We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth paying the extra for the views and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Popeyes Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Reviewed 28 March 2013

we arrived in Caye Caulker with no reservation and this was not the first place we tried but it was the best. it is located right on the beach and we had the ground floor room with the hot tub literally right outside our door. we also had a hammock to relax on right by the beach - there is a small bar that serves good coffee. The owners are exceptionally welcoming and nice, and will tell you everything you need to know about the tiny island. there is a lively bar called the split 9 literally where the island was split in 2 during a hurricane). Generally, Caye Caulker is well developed for tourists and everyone has good spoken English. We went in August and the weather was perfect. I recommend this place just for the views, the friendliness of the owners and the relative comfort of the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronanfalsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed a week and loved it. Great friendly owners that couldn't do enough for you. Close to the centre of town and the taxi boats. Stayed in the Cabana and loved the ocean breeze. Will be coming back again

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottModafferi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I stayed at Popeyes for 3 wonderful weeks , Room 19 with the best view for sunrise and sunset over looking the ocean of belize ..wow like a dream , wonderful owners Ron and Cristina and their hard working staff Gilbert the young professional manager , Louis and his son Kevin you guys are the best , You went above and beyond to make my stay enjoyable at your wonderful resort , Real humble people hard working and fantastic attitude ..love you all and miss you lots already , you were home far away from home and I can't wait to see you again soon I hope .

Room Tip: Rooms 19 and 20 best views .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed here 14 feb 2013 and had a great time , room 16 which had 2 doubles and a single ..it was basic, clean and spacious ..... The location is to die for and they have a beach front cafe serving lovely simple meals . Away from the main street it is a very quiet location..we will be back
ROBIN HOOD

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Popeyes Beach Resort is an excellent place to stay when visiting Caye Caulker. From the moment I arrived and was greeted by Gilbert, my 14 year-old son and I felt welcome and safe. We had a third floor room with a terrific ocean view and a hot shower. The room was clean and spacious with a bar and two bar stools that overlooked the ocean. There was a long counter with a sink, a cafe table with two chairs and two comfy chairs on the front porch. The mattress was sub-par. Down on the beach is a nice diner for a breakfast of french toast or a dinner of lobster kabobs from Pyra Rico, the self proclaimed B.B.Q. King of Caye Caulker, although there are better places to eat nearby..

Our room had one of the better views, but all the rooms looked comfortable and the grounds were clean and safe and patrolled by one tough looking iguana.

Room Tip: Ground floor is good. Ground floor, ocean front looks the best to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

Apparently the premises are for sale probably the reason why we felt the owners wer only after our money and nothing else! $94 a night for an unclassy minimalist room was a rip off! and not to mention the rude owner, the bad odour of the water and the awful breakfast. And dont even dare to ask for the money back - even if the a mishap is their mistake!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fjamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

Popeyes is very close to great bars and restaurants - but quiet enough for a relaxing time. Good rooms and great prices. Great bar with good staff and cheap drinks. They do breakfast, and most days they also offer a BBQ later in the day. There is a pier to sunbathe and swim off. And a cold water jacuzzi overlooking the ocean. What more do you need? :). I'm 3.5 weeks in to a 5 week stay. I will be very sad to leave.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antoniette2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.0 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
279 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
122 reviews
12.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popeyes Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popeyes Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 19, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range: £41 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popeye's Beach resort Hotel is located in the heart of Caye Caulker, 2 min walk (left) from the water taxi pier. We have three types of accommodation all private bath with hot and cold water: Cabanas, Deluxe rooms and Suites. We are a leading agent for local airline Tropic Air. We also offer, fishing, diving, snorkeling, sailing and mainland tours. Our Staff is friendly and committed to exceeding your expectations during your entire stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Popeyes Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Popeyes Beach Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing