We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and service for price”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Costa Maya Beach Cabanas
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great room and service for price”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Our room was about $75 a night, so $25 split three ways. The room was modern, air conditioned, received cable and HBO, Showtime, etc., and had a kitchenette with coffee maker, silverware, and more. Our room was beach front property with a balcony overlooking the ocean. The shower was amazing with a lot of room and good water pressure. Another great thing: there were no bugs in the rooms! I deem this an incredible feet as that is hard to come by in many places in Belize. There was also wi-fi in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    32
    8
    9
    7
See reviews for
18
59
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

If you understand what you are buying, this is a great place to stay. If you think you are getting a room at the Hilton, you will be disappointed. This is a nice place, decent rooms, fridge in room, nice beds, but it is a small place on an out of the way island, it isn't the Hilton. I liked this place very much. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We took a kayak out one day and bicycles one day and they were helpful with both. The rooms were clean, cool (nice air-conditioning), quiet and without bugs. We had everything we wanted here. You just stroll down the main street a few minutes to find a nice and interesting place to eat. THere is plenty of bottled water available, don't be afraid to come. I was here with my kids 11 and 13 and we all had a breat time. For the price, this is an excellent value.

Room Tip: Bring plenty of sunblock
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We didn't know this island existed until we arrived in Belize city. After a day near Belize City, we quickly searched for a place to stay on the island for a night. The staff was absolutely awesome and very inviting. We took a snorkeling tour booked with at the reception desk of the cabanas. It was great as well! Saw lots of fish and of course coral as well as an eel and many sting rays and nurse sharks! Also a manatee! For the price (sixty-five bucks USD/nt +tax) this place was amazing. Also included bike share, snorkeling gear and canoes. Have already suggested to many fellow traveling friends.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We were first timers in Belize and stayed at Costa Maya on the advice of friends. What we got was a restful, relaxing, and romantic week. A bit of a hiccup with our pick up from the airport, but one phone call and Bunny had it all sorted out. The property is clean and well maintained by Heather and her friendly and helpful staff. We took time every day to enjoy the palapas(hammocks) on the private dock, and toured the island on Costa Maya's complimentary bicycles. There was even a canoe for guest use which we used to paddle through the split and over the tarpon hole, and to get a closer look at the mangroves. Our room was directly above the office and had a beautiful view. It had a well equipped kitchenette, air conditioning, reliable internet access, and a large shower with good water pressure. We were able to easily walk to the market in the daytime, and to some great restaurants in the evenings, but we appreciated being on the quiet end of the island so we could open all our windows and enjoy the island breeze at night. Being close to the split was great - the daytime music and atmosphere was fun and we enjoyed the snorkelling there. Thank you Heather and your crew for some great memories - we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2013

When we decided to take this quick 3 day trip, we did not book anything. We didn't even know where we were going. We got a lot of information from a passenger seated next to us on the plane. He suggested San Pedro, but we ended up stopping on Caye Caulker because the gate agent at the airport told us it was much more laid back. Exactly what we were looking for. We were met by James on the water taxi beach and I was like, (Here we go....) It actually turned out great that he asked us what we were looking for and he guided us to Costa Maya Cabanas.

Bonnie let us take a look at the only room they had left to let us decide whether we wanted to stay there or not. We took a look at room #8 (smaller room) and decided to give it a try. This was not a mistake at all. It has a good A/C, a clean bathroom, a little fridge, a nice bed, working TV, and quiet. We were still a little apprehensive, but Bonnie made us feel at home. They have free bicycle rental, kayak/canoes, Wi-Fi, and offer tours. We didn't do any tours as we just wanted to relax. The Palapa hut at the end of the dock was great. Oh yeah, there are free hammocks to use there as well. The dock for Costa Maya is the nicest one on the island. It extends the farthest except for maybe the one used for the water taxi. They are located close to the split and it is just a great location compared to the other hotels. The hotel next door may look better, but I feel you just won't get as much overall. We were originally only going to spend one night there and go to San Pedro the next day. We slept really well and we stayed the next night as well.

For $70 USD, it was worth it. We plan to go back and stay in room #5. They allowed us to take a look after the guests checked out and it has a nice view and is huge. We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. For the people who have given this place a bad review, maybe things were bad in the past, but now they are not. We travel a bit more adventurous than most, but we ended up at the right place this time for sure. Heather was nice to us as well, but we can't say enough about Bonnie. She made our stay very comfortable. We will definitely be back. Don't judge a book by its cover.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #8, but we plan to stay in room #5 for the next visit. Room #8 is a smaller room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LumberFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I recently stayed at Cost Maya Cabanas with my teen children. I rented the unit above the office as well as the upstairs 1BR apartment. The units are clean and cleaned daily. As an added benefit, guests can use the bicylces, canoes and snorkle gear for no additional charge.
I describe these Cabana's as clean yet simple. A good value.

This is my 5th or 6th time to stay here over a period of many years. I will continue to do so.

I enjoy this location as during the day, it is near the split, where you sunbathe, swim and can hang out. At night, this is a quiet end of the island.

One of my favorites is the personal dock where you can lay in a hammock in the shade and read looking out over the Caribbean.

You can also feel comfortable to use Tsunami Adventures to book tours and excursions. I have done so multiple times each trip to Caye Caulker. It is owned by Heather who runs Costa Maya.

Keep up the good work gang.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyManEastTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in early April. The location is fantastic and the staff are helpful and friendly. They made us feel very welcome. After walking around the island we were very happy with our choice. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwoodwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.5 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
265 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
254 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Maya Beach Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Maya Beach Cabanas

Property: Costa Maya Beach Cabanas
Address: Beachfront, By Split, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Maya Beach Cabanas is your home away from home. We are located by the split. The Northern end of the main island. We have a small beach in front and great dock complete with palapa hut. A very popular hangout with our guests. All of our rooms have air conditioning, fridge, coffee and cable TV. We have chairs and hammocks for all of our guests to use. Free use of Canoes and Bicycles and we also offer wireless internet service. Each of our six cabanas are different. Three Beachfront view and 3 partial beachfront view. Our most popular being 6 and 5, which is currently being renovated for the upcoming season. We are a local family that have lived here all our lives and we hope you come to enjoy our little piece of paradise. Thank you Rosado Family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Maya Beach Cabanas Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing