We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for budget travel at a tropical paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Popeyes Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Like most hotels on Caye Caulker, this one is pretty no-frills. But if you're going to Caye Caulker, you probably aren't expecting a five-star resort in the first place. The rooms were large and clean, the air conditioning worked, and it was largely quiet at night.

The good things about this hotel is that it is located mid-island - right off the main street, close to many of the attractions. I have stayed at the Anchorage in the past, and while it is about equal in accommodations, it is about 10 minutes further away from the "main drag" of Caye Caulker, although that does give it a bit more beach privacy.

The other good thing about Popeye's is that it is very near the water taxi dock, so if you're riding to the island by water taxi, it's just a short walk to your hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

Awesome location on the island incredible sunsets, great customer service. Can get a little loud at night from the salsa bar on the beach but not to bad. Very basic room, clean shower/bathroom needs a real door instead of curtain but fine for even an extended stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandPtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Other than oceanfront, this hotel has little to offer. The A/C was not working, the beds were real hard, no TV and the bathroom had a shower curtain that acted as a door. We stayed 1 night and left for a better (and cheaper) hotel. Staff was also very difficult to get a refund for unused time.
Terry H.
Amherst, Va.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank Hunter5248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

we booked a reservation for the "suite" room for 4 nights in august. we put a deposit of 2 nights on a credit card. what a mistake that was. when we got to the resort - not a resort, just a concrete hotel, we where very disappointed in our room. we spent one night and then checked out. they refused to give us a refund of our 2nd night. they were very rude about it and complained that they would not be able to rent the room again. we went back the next night and the room was rented.
My husband and I are not very picky and routinely stay in budget and unconventional lodgings. This room was about the worst i have ever stayed in. It is a simple room with a bed, futon, bathroom (no door, just a curtain) table and mini fridge. It does have air conditioning, which didn't matter to us. The problem was that a veranda runs all around the building. Your window and door (sliding glass) open onto this veranda. Any one walking by can look into your room. It was almost impossible to get dressed without closing all the drapes. You couldn't leave the windows open at night, because it wasn't safe.
The only good thing about this place was the view.
We paid $65 a night and it was too much. We rented a small house on the beach that was private and gorgeous for only $70 a night.
LOOK ELSEWHERE AND DO NOT GIVE A DEPOSIT.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bwtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

I stayed at Popeyes Resort for 4 night. Andrew and his staff were the nicest people to me and made my trip an unique experience. I plan on going back ASAP Annie US

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Live 3 piece band very good, whole staff dancing and having fun!  Great rooms good view!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobon31350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Popeye's. The staff is outstanding. Andrew did everything that he could to make our stay a pleasant one.The rooms are very neat and clean with plenty of hot water. The sunrises are spectacular. The location is perfect. On the water, close enough to the town and the split to walk to but just far enough away to be quit,
There is a dock out in front for swimming and sunning. If fishing is your game, the bone fish are everywhere. You can catch red snapper off the dock in the late afternoon. (waning Andrew"s girlfriend out fished me every time). The snappers are very Tasty.
We were there almost a month.
There is a Cuban bar across the street that dose a roast pig on Sat. that is just unbelievable. They also give free Salsa lessons.
The first week I had a group of divers with me. We went diving with Belize Diving Service. I found them to be very good. They gave us plenty of diving freedom. Diver master and captain were outstanding. The best dives were the Elbow and Turneffe north. I would highly recommend diving with them if you go to the island.
The motto of the island is, go slow! So slow down and enjoy island life.
I have a dive shop in the states and do a lot of group trips and found Popeye's to be a good value for the price.
My wife and I will be going back again next year for another month. This was our second trip to Popeye's.
Thank you Andrew and staff
Dave dmckenney@metrocast.net

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paint9691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.0 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
122 reviews
12.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popeyes Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popeyes Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 19, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range: £41 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popeye's Beach resort Hotel is located in the heart of Caye Caulker, 2 min walk (left) from the water taxi pier. We have three types of accommodation all private bath with hot and cold water: Cabanas, Deluxe rooms and Suites. We are a leading agent for local airline Tropic Air. We also offer, fishing, diving, snorkeling, sailing and mainland tours. Our Staff is friendly and committed to exceeding your expectations during your entire stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Popeyes Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Popeyes Beach Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing