We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Balm & Palm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Wave Guest House
Ranked #12 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Balm & Palm”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Seaview from second floor front facing first street and beach, tour office for water sports immediate. a short stroll to "The Split" for swimming and sunning and drinks. Good basic room with bath and deck. TV And Wifi. Office sells phones and international calls. Rooms in back for budget, but front room just 70 USD, a bargain for the view. THis is laid back island life but diversion enough in evening for the younger set. there is a night club on the Caye.

Room Tip: Room 1 is my choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganZumbido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    47
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
4
47
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

my girlfriend I stayed there for 2 days .the hotel was nice we have private bathrooms everything was really clean the location was the best possible we had a really really good restaurant right across street called femi's the location was a little out of control but close enough to where you could walk there in 3 minutes and you could walk to the swimming hole in the other direction away from town so it was very centrally located

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbezy520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Based on reviews I read on TripAdvisor, I recently booked a week at the Blue Wave Guest House. Your opinion of Blue Wave will depend on what kind of traveler you are. I can see why some people like this place and why others might not. I stayed in one of the rooms that had a shared bathroom. The rate was $22 US per night which is one of the best deals on the island if you ask me.

I felt the accommodation was average. My room consisted of a bed, desk, mirror, nightstand, and electric fan. Very basic but if you’re doing activities and running around the island all day, do you really need anything more? The room itself was clean and I received fresh towels every day. The shared bathroom was not an issue. There are two bathrooms shared between only three rooms and they are kept pretty clean. One bathroom has a toilet and sink. The other bathroom has a toilet, sink, and shower. I never had to wait to use the bathroom. If you are traveling with a few people, it may be worth it for each person to get their own room and you would be sharing the bathrooms with people you know. My room never got too hot and there were nights I slept without turning the fan on (I was there in October).

The staff at Blue Wave is friendly and pretty much stays out of your way unless you need something. Free Wi-Fi is offered and it’s not as slow as you might expect. Blue Wave also has a nice little dock that is for guests only. It felt really good to sit on this dock and gaze at the stars in the evenings while warm wind was blowing. This experience alone is worth more than the $22 per night. The location of Blue Wave is also a positive. It’s close to the Split which is the best (and pretty much only) place to go swimming and there is a convenience store nearby if you need snacks and water.

My only advice would be to stay away from room 1A if possible. It’s located next to the front office and patio area so it can get a bit noisy in the mornings. No big deal if you usually wake up early, but you might get annoyed if you want to sleep in. Overall though, at $22 per night, there is nothing to complain about. If you’re a no frills traveler, you probably won’t be disappointed with the Blue Wave Guest House.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_St_Kav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I stayed here for 6 nights in Caye Caulker. We shopped around almost all hostels, gust houses and Blue Wave was definately the best. great location overlooking the beach, very very friendly staff and owners. A few deferent options depending on you budget but great value all round.
We also dived with Frechies who were a great dive company.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deangrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London (originally NZ)
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We spent our first night at Yumas/tinas which was twice the price and not as greater value.

At blue wave we stayed in a private room with shared bathroom. There a only 3 rooms set up like this so the shared part is only with maximum of 2 other rooms.

We stayed in room 1 at the front which had a nice sea breaze. The room was massive and tidy. It was cleaned daily and the seets changed every second day. The bathrooms are also well maintained and clean. There is also hot water, not all places on the Caye have this. The kitchen is small and functional we used it for breakfast and a few other meals and found it was all we needed. There is also a big tank of fresh water for drinking and cooking, we drank it the whole time and had no issues.

The private rooms we looked at were a good standard but I will leave those to other reviewers.

Costs, we paid BZE$35 per night (cheaper than bellas guest house for a couple) it is BZE$40 for one night. The private rooms with bathroom were going for BZE$60-70 depending on aircon.

It is in a good location and has it's own wharf for chilling. We found the staff friendly and nice.

Don't forget 10% discount at Frenchie's diving who are very good.

Very reccomendable stay and excellent value

Room Tip: We had room 1 of the private shared and it had more windows and got the sea breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles5333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We stayed here for our first two nights as we wanted to dive with Frenchies (they offer a 10% discount but not on PADI courses). We were lucky to catch someone before they closed but she was very friendly to show us around to a few rooms.

The rooms are pretty basic but nice not the less.

The front staff was very friendly and very helpful.

We would have stayed here for our entire trip but we thought we'd like to stay somewhere else.

I'd recommend this place without a second thought.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt_Clark_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed here based on the reviews below and unfortunately we didn't have as an amazing experience. We hadn't actually booked a room as it was low season so we just showed up. They were just closing the office as we were arriving and told us they had plenty availability, however the lady seemed to be in a rush and didn't want to show us any rooms and just gave us the key to room one even though I had said to her I wasn't sure of it due to a 100 watt strip light which would be left on all night right outside our windows. It wasn't so much the light that was the problem but what I knew it would probably attract. I was right, within 3 minutes of being inside the room we were eaten alive - the room looked like a war zone after we had left it due to the amount of mosquitoes we had squoshed on the walls (the mosquito nets were all torn). We ended up only staying the one night and then moving on. Perhaps the suites are much better but the budget accommodation there is definitely not the best we have come across.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms before deciding - don't choose room one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWaveCayeCaulker, Manager at Blue Wave Guest House, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Blue Wave Guest House does not mean to be rude, but these guests are a bit on the dramatic side, we understand all guests are entitled to their own opinion, We will defend ourselves by clearing the following:
Most hotels in Caye Caulker (with the exception of 2 or 3) have regular business hours from 8-5 or 8-6, it was already way after 6pm. not to say we wont attend to our guests after closing hours which is what we did. Next, Blue Wave never just hands a key to a guest to go see a room, they are always taken to the room and showed the room so that the guest can decide. As for the mosquito nets, we had no clue what they are referring to as we do not provide mosquito nets to our guests (they travel with them most times), all we provide is the hook on the ceiling so they can hang their own, so saying our mosquito nets had holes is strange as we did not provide any to them whatsoever.
Fact check: Mosquitoes: we all know that mosquitoes are not attracted to the light, but instead to the darkness. so saying ht eoutside light attracted mosquitoes is also strange, it is also the wet season in the TROPICS, all guests travel with repellent and had they asked for repellent or bug spray we would have gladly loaned them abottle, even though there isnt much of an issue wiht mosquitoes or sandflies in those rooms. (owners live right above them on the property) as for the bright light, it serves to keep the sitting area lit at night but at the guests request we would happily turn the lights off.
Please do not let this review hinder your thoughts about visiting or staying at our establishment. we are here to serve you. and we stand by that. :) .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#31 of 53 in San Pedro
565 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Isla Resort
La Isla Resort
#21 of 31 in Caye Caulker
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Wave Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Wave Guest House

Property: Blue Wave Guest House
Address: Front Street | Caye Caulker Village, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful rooms with private bath... reasonably priced. We also have basic rooms with shared bath for budget travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Blue Wave Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Wave Guest House Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing