by looking on the map before arrival.

Room Tip: Agree cabin #3 is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluehornet2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We just got home from another stay at Maxhapan (first stayed there in August 2012). This is such a fantastic place to stay! Here is why:
- Louise is welcoming, helpful, and keeps the cabanas and yard in pristine condition (she cleans the rooms each day).
- Free bikes to cruise around (about 5 minutes to the Split).
- Quiet location because away from Front Street, but close enough that you don't feel out of the way.
- The rooms have: A/C. ceiling fan, cable TV, mini fridge, coffee maker (bring your own coffee), two firm double beds, cups and mugs, porch with chairs and hammock, hot and cold water, and a drawer that locks to keep your passports safe.

We love staying here and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet, clean, and comfortable stay with a friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: Last time we stayed in the stand-alone cabana, this time we stayed on the top floor of the double-de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyLovesAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Last year, I stayed in the upstairs cabana and this year I stayed in the stand-alone cabana. Both were very clean, comfortable, and air conditioned. Ms. Louise is a fantastic host and is very kind. The property looks great, she keeps everything nice and clean, provides bicycles, lots of comfy places to lounge, and daily bottled water. Credit cards are accepted without a silly fee, which I appreciated. This is where you ought to stay on Caye Caulker. :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salil34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at Maxhapan for 3 nights. When we arrived, we were amazed by how lovely it was. Louise, the owner, was incredibly friendly and welcoming, and so helpful. The room was beautiful and spacious, with a great balcony and hammock. There are hammocks and table in the communal area as well, with plenty of space to hang out. It was just idyllic.

The potential downsides are that it is not on a beach and it is on the south end of town, so a bit of a walk to some of the restaurants etc, and to the split, the main beach for swimming. Louise provides free bicycles because of this, although we walked everywhere without any problems - there are restaurants, snorkel places, supermarkets, laundry etc all within a short walk.

I can't recommend Maxhapan highly enough, we'd definitely want to stay there again if/when we go back to delightful Caye Caulker, especially for the very reasonable price.

Room Tip: We had the upstairs room (there are only three, one downstairs from us and another stand alone - we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed on Caye Caulker for 4 days and resided at Maxhapan Cabanas! What a wonderful place.

First the island offers a great carrebean feal and enables a lot of relaxing. Make sure to have bikes handy beacsue it's worth biking around the island and fiding remote spots to jsut lay in the sun.

There is not much to do on the island so perfect to start your vacation in Belize by taking it easy, letting go and relaxing!

Louise at Maxhapan will make you feel welcomed and will answer all your needs. The Cabanas are spacious and perfcetly located. Not too far from town but enought to be able to retreat from the party. The walk (or bike) from "downtown" is 3 minutes...no worries.

The grounds of the property are yours to use so perfct to lay out of the sun and enjoy the afternoon heat.

Louise was the perfect host and the cabans was the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josiane Gendron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The Cabana we had was #3 - it had 2 beds and we were a group of 3 people. She had the Cabana sooo clean and tidy everyday, and there was a real home feel since it was so private.
Even the property itself was well maintained and had an entertainment space for visitors (since none are allowed back in the rooms..)
The best part was that we had our own cabana, away from the 2 other Cabanas, with our own private porch! So much space ANDD Bikes were included >> this was huge since the cabanas are further away from the main restaurants and the split, but still in a good area right beside one of the clubs.
BE SURE TO do your shopping and eating on middle street - you can save money and have an authentic experience. Look around and don't stay in one place or just on Front street (anywhere with a view is going to be expensive)..
SEA DREAMS was over priced, but had an awesome dock. SOO come to Maxhapan instead and feel an authentic experience! Loved it.

Room Tip: Pick #3 ! > its the only Cabana that is seperated from the others. more private feel.. PS > t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Madasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.0 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
280 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#15 of 19 in Caye Caulker
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maxhapan Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxhapan Cabanas

Address: 55 Avenue Pueblo Nuevo, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maxhapan Cabanas - Island Cabanas set in a tropical garden ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maxhapan Cabanas Caye Caulker
Maxhapan Cabanas Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing