We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for a better place”
Review of OASI

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
OASI
Ranked #4 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for a better place”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed at four different places on Caulker, and OASI was our clear favorite. Luciana and Michael are great hosts, engaging, knowledgeable about local activities and restaurants and with very interesting histories. The rooms are large, clean, and well appointed; the mattresses are high quality; and the hot water is great. OASI is very quiet, a great place to relax after a day of diving/snorkeling/kite surfing, etc. It's a short walk to the main tourist areas and bikes are available to make it an even quicker trip. When we return to Caulker, OASI will be our first choice for accommodation. Given what else is available on Caulker, this place is a great value for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelszippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    11
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
180
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Spent a few nights on Caye Caulker after scuba diving on Turneffe Atoll. Oasi was a perfect little gem. Luciana is one of the nicest people you'll meet, and she takes complete care of you while staying on the island. From food, to snorkel/dive recommendations, to any thing you need, she will point you in the right direction. The rooms have everything you need including a hammock out front, A/C in case it gets stifling hot, and your own little bike to ride around the entire island. My girlfriend and I loved our stay at Oasi.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Oasi was the perfect place to stay on Caye Caulker and Luciana was the best. We went to Belize for the first time this past December (2012). Our first stop was the island of Caye Caulker. Which is a delightful, tiny island of white sandy roads where transportation is by golf cart and cruiser bikes. We chose Caye Cualker over Ambergris Caye because it boasted of being more laid back - very true! (We visited Ambergris Caye for a few hours and did not like it. Too much cement, crowds, vehicles, etc.). We took a hopper flight from the Belize airport to Caye Caulker. The airport was a little sandy spot with a small house like office. We walked from the plane down the street about 2 mintues and were already at Oasi. Luciana was the friendliest, most energetic hostess. She gave us all the information we needed and recommended the BEST snorkel guide -Juni (who had been diving at the barrier reef all his life. He knew the sea life and they knew him). Since we had the bikes it was just a 3 minute ride to the liveliest part of the island. We loved being away from the crowd when it was time to retire for the night. Oasi is quite, peaceful and perfect. The rooms are cute and comfy and the showers are hot. Thank you Luciana!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed here three nights and highly recommend it. The studio apartment is clean, nicely appointed and updated with a small but very clean bathroom. Wi-Fi is available and Luciana and her husband could have not been more welcoming. I don't know if its is usual but they provided us dinner our last night-grill asparagus and a conch "mashup" which was great. We stayed in #4 and would stay there again without question.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maj84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
214 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We arrived in Caye Caulker on Jan 29th for an eight day stay. Luciana Essenziale met us at the airport with her golf cart. We got our luggage loaded and went the short distance to her four apartments. After we got our things into room #1 we asked for an idea for a light meal and she offered a small place right up the road. This was the start of Luciana’s hospitality that extended for our entire stay. She is a wonderful host and is ever mindful of how to make your stay better.
The next morning we made coffee in the room and the only cups available were huge mugs. We like small cups to ensure hotter coffee. We asked to borrow some if possible. That afternoon she brought us two cups and saucers from town asking if they would be suitable. That’s the way she is.
Oasi was recommended to us by a friend that owns a hotel in Placencia Belize. She knew what we liked and thought this would be a good fit plus she knows Luciana and Michael and how well they cater to their guests. Oasi is laid back and out of the mainstream action.
Oasi’s grounds are swept and cleaned every morning. The ladies that do the room cleaning are efficient and friendly. We generally made our bed but they remade it to their standards and folded everything just so/so. The towels were clean, fresh and thick. Anything that was left in the dish drainer was rewashed and put away. We used the coffee maker, toaster and frig which all worked well. We also warmed our day old sweet rolls in the oven.
We made a snorkel trip with a guide Luciana had suggested and we really enjoyed Shark Alley. I made another trip with different guide and got into a frightening experience with coughing up blood. When we hit the dock Lu took over. She got me into the local clinic and then when it was recommended I go to Belize City Emergency she booked flights and made arraignments at the hospital. She also called and made sure we would be picked up at the airport. When she discovered we’d left clothes behind she sent them by water taxi and they were brought to us. Without her help we would have been swamped with indecision and doubts. I will be indebted to her forever. She was and is a godsend! Thanks Luciana! I wish our trip could have ended on a higher note. Patsy and I appreciate Michael’s and your warm loving way of caring for your guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PATSYandSTAN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

From start to finish this spot was absolutely incredible. Comfortable, clean, great location, and absolutely incredibly gracious hostess in Luciana. We had one small blip during our stay and she was immediately squaring it away before giving us another fantastic recommendation. Not only would I refer anyone visiting to stay there, I can only hope that my wife and I will have a chance to go back!

Room Tip: From just about every room there is a chance to do a little birdwatching in the late afternoon as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bostonbudgettraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Luciana is just so friendly and welcoming from the moment you arrive. The rooms are SPOTLESS, the beds so nice. There is a kitchen if you need (we didn't use it, too many good restaurants in Caye Caulker). Just a short walk from the "main" street, and the bikes are very handy as well.

We can only wish we had more time there as it was such a nice place to stay. Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOALdenHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.4 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
262 reviews
0.7 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
168 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OASI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OASI

Property: OASI
Address: Avenida Mangle, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oasi is a new and elegant building situated on the south part of Caye Caulker just before the airstrip and one block away from the sea. It has three separate apartments completely furnished with A/C, ceiling fan, TV, fully equipped kitchen, DSL internet connection, h/c rain water shower. Each unit has a spacious veranda with hammocks and faces a tropical garden with fountain. There is an area for BBQ and relaxing. Bicycles are provided. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oasi Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing