We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tom's Hotel - back to basics.”
Review of Tom's Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tom's Hotel
Ranked #30 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tom's Hotel - back to basics.”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Tom's Hotel great for the budget traveller of the adventurous kind. Situated 5 minutes walk from the main town along the sandy roads (no sealed roads in Caye Caulker just sand), and a stones throw away from the waters edge, but no sandy shore front, and quite alot of sea weed in the water in this side of the island.
The rooms are very basic, we had a room with a double and single bed and a toilet and shower, there was a ceiling fan which we used as it was hot when we were there.
The hallway has a tendency to echo and travel throughout the rooms so take ear plugs.
All in all a basic clean little hotel, and a bit of fun if you are up for a unique experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vic4306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    13
    19
    11
    12
See reviews for
1
13
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This hotel is indeed on the waterfront, but not a swimable waterfront. The cabins do have character but they also dont have much airflow and the fan doesnt do much. It also appeared that the hot water wasnt working in my cabin. If you want an island retreat, this might be it, but if you also appreciate mod cons such as aircon, this hotel isnt for you!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize City, Belize
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I recently went to Caye Caulker to attend a wedding and needed a cheap place to stay overnight. We were recommended Tom's Hotel. For me it was suffice enough. For $65 BZ ($32.50 USD), I got a room, with a double and single bed, with fan. There was a private bathroom, with both hot and cold water. There was a desk, a closet and a plastic chair in the room. No TV, but it was not really an issue.

The only problem was the beds were kind stiff, but this was more of a problem for the person I was sharing a room with. The hotel itself, from the outside, has much to be desired for but the price you pay for a room is reasonable.

Plus, the town was about a 5 minute walk away, with a couple of supermarkets and places to eat nearby, so that was good.

If you are looking for a place to spend an overnight, I recommend Tom's Hotel.

Room Tip: The Room I stayed in was Room A, the last room upstairs. It has the best view, and if the fans are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theRich37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Very basic accommodation, no air con, minimal hot water, holes in the walls, tears in the window screens, lumpy mattress, only one sheet on the bed, no TV, no fridge. In saying that however, the location of the place is great, right on the beach (as are most places in Caye Caulker) and easy walking distance from the main strip. I would recommend hiring bikes from the local shop though – a much faster alternative to get around the island.

The rooms were cleaned every day and new towels given to the occupants however no A/C was a big issue for me as it was extremely hot when we were there. It was also quite noisy at night.

Caye Caulker however is fantastic and a must visit when in Belize!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RichmondCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed here for two nights while backpacking through Central America. The place was clean but there is shared bathrooms and the doors are heavy so you can hear doors opening and closing all the time. The fan did not work in our room so we found it very hard to sleep, the heat was unbearable. We were just balls of sweat in the bed, it was disgusting.
The Wifi only works in one part of the hostel tho.

The good thing about this place is its cheap, it has great views of the ocean and the owners are lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tweetie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Stayed here for two nights and dont intend to come back to the hotel (although the island i may :-))

Good:
- location - close to bars and main strip
- good water pressure in the shower

Bad
-no A/c - too warm to sleep - fan did not work
- inner window into the corridor is permanently open so it is really loud all the time - doors lock on slam so this makes it very annoying since people have to come in and out and do it at all hours of day and night
- dirty bathroom - dirt around tiles and just not pleasant to walk out of the shower
- wifi only in the lobby and no tv/fridge or anything of the sort

I think this may be good for someone that intends to party all night long and is a sound sleeper - for me it surely did not work

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Caye Caulker hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

a small shack, no hot water, a fan that did not work, no tv, only one sheet on the bed, a pillow that was a foam mess, a clogged bathroom sink, no bar fridge, tea, coffee or even cups for water, no soap. to be honest you may as well go camping. only thing is that it is kind of close to the hot spots and that you can sometimes connect to the wifi.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.0 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tom's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom's Hotel

Property: Tom's Hotel
Address: Beachfront, P.O. Box 15, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing