We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Costa Maya Beach Cabanas
Nearby Hotels
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$158
US$131
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
De Real Macaw(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Anchorage Beach Resort(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Popeyes Beach Resort(Caye Caulker)
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Anchorage Resort Hotel Belize City(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
US$109
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Caye Caulker Condos(Caye Caulker)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Barefoot Beach Belize(Caye Caulker)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
65
35
8
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
35
8
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbook toursrooftop balconylarge porchfree bikes and kayakscable tvrooms are smalllocation was perfectlazy lizardsnorkeling gearspent nightsper nightpalm treesprivate pierfull kitchenofficesplitcabana
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had no complaints at all. We stayed in cabana 8, which was on the side, upper level of one of the buildings & if you looked off of our balcony you could see views of the ocean & palm trees, rear view was colorful belizean houses. Staff was wonderful, providing hammocks for the pier, water, free bike rentals, they were always there to help out. Our room was smaller, but for the 2 of us, that is all we needed, fridge was nice to have to stock up beer/water.We had a/c but never used it as we always had sea breezes through the windows. Rooms were cleaned daily, & new bath towels provided daily. It is very close to the split & lazy lizard bar & all other restaurants, shops & bars are a very short walk. I loved that we had our own pier to sunbathe, chill in the hammocks, talk to the locals as they came in by boat or just gaze out into the ocean. We just had to cross the sand "trail"(front street) & there were chairs to sit in and gaze out at the ocean & have a drink....it was perfect. We will be back. Thanks to Heather and all of the wonderful staff!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 425Sherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed in Cabana #10 (the downstairs beach-facing cabana) for six nights. We were 100% satisfied.

1.) The location is perfect...the ocean views from our cabana were great. It was a five second walk to get to the water. It's also located within a few hundred yards of the main restaurant/street vendor/tour centers which was also great...easy to get to, but far enough away so that the area around the hotel was relatively quiet. We also enjoyed being near the Caye Caulker split which is basically a channel that bisects the caye into two...it's a good place to hang out.

2.) Not many lodging options on Caye Caulker have a dock with a covered hammock area at the end. We really enjoyed this; it was a perfect place to relax. In addition to the dock/hammock area, this place came with other perks such as canoes. As guests we took out a canoe a few times to explore the island. It was a lot of fun.

3.) Service was outstanding. Everyone was very friendly and accomodating. We really noticed the great job done to clean the room daily (floors swept of sand, etc.)

4.) The room itself was great and looks like it was recently remodelled. Had a couple of fans and A/C, a TV (which we never used), fridge, coffee maker, and toaster oven. Our cabana had a sitting area just outside which was great.

Overall: we were very happy with our experiences as Costa Maya Beach Cabanas. There are definately cheaper options on Caye Costa but we were quite happy with the value we received.

Random notes:

- The front office is also home of Tsunami Adventures (a tour company). Half-day, full-day, night snorkling, manatee cruises, and more. At the very least do a half-day snorkling tour...you won't regret it!

- Can't drink the tap water (or eat vegtables) anywhere on the island. Recommend purchasing a 5-gallon jug from Costa Maya for a few bucks.

- There are no real "beaches" on Caye Caulker (at least how people typically envision a beach).

- The Caye Caulker motto of "Go Slow" is no joke. This is a perfect place to relax and destress.

Room Tip: OK...choosing a cabana is a CRITICAL decision. They have a variety of room choices; some boxed in a bit and some facing the ocean. We had Cabana #10 which was one the first floor facing the ocean. It was slightly more expensive but (in our minds) well worth it. DEFINATELY discuss your options with the staff when making a reservation.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We had the downstairs front cabana for the first night and the upstairs main cabana with balcony for the rest of our 5 day stay.

The location was great and the view from the hammocks something to die for however our stay was tainted by really poor service. We arrived at the location late at night (7pm) and they managed to sort us out with a room after we had negotiated the low season price, unfortunately though, the only other communication we had with the owner was to tell us off for leaving the porch light on and remind us how 'we like to conserve energy here ya know' in a condescending voice. If we had been there for a few days then I could understand but it was hardly a warm greeting for your guests.

Allied to that, on the one day we actually wanted to relax and chill out on the balcony and read we were woken up at 7am by the dog barking, which it continued to do all the way through the day, what made it worse was that we had to listen to the owner giving her staff lectures and tellings off throughout the afternoon and eventually annoying us so much that we decided to get out for some food and drink.

I can also testify to the dodgy smell of water in the shower and taps, we didn't have this anywhere else in central america.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here then ask for the room at the front cabana.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesMcD99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMBCCayeCaulker, Manager at Costa Maya Beach Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Good Day. These guests called from San Ignacio asking about a room and did not reconfirm. Had they made their reservation by our instant online reservation, the room rate would be guaranteed and we would be waiting for them or send for a golf cart taxi to pick them up at the water taxi. The owner lives around the corner and he let them in. Electricity is very expensive in Caye Caulker as the island is run by a diesel generator and we kindly ask guests to turn off all unnecessary lights when not in use. There is a dog that lives one property over and tends to bark often when people pass in the night. There is a picnic table under cabana 6 patio and quite often people hang out here. The picnic table has been removed. Guides are given full briefings prior to each tour. Guides are reminded and perhaps these guests felt like the guides where being lectured. We are very happy that they liked the room and the location and the end of the dock. It is the best place on the island to enjoy peace and quiet. Caye Caulker is a small island with over 1500 inhabitants living in a area 1/2 mile wide by 2 miles long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed in the front cabana. The view is amazing. The location is excellent as it is close to the Split which is the best for swimming/snorkelling and also close to all the great restaurants and shops. We are vegans, and Caye Caulker is definitely vegan friendly. The Costa Maya is connected to Tsunami Tours, so we easily arranged 2 days of snorkeling Hol Chan Marine Reserve. They are so nice there and will help you arrange any tours or hotels on the mainland for you. Next time we are bringing our kids for sure. We didn't want to leave - we has such a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank y0gachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Just returned form 8 nights in unit 5. We loved this large room with the great view. The fridge, microwave, and toaster oven made it easy to prepare meals in our room. The room was clean and the staff friendly and helpful. We consider this the best place to stay on the island.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank oldfarters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews