We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Costa Maya Beach Cabanas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Costa Maya Beach Cabanas
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

After traveling for 90+ days, this was the worst experience we had with any staff at any of the places we stayed. We were quoted a price and they tried to increase it upon arrival. When we questioned the increase, the lady argued with us, often raising her voice and being totally unprofessional. She was extremely disrespectful, trying to blame their inability to organize their reservations on us. After going back and forth for 20 mins, she finally agreed to the price originally quoted and honored our reservation, but made snide remarks under her breath. All the hastle pretty much ruined our experience. We moved to a much better place after our second night.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WarTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelizeCayeCaulker, Manager at Costa Maya Beach Cabanas, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Guests can make reservations instantly online via our website. It is easy, fast and secure. Instant availability and guaranteed rates. We only ask for one night deposit and remainder paid when you stay. You only pay if you stay is our policy. Customer had made a call in the morning and showed up in the late afternoon. Unfortunately there was a miscommunication in which room type was offered and quoted. It is important to make reservations ahead of time in order not to encounter any problems. Costa Maya Beach Cabanas only offers 6 rooms. 3 Beachfront, which are our most popular and 3 Beach view. Guest was quoted a beach view rate and wanted a Beachfront room for the same price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    32
    8
    8
    7
See reviews for
17
59
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

If you make your reservation online or over the phone and have a paper trail you MAY be ok. My boyfriend and I had the misfortune of booking in person 5 days in advance. We wanted to move here to accommodate our friend coming into town to visit us and moved from our apartment at DA REAL MACAW, which is a way better value with impeccable service, because they were booked for larger parties.

Long story short:
The woman who took our reservation did not require a deposit, assured us we had the room, quoted us a price and told us we could check in at 8 am. Throughout the week we rented equipment from them and were on a smile and wave basis. The day to check in we came at 10 to an employee of the hotel getting her stuff out, complaining that had we not rented it they would have used it for a staff party. She took the grill and ice maker that were in the room as well.

It became apparent quickly the room had been double booked with a weird coincidence of my last name and the other guests being the same. Since we had made ours first and were there, we asked to take the room. After 30 minutes of trying to give us a small room, to get more money out of us and acting extremely unprofessional, the woman who had stayed there last night shoved the keys towards us and called us unreasonable.

We felt uncomfortable the entire time when we saw her, but the view is nice and it is close to the split.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTime619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelizeCayeCaulker, Manager at Costa Maya Beach Cabanas, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Guests are recommended to use our instant online reservation system. However, when guests walk in off the street, we require them to fill out a Belize Tourism Board form and give a one night deposit. The confusion was an online booking and walk in booking with the same last name was the conflicting issue. The person that had stayed in the room previous to this new guest was a long term rental and had her own barbecue grill and other items. Unfortunately the guests thought that was part of the room. Because of this, we can understand the guests upset. Everyone was invited to the staff party.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed at Costa Maya at the beginning of November. Unit 6 is a one bedroom with the most awesome deck right infront of the sea with spectacular view daily. Included were kayaks, bikes and wifi. Compliments of Heather, the manager, we had the perks of a ice maker and propane bbq.
The room was always made sparking clean and the area quite at nite.
Being close to the Split was also a bonus for the day activity.
Tsunami Adventures is a no pressure tour office right on the premises.
Always offers great trip to Hol Chan, Reef, Cave tubing etc.
Couldn't have asked for more. It was a wonderful time. Can hardly wait to return. We feel like it was our my home away from home.

Room Tip: Number 5 or number 6 and 10 are facing the sea.. awesome view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosieakalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

This is a relatively comfortable location right next to the beach and near the swimming hole created by the hurricane in years past. Nice beachside bar there too.
The rooms are unimpressive but clean and affordable. The staff can customize tours right from the office.
****I recommend the night snokel tour of the reef - most outstanding travel experience I've ever had.
All in all, if your there to enjoy the islands and all its activities then its a suitable place to crash at night. If you expect a bit more luxury then there are other options.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous_in_poco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed in Cabana 5, with a balcony overlooking the sea and it was a really great room - with a private bathroom and kitchenette.

The staff weren't really friendly (unlike everybody else in Belize), but that didn't really bother us, as the hotel also had free bikes, kayaks and a palapa right over the water.

The location is close to the Split were most people swim, and only a short walk from the shops and restaurants in the main street.

Room Tip: Stay in Cabana 5 for views of the sea from your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieBoxshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We didn't have much fun here.
- The room was tiny - no room to put any of our bags, let alone unpack anything from them.
- There's no glass on the windows, so when it rains you have to shut the storm shutters and sit in the dark.
- It's right next door to a much nicer hotel, so if you stay in your room, you can hear other people larking about in their pool. Depressing.
- The back of the place is derelict, where some of their buildings have been dismantled/fallen down.
- The shower water stinks of sulphur and knots your hair. (Though to be fair, this might be common to the island, rather than just this place.)

We looked to move, and found another place just down the road that had much better rooms at the same price.

On the plus side, we met someone who went on one of their tours and spoke very highly of them.

Room Tip: Check which room size you're getting
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilllles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMBCCayeCaulker, Manager at Costa Maya Beach Cabanas, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
This guest stayed in Cabana 9, it is one of our smaller rooms. Guests are most welcome to inspect the room prior to staying and paying. The shutters are hurricane shutters. Water on the island comes from 3 different sources. Rain water, well water or bought water, sometimes the well water has a sulfur smell but it does not harm you, we add chlorine tablets to the water. It is not always like that, however since the island has seen an increase in tourism and the lack of rain, the well water has been affected. There is a beautiful sea and we have a 300 foot dock complete with Palapa hut and hammocks to enjoy the view. A ladder for swimming. This dock belongs to Costa Maya and it is for our guests and customers of Tsunami Adventures. Over a a year ago, a guest staying in a cabin behind our property caused a fire, which in turn caught the back 4 cabanas of our property on fire and a brand new private home on fire. It was unfortunate and we have cleaned up the area, but not rebuilt. We do have plans to rebuild in the near future, in the meantime the area is used to dry laundry. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

It's interesting how this place has such mixed reviews, but I don't really understand it. There was someone to pick us and our backpacks up from the dock and bring us to the room, there's wifi (a little unreliable but works best outside/ closer to the main office). We spent one night in room 10, which was fine, and then moved to room 6 (a little bigger and more comfortable for a family of four). We love room 6 as it has a huge balcony just for us with a view of the sea and 4 deck chairs, it's a lovely place to spend the afternoon and evening after a day snorkelling.

The second double bed is a foldout couch though (in rooms 6 and 10 at least) so be aware of that.
And make sure you ask the staff for the wifi code because it changes frequently and isn't the same as listed in the book in the room.

Another bonus is that when booking with Tsunami Tours (located in the main office of the hotel, coincidentally) you get a discount if you're staying at the hotel. Everything's a short walk away; most restaurants, the beach, the Split.

Ignore the bad reviews, and stay here! With wifi, balcony, sea breeze, fridge, AC.. It's a great deal!

Room Tip: Room 6 is great- big balcony and three separate rooms (living room& kitchen, bedroom, bathroom)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank leaderrjaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.5 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Maya Beach Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Maya Beach Cabanas

Property: Costa Maya Beach Cabanas
Address: beachfront, by split, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Maya Beach Cabanas is your home away from home. We are located by the split. The Northern end of the main island. We have a small beach in front and great dock complete with palapa hut. A very popular hangout with our guests. All of our rooms have air conditioning, fridge, coffee and cable TV. We have chairs and hammocks for all of our guests to use. Free use of Canoes and Bicycles and we also offer wireless internet service. Each of our six cabanas are different. Three Beachfront view and 3 partial beachfront view. Our most popular being 6 and 5, which is currently being renovated for the upcoming season. We are a local family that have lived here all our lives and we hope you come to enjoy our little piece of paradise. Thank you Rosado Family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Maya Beach Cabanas Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing