We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Little Guesthouse”
Review of Maxhapan Cabanas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maxhapan Cabanas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2007

After reading such positive reviews we wanted to give this guesthouse a try. It definitely met and exceeded our expectations. As everyone says, Louise is a wonderful host with lots of good advice and help. She kept our place (room and yard) spotless and made sure we had our free drinking water every day. She was very good about not being intrusive and made sure we had left for the day before coming to clean. The apartment had a fridge and cups so we could buy fresh squeezed juice from a local vendor and store it there.

We used the free bikes to pedal around the island which was great in the heat. I also got a lot of use of the hammock on the front porch. The breeze was refreshing when the sun was too strong to sit out in. My husband loved the satellite TV so he could watch the NBA finals at night after dinner.

We highly recommend these Cabanas. We agree with all the compliments previously posted.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The_Tembas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at Maxhapan from 3/5 thru 3/9 and had the most relaxing stay. There are two cabanas on the property (one is two-story and can accomodate 2 separate parties and the other is a one-story stand-alone) and a common courtyard with a covered gazebo and an outdoor bar. Each room had it's own covered porch with patio furniture and a hammock. Inside our unit, we had a refridgerator, microwave, cable TV, AC unit, hot water, and a locked drawer to keep valuables in. The property also provided us with fresh water and bicycles to ride around the island on. There were also several children's bikes available for those with kids.

The best part of the stay though, was Louise. She is the owner/housekeeper and she came and cleaned the rooms and provided fresh towels and linens everyday. She was very friendly and extremely helpful. She will tell you where all the "clean" restaurants are on the island (After a light encounter with food poisoning she immediately asked if we had enough toilet paper. haha.) and which of the many tours offered on the island are the best. You just have to ask.

We stayed at the more expensive condos closer to the Split for a couple of nights, but liked the atmosphere and ambience at Maxhapan MUCH better.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank jeanpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2007

We recently spent a week in Caye Caulker at Maxhapan Cabana's and had a fabulous time. If you are looking for an economical place to stay but don't want to have to give up comfort and cleanliness then Maxhipan is where you want to be. Louise is the perfect host and goes the extra mile to ensure you are having a great time and want for nothing. Her cabanas are spotless and cleaned daily with fresh linens, bottled water and coffee and the yard is the perfect place to kick back and relax after a "hard" day of snorkeling and sightseeing. Louise's advice on where to eat and areas to avoid was certainly an added bonus. She also provides bicycles free of charge, which is a must on such a small island, you really get to see Caye Caulker, not just the tourist spots. Some of the hotels we saw on the beach, for more than double the price, were not 1/2 as nice as Maxhapan and since you are never more than a 2 minute walk to the beach (on either side) being "in town" is no sacrifice.

If you are looking for relaxation and peace of mind when booking online then Maxhapan is where you want to be. Thank you Louise!!

Stayed: March 2007
4  Thank Fluxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2006

We stayed in Cabana nbr 3 for 5 days and throughly enjoyed it. To repeat what has already been said here Louise , the owner, manager, housecleaner, etc. was great. She was always gracious and more than willing to give advise, directions, local info whatever. The cabanas are cleaned daily and are spotless. The water is fresh with good pressure you just need to give it about 2 minutes to heat up. My youngest son took his first shower cold not realizing than it doesn't heat up as fast as at home, but certainly no problem once you know that. A large fresh water bottle is provided free of charge daily as well as the use of bikes. The bikes although getting on in age where definitely the way to get around the island. Louise gave good advise on restaurants, our favorite was the Rainbow which sits out over the water with a nice view and even better breeze. It had a fairly extensive menu reasonable prices and between us we tried about 8 or 10 different items all good. And do go to the bakery for breakfeast its cheap and very good! Also Louise gave us the name of an excellent fishing guide Eloy who I would highly recommend ( 3rd trip to Belize 4th guide and probably the best) Price was only US $55 per night (low season) that included all taxes. The only draw back (?) was that the a/c had a hard time during the hot daylight hours keeping the cabana cool but at night however it worked great for sleeping.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Trying-4-100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Jersey City, NJ
117
Reviewed 4 June 2006

My husband, sister, brother-in-law and I stayed at Maxhapan Cabanas during a recent trip to Caye Caulker. We were there during a holiday weekend and because of late booking had to split our time between Maxhapan and another establishment. The first place we stayed at was fine, and the couple that managed it were accomodating and friendly, but we were absolutely blown away by the facilities and treatment we recieved upon arriving at Maxhapan. The advertisement for the cabanas says "you'll arrive as a guest and leave as a friend," and it couldn't be more correct. Louise and her family were wonderful, generous, and just plain fun! Rooms were cleaned everyday, and the showers were wonderful - hot, lots of pressure, and fresh (not salt) water! Maxhapan also has many little complimentary amenities that you pay for at other hotels. Free bottled water everyday, free use of the 5 bikes on the premises, and free air conditioning (although you don't need due to the breezy cabana layout). However, the best part of Maxhapan is definitely Louise and her family. Their friendly personalities and enthusiasm about Caye Caulker made our trip truly special. You will NOT find a better place to stay while on Caye Caulker.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
eugene, Oregon
119
Reviewed 7 April 2006

Booking a place online can sometimes be scary, your never sure if it's going to be everything that it claims. Maxhapan cabanas was above and beyond any of our expectations. The three units are set back on a beautiful lot of land that is open and well kept. You can even see the ocean and beautiful sunrise's from the top unit's balcony. There is a palapa that is open to the guest that we used for yoga every morning. The units are extremely clean and the ever so lovely owner, Louise, cleans and replenishes your towels everyday. Security is never a worry here, for she is an amazing woman who runs the whole place! No hired on staff. Another big bonus was the bikes we got to use everyday, you can fit right in on the island, the main transportation is bikes and golf carts. No need to pay those bike rental places when you stay here! Maxhapan cabanas is a short walk or ride from the main street where all the action is. I was very happy to not be staying on the main street, to have a little more privacy and more restful sleep. I highly recommend this place to anyone or any families that are going to Caye Caulker. You won't find a cleaner, more pleasant place for such a great deal. Not to mention Louise is a sweet and friendly lady who took great care of us and was happy to share any information she knew about the island with us. Which by the way was my favorite place that we visited while in Belize, and we did get around going from Caye Caulker to San Ignacio, then to Placencia. When I go back this is where you will find me!

Stayed: March 2006
19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Texas
114
Reviewed 22 March 2006

Our first trip to Caye Caulker was amazing, and our stay at Maxhapan Cabanas was perfect. We wanted a good hotel at a good price and we found it. For $50US a night, Maxhapan provided us with everything we needed. Louise, the owner, manager, and housekeeper, is warm and friendly. She supplies you with water, new towels, and turn down service daily. She also provides free bikes to use since the cabanas are on the southern end of the island, and the entire complex is relaxing and clean. If you're planning a trip to Caye Caulker, and don't want to spend twice to three times as much staying at a hotel on the main street (on the shore), choose Maxhapan. You will not be disappointed. Website ----

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.4 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amanda's Place
Amanda's Place
#2 of 32 in Caye Caulker
218 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maxhapan Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxhapan Cabanas

Address: 55 Avenue Pueblo Nuevo, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maxhapan Cabanas - Island Cabanas set in a tropical garden ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maxhapan Cabanas Caye Caulker
Maxhapan Cabanas Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing