We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the Ruff”
Review of OASI

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
OASI
Ranked #4 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Diamond in the Ruff”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Our friends recommended this place to us and so we decided to try it. What a great recommendation! When we arrived we were greeted with open arms. The place was very clean and felt as close to home as you can get (especially being in a different country). The cleaning crew would put fresh flowers from the garden in our room, which was a very nice touch. The owner was extremely helpful. Anytime we were looking for help finding something she was right there with a lot of advise and helpful hints. She provided us with bicycles which was awesome because the island is small and other than bikes and golf carts, there is no transportation. We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    11
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
179
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My wife and I stayed on Kaye Caulker at OASI in February 2014 for 4 nights. Our room was excellent, very bright and clean. It was well furnished and our bed was very comfortable. Luciana was a wonderful host. She went out of her way to be helpful and make our stay enjoyable. The property is beautiful with gardens and running water in the common central area. We would sit on our porch every morning (coffee) and evening (glass of wine) watching the many beautiful birds. We used the complimentary bicycles to explore the island and ride into town. The location a few blocks from the “downtown” area perfect. It was an easy walk and her property was very quiet and charming. I highly recommend OASI should you go to Kaye Caulker. If you look at my photos carefully you may see the “Beware of Dogs” sign. They are both very friendly, quiet and greeted us every day!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GregV12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent guest house run by a lovely host who really cares about the experience her guests have. We were only here for 3 nights but Luciana was very helpful in booking tours and giving us the general lay of the land with the village on the island and best places to go.

The apartment is a good size, with fridge and full cooking facilities. It's located on the backstreet (there are only 3 sheets in the village) and so is perfect for sitting in the hammock quietly reading a book.

I'd definitely recommend it and would return if ever back in Belize.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mimmer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ro
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

As per its name (OASI) this place is really an oasis in Caye Caulker. You cann't ask for more in terms of accommodation.

We have stayed within the apartment #2 and we have found it excellent. It is big enough , its kitchen has everything you need, the bathroom as well - it seems more like a home than a touristic place.

The owner, Luciana, is such a nice person always willing to help and answer to any question. She has bikes provided for free which we have found quite useful in our relaxing rides within the island.

Our feeling is that within OASI you are always perceived as a friend and not as a tourist who's only asset is money.

If you go to Caye Caulker you should definitely stay here as I haven't seen other comparable options within the island.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joker t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Don't want to repeat all the positives that have been documented by others, but want to add another big thumbs up. The apartments themselves are nice and well supplied, very clean and the location is great (quiet yet close to town). What really makes this place though is the owner Luciana and her staff. Luciana is a great hostess and makes you feel welcome.
Caulker itself is a great place to chill out. The swimming is limited to the spit really, because the water around the rest of the island is so shallow and the bottom is a thick mud most places. You can enjoy the water at the spit, or rent a kayak, or hire a boat to take you to the reef if you want to spend a lot of time actually in the water. For just enjoying a beach atmosphere caulker can't be beat. The town in charming, not too busy and has a laid back feel. Not one chain hotel or restaurant on the island. Would go back any time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

If you are looking for quiet relaxation and professional advice on what to see and do, OASI is the place. The grounds are well kept, with a fountain that attracted birds, a grill and outdoor eating area and lots of greenery and flowering plants. The rooms are spacious, clean and well planned. The kitchen has everything you need, and drinking water is provided. All units have bicycles which are great for getting around the island. And what makes it all work is the owner, Luciana. Not only does she keep her units in the best of shape, she also was the best reference for setting up tours and taxis. Whatever we needed Luciana was happy to arrange it for us, and we were confident of gettting the best service from the people she recommended whether it was a day long trip to the ruins and zoo or a taxi ride back to the airport. She never tired of answering our many questions.
We stayed at OASI for 7 days and would love to return. The quiet end of the island was perfect for me and my daughter, and we felt safe at all times.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. Just depends on whether you need the extra bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayneprude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We debated between a private cottage and a room at Oasi and decided to go with Oasi. We thought having the manager on site would be valuable in terms of getting advice and arranging trips. It was! Luciana set everything up for us - she gave us a fantastic recommendation for our first snorkel trip. We would never have otherwise found Juni. She also arranged two trips to the mainland for us to see Lamanai and Altun Ha. She's really an expert.
Her rooms are beautiful and high-quality. The kitchen has basic cooking utensils, and she provides both bath and beach towels. You'll find shampoo in the bathroom, but bring your own conditioner - you'll need it after all the wind and salt water.
The only drawback to Oasi is the new establishment next door. Besides being horribly ugly, the noisy bar guests may keep you up at night. Luciana's aware of the situation, though, and will do everything she can to make you comfortable!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.4 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.7 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OASI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OASI

Property: OASI
Address: Avenida Mangle, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oasi is a new and elegant building situated on the south part of Caye Caulker just before the airstrip and one block away from the sea. It has three separate apartments completely furnished with A/C, ceiling fan, TV, fully equipped kitchen, DSL internet connection, h/c rain water shower. Each unit has a spacious veranda with hammocks and faces a tropical garden with fountain. There is an area for BBQ and relaxing. Bicycles are provided. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oasi Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing