We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Popeyes Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place, great location”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The popeyes beach 'resort' is a good value for money hotel close to the water taxi port. No special facilities, just a clean airconed room and hammocks outside. They got a couple of parrots (including 'Popey' of course) on the central court. Staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivierswinkels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    56
    28
    12
    16
See reviews for
23
57
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
772 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This hotel was my second choice because my first choice was already closed for the day once I arrived from the water taxi. The local bicycle taxi guy that met me on the dock was nice enough to help me find a room since I had not booked in advance. We got lucky because the owner, Christina, had just rode up on her bike from getting dinner and said she had one room open. She walked me up to the third floor and showed me the room. The room is nice, clean and big with an awesome view of the beach and water. There was no safe in the room and the main door was tricky to get locked. My room had a corner bar, mini fridge, kitchen sink, TV, small bathroom and one very (I mean very) small air conditioner. There was also a floor fan that helped. The A/C unit was unable to cool the entire room, but it was overlooking my bed so I was able to sleep. The WiFi is nice and strong in the room due to a recent upgrade. The bed was ok, but I did not sleep that well. It was a very windy night so the sliding door and windows rattled every so often that woke me up. The blinds that cover the windows don't offer 100% privacy so keep that in mind. the bathroom was very small and the shower did not have great water pressure. I paid for three nights so I stayed to give me some time to tour the island. It is located close to the water taxi and only minutes walk away from restaurants, shops and markets.

Room Tip: Stay on third floor for awesome view of beach and water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We went to Belize for the first time and stayed on Caye Caulker at Popeye's Beach Resort. They are in a great location, close to restaurants and the water taxis. They had a wide range of rooms. The rooms were clean and spacious and a great value for your money. We stayed in a room with a balcony and water view and loved waking up to the sunrise and going to sleep with the sea breeze. They had rooms that were basic for backpackers, but we are beyond our backpacking days and wanted one of the nicer rooms. Cris and Ron, the owners are super nice and accomondating. Our daughter loved playing with their 3 year old son and the parrots, iguanas, and crabs on their property. The manager, Gilbert was very friendly and helpful-he met us at the watertaxi with a bike to take our luggage to the hotel. They were finishing up renovations to the bar/restaurant on the property when we left. We hope to enjoy that next time. My daughter asks almost daily as to when we are going back! We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: The water view rooms are spacious and have amazing sunrise views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marynstan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Just got back from Caye Caulker and had a great time staying in Popeye's Beach Resort .Gilbert was vigilant as ever tending to our needs , it turns out he's quite a good photographer as well.
We stayed in room twelve with a gorgeous sea view and HUGE balcony , i watched the sunrise over the sea every morning it was ..breath taking .
Christina and Ron were perfect hosts and i can't thank them enough for there local knowledge and restaurant recommendations.
When we go back we will be re-booking at Popeye's Beach Resort, a quite location just to the left as you walk off the water taxi jetty.
Robin Hood

Room Tip: Higher sea view rooms are the best ,for just a little extra cash
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Nice clean, basic rooms. Perfect if on a budget, good location, walking distance to everything in the town. Gilbert behind the desk is a very friendly, cheerful guy. Would recommended for Caye Caulker.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keable10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ft. pierce
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We loved it here. Now if you're expecting a Marriott or Ritz then this isn't for you. Again, this place is very affordable and it allows you to spend your money on some other things. If your the spoiled rich type, find something else. But my wife and I found the owners extremely hospitable and the location, location, location to be awesome. Clean, A/C cold (though not needed w/ the ocean breeze). When I go back to Caye Caulker, I'll book @ Popeye's.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd deck, oceanside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Hello- I'm reading the reviews below and I can only think one thing, something dramatic happen in the past month since they were written or someone who hadn't actually stayed there wrote them because I just returned and well... there is no beach bar, it is a boarded up run down spot that was never once open the entire time I was there. The jacuzzi- broken, and had been for awhile it seems, it was empty when we arrived and apparently a part was missing that you can't get in Belize. The swimming dock- well that is run down and broken as well. In fact, it was blocked off and you weren't supposed to out on it. I expressed my dismay to the manager, Gilbert, and said the website clearly is outdated and advertises a much different thing... he agreeed and said i didn't make the site. I was shocked when he agreed and then refused to also do anything in regards to refunding me for the fact that what they advertise is not correct. He went out with a hammer and nails and fixed some of the boards but honestly- I didn't trust the dock since it was previously blocked off and he only put a few more nails in a couple of boards. I met tons of other people that were paying about the same price staying at nicer places, this place was not worth the money, if they offered what the website said they do it would be fine but they don't. Who ever own this clearly has lost interest in maintaining the property which is a ashame because its in a nice location. The rooms were clean and fine but in terms of cost... they need to readjust their pricing because $65 a night is not worth it at all and the fact that the manager agreed the site shows pictures that don't reflect the current state of the hotel or amenities was pretty frustrating.

Room Tip: You can get much better deals and nicer places on Caye Caulker than at Popeyes.... overpriced based...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PopeyesBeach, Manager at Popeyes Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
I sincerely apologize for any misunderstanding.She was advised in advance that certain amenities would not be available during her stay. Bar and dock were closed after the busy Easter season for renovations which are usually best done this time of the year.
She was upgraded to an Oceanfront room with a private balcony,private hammock ,refrigerator and AC which for the price she paid was a bargain.
Clearly , we could not make her happy and we do regret that.
We always do our best to make our guests stay with us enjoyable as you can read from all other reviews which reflect our goal of providing our guests a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us.Our guest's satisfaction is our number one priority.
Sincerely,
Gilbert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Caye Caulker hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.0 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
12.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popeyes Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popeyes Beach Resort

Property: Popeyes Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 19, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popeye's Beach resort Hotel is located in the heart of Caye Caulker, 2 min walk (left) from the water taxi pier. We have three types of accommodation all private bath with hot and cold water: Cabanas, Deluxe rooms and Suites. We are a leading agent for local airline Tropic Air. We also offer, fishing, diving, snorkeling, sailing and mainland tours. Our Staff is friendly and committed to exceeding your expectations during your entire stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Popeyes Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Popeyes Beach Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing