We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of Maxhapan Cabanas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maxhapan Cabanas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at Maxhapan for 5 nights while staying on Caye Caulker. Louise greeted us on arrival and advised us we could choose any of her 3 cabanas to stay in; we decided on the 2nd level.

This cabana had a balcony with hammock, two double beds, small fridge/freezer, microwave, coffee machine, AC and shower. Louise provides bottled water daily for each guest & clean towels. If you want beach towels, she can also provide these for a small fee. There are bikes available, which are really handy to get around the island quickly, and free wi-fi. A better wi-fi connection can be found in the communal areas, but we could access it from our balcony too.

Louise provided some suggestions for places to eat & reputable snorkel companies. We would recommend eating at Terry's Grill & Pasta Per Casa - we ate at both of these places twice during our stay. Amor y Cafe is good for breakfast too - the grilled cheese & pineapple sandwich a favourite!

Definitely check out Maxhapan to stay if you visit Caye Caulker.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FushNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for Maxhapan Cabanas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

My wife and I have stayed here twice - and we have no plans to stay anywhere else on Caye Caulker! Super clean, very comfortable beds, free bikes to use, and excellent value. When we visit Caye Caulker again, we will definitely first see if there is availability here!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My friends and I stayed 3 nights at Maxhapan Cabanas and I'm very glad we picked this location. I agree with previous posters - Louise is fabulous!! She is one of the most pleasant people I've met when traveling, gives great guidance and her rooms are spotless! She provides you with bikes to use while on Caye Caulker, cleans the room daily and the towels provided were the softest I felt the whole trip. The rooms, although simple, were very comfortable. There is A/C in the rooms, a nice shower, a small refrigerator for your use, and she provides bottled water daily. I can't imagine staying anywhere else when visiting there. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vagabondmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed for 4 nights (extended from 2 as we loved both Caye Caulker and Maxhapan). Louise was a great host and couldn't have been more helpful. The room was cleaned to a high standard every day. She provides you with free bikes which are ideal for travelling around the island. The best accommodation we saw on the island, it deserves to be number 1,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyaEnda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Went to stay here during the Lobsterfest. Louise is wonderful and personable. The cabin (#3) was a welcome relief from the jungle eco-lodges we had stayed at, especially Cotton Tree in Punta Gorda. Typically, this would be an excellent choice and value. I also fully support Louise's business.

A couple of areas for improvement and again not a knock on Maxhapan as a place to stay:

1. there is free wifi, but you have to exit the cabin to use it because the range is limited for mobile devices. Problem is that mosquitoes were everywhere during our stay. I think she should either extend the wifi range our create a netted area where guests can use wifi outside in the courtyard.
2. having smaller bikes would be great for kids but Lousie mentions that she doesn't typically have kids stay because of problems in the past. I am grateful that she made an exception to us.
3. A more thorough orientation would have been ideal. Only upon leaving did I learn that there was a doorbell to reach her. She explained that she was busy with the Lobsterfest and made an exception to accommodate us during the dates.
4. Improved communication, maybe a two way radio to reach her if urgent questions come up would be good versus trying to reach her informally. Her husband is there if she is gone but mostly in basic coverage mode.

Also, no noise problems during our stay. The place is about 6 blocks from the water terminal. Avoid paying the taxi fare 5BD per person by looking on the map before arrival.

Room Tip: Agree cabin #3 is the best.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluehornet2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We just got home from another stay at Maxhapan (first stayed there in August 2012). This is such a fantastic place to stay! Here is why:
- Louise is welcoming, helpful, and keeps the cabanas and yard in pristine condition (she cleans the rooms each day).
- Free bikes to cruise around (about 5 minutes to the Split).
- Quiet location because away from Front Street, but close enough that you don't feel out of the way.
- The rooms have: A/C. ceiling fan, cable TV, mini fridge, coffee maker (bring your own coffee), two firm double beds, cups and mugs, porch with chairs and hammock, hot and cold water, and a drawer that locks to keep your passports safe.

We love staying here and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet, clean, and comfortable stay with a friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: Last time we stayed in the stand-alone cabana, this time we stayed on the top floor of the double-de...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyLovesAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Last year, I stayed in the upstairs cabana and this year I stayed in the stand-alone cabana. Both were very clean, comfortable, and air conditioned. Ms. Louise is a fantastic host and is very kind. The property looks great, she keeps everything nice and clean, provides bicycles, lots of comfy places to lounge, and daily bottled water. Credit cards are accepted without a silly fee, which I appreciated. This is where you ought to stay on Caye Caulker. :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salil34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.0 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
278 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 53 in San Pedro
354 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#18 of 53 in San Pedro
296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Caye Caulker
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maxhapan Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxhapan Cabanas

Address: 55 Avenue Pueblo Nuevo, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maxhapan Cabanas - Island Cabanas set in a tropical garden ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maxhapan Cabanas Caye Caulker
Maxhapan Cabanas Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing