We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great change of pace!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aladdin's Cuisine - CLOSED

Aladdin's Cuisine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Belizean food
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great change of pace!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

It was great to have something different and lighter on Caye Caulker, I ate here twice and loved the food (and mango juice) both times!!

The owner is friendly, however both times I went there he was lamenting how the place was going under because it was too expensive for backpackers who wouldn't pay more than 5 bucks for a meal, but in the same breath kept saying it was a budget operation. He asked everyone who stopped to review it on trip adviser, because they weren't making any money. Nice man, however not exactly the atmosphere I wanted to go along with my meal.

I do recommend the food, though, and that is what counts!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis1951, Owner at Aladdin's Cuisine, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Glad you enjoyed the food, and sorry about the "lament"!
We do run a "budget" operation because with 64 restaurants on this island we operate at 10% profit to compete.
I have heard countless times about the benefit of all the "split" traffic, sorry it was you I finally bothered to tell the truth.
My landlord put no liquor license in the agreement.
Places like the one in question with licenses can literally give food away as their profit money is all in alcohol sales.
In short, none of them come here, they come to drink.
Thank you for the good review in spite of my rant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    47
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great and fresh!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Loved this place! Juices were amazing! Prices were very good for the quality and taste of food. Too bad we couldn't order the Tabouli because of the parsley shortage on the island.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank dreemee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caye Caulker, Belize
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband Tom and I ate here, following a recommendation from a local business owner on San Pedro.

Although the seafood on Caye Caulker has been amazing, it was a nice change of pace to get some Lebanese food. We had the hummus, chicken fajitas, and chicken skewers and it was all awesome! :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Courtney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh and delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The falafel are light,crispy and flavorful. Do try the baba ganoush- so fresh! We come to caye caulker often and are so pleased to have this addition to the food choices on the island. You'll have to look carefully for their small sign down by the split but it's well worth the effort to find it. Everything from the lime juice to the chicken pita was tasty!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truckee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Great food! Baba ghanoush was delicious as was the kafta and falafel. Will definitely return on this trip. It's hard to find though... On the left tucked in the back right as you get to the split, next to maras place

Helpful?
Thank Tiffanyray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aladdin's Cuisine also viewed

 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing