We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of OASI

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
OASI
Ranked #4 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We really had a wonderful stay at OASI.  The place was so comfortable, clean and in great shape.  It's actually nicer than it looks in all the pictures.  It's a bit out of town, but you get free bikes and can get just about anywhere on the island in less than ten minutes.  If you fly to the island, you could simply walk here as it's two doors down from the airport.

Best of all, Luciana, the owner, was incredibly nice and welcoming, and had some great local recos for us.  We spent a bit of time with her and somehow the story behind the one "poor" rating on TA came up.  Hopefully the other reviews speak for themselves, but don't give any thought to that outlier.  Unbelievable story about those guests and she chose to not even dignify it with a response.  I suppose if you are in the hospitality business long enough you will always get your share of nutty visitors.

Anyway, you won't be disappointed if you choose to hang your hat here for a few days.
 

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CBEB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for OASI
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

My husband and I recently stayed on Caye Caulker for 3 nights. We chose OASI based on other reviews on TripAdvisor, and we were NOT disappointed.

We booked apartment #4 which is an upstairs large studio. It is impeccably clean and well stocked with pots, pans, gadgets, dishes, toaster and coffee maker. The bed was comfortable, and much to my husbands delight, included a television that can be viewed from the bed so he could wind down the evening before going to sleep. I loved the hammock...ahhh. such a nice spot to swing, chill out while surfing the internet on my phone using the free Wi-Fi connection.

The first night we got there, Luciana saw that one of the flowers were wilted and she insisted on changing them out for us since she just cares about those small touches. There was also an issue with the cable (apparently some workers accidentally disconnected it from the outside) Michael came over about 10pm to troubleshoot/fix the problem for us, which he did with his big smile.

OASI is located 1-2 minute walk from the small airstrip on the south side of the island with easy dock access to waters that would allow for snorkeling secondary to the lack of seagrass. The grounds are manicured and very clean. Caye Caulker is very safe, so you will feel totally secure on the 8-10 minute walk into the main area of town. Alternatively, you can take one of the golf cart taxis for $2.50 per person flat rate into town.

Luciana is an animated, funny, helpful, and engaging hostess. We enjoyed our long conversations with her and were pleased when she rode the water taxi back to Belize City with us.

Luciana, thank you so much for making us feel welcome and for all of your help. We miss your smile and hope to see you again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orcasdance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed with Luciana and Michael in OASI for five nights and we absolutely loved it. We had apartment no. 1 which was equipped with a queen bed, fan and AC, kitchenette and a sofa with cable TV. The apartment was spacious and very well decorated. Luciana made sure there were fresh flowers on the table upon arrival.
The bathroom had a nice warm shower and was very clean. Every apartment has a porch with chairs and a hammock on it. Very comfortable! In the overall area there was a garden with lounge chairs and they're working on a bar on the property.

Luciana and Michael are both very welcoming and friendly, giving you all the advice about the island and its activities you need.

The apartments are cleaned every day, which was very pleasant, although sometimes a little inconvenient for it was done at ten o'clock in the morning even when you didn't leave already. The fact that the bedsheets are changed every morning is a plus though.

OASI definitely was the best stay we had during our three weeks trip through Guatemala and Belize and I'd picked them again if I ever went back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ieniemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Luciana and Michael are simply perfect hosts. From the convenient booking by e-mail, the friendly transfer from the docks until all the inside info on the island, it's all there with a smile! You can tell Luciana loves hospitality and enjoys what she does.

We had apartment number 2 and it was perfect. Really nice kitchen and bathroom and a comfie bed. The TV with cable is a nice extra and of course the fan and AC very good to have.

Even though it rained, we still had a great time on the island. Luciana recommended the places to eat, a snorkelling tour and also allowed us to have fun in her bar under construction.

If you're thinking of coming to the island. Book this place. It's a little outside the centre, but you get free bikes to cruise around!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timmeronline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This trip was a blast. I visited the island with one other female friend, on our first trip alone. We were a little concerned for our safety as first time travelers but the island was completely safe and Oasi was a great choice. I stayed here for the beginning of my trip and my expectations were set hi. Great AC, great service, beautiful/large rooms and a very safe location. Whatever you do, however, do no bring visitors. The tenant will get very upset.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreinavalenzuela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Luciana is simply an awesome hostess. She was so informative, helpful and attentive. She arranged for a driver to pick us up at the water taxi and drove us to the airstrip when we departed. Our room is one of the best accommodations we had during our trip to Belize. There is a fully functional kitchen, with spices, pots/pans, a functional refrigerator, oven, bowls and plates, and utensils, coffee maker with coffee, tea, sugar. The bathroom is spotless and I was just amazed at how clean the place is kept, especially with all the sand and gravel one drags in at the end of the day. The A/C is functional and keeps the room cool. Luciana also provides you with complimentary bikes with bike locks. Oasi is a 5 minute bike ride to the busier parts of town, which is great, as its relatively quiet at night when you're trying to get rest. I definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Caye Caulker and would stay here again if I ever returned. Thanks again Luciana!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olliej77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This was a great choice for a single traveller. Luciana knows whom to recommend and treats you like you are a special guest. The room was cleaned beyond expectation. Fan and AC if you need it, along with cable tv, full kitchen (I cooked dinner nearly every night.) Everything you could need to cook with was right there. Fresh towels, dish soap, sponge, sheets changed mid-week, a clothes line with pins, locally made soap and shampoo, beach towels, bikes to ride to town and a wonderful hammock for sleeping. Quiet and away from town, not for people who want the night life. It is for people who want to snorkel, relax, have a meal and come back. The bike makes it possible and being away from town gave me a sense of security and comfort. Nothing was too much to ask for Luciana to answer, and her family (including her parents and pets) were all sweet too. I highly recommend OASI as a safe, comfortable place. She sends a driver to pick you up at the airport (25 USD) and then a golf car to meet you at the ferry (2.50 USD). You could walk, but it would take about 15 minutes and towing luggage - why? Nothing was lacking, it was spectacular and I am already booking again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank missiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.4 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
278 reviews
0.7 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Caye Caulker
175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OASI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OASI

Address: Avenida Mangle, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range: £48 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oasi is a new and elegant building situated on the south part of Caye Caulker just before the airstrip and one block away from the sea. It has four separate apartments completely furnished with A/C, ceiling fan, TV, fully equipped kitchen, Wi-Fi, h/c rain water shower, queen size bed and a futon that opens as a double bed. Each unit has a spacious veranda with hammocks, chairs and love seat and faces a tropical garden with a great pool. There is an area for BBQ and relaxing and a beautiful wine bar " Il Baretto" with a great selection of wines and fresh cocktails. We serve bruschette and antipasti too with some specials. The bar "Il Baretto" hosts musicians some evenings like guitarists, singers, drummers but not later than 9:00pm We are open for breakfast on demand. Bicycles and water to drink are provided. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oasi Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing