We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad.”
Review of Tom's Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tom's Hotel
Ranked #31 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 July 2008

For what it was, it was fine. I wouldn't use it as a vacation destination hotel, but for my purposes (a mission group on a free day), it was fine. All of the rooms seem to be different, so make sure you know what you are getting. Some require you to share a bathroom, some don't. Some have AC, some don't.

We were told we would have a meeting space, but that ended up being space on the roof - with nowhere to sit, no light, etc.

The island itself is really tiny. I would say it would be better to just stay on San Pedro. More to do. But if you want a cheap hotel away from the hustle and bustle, this may be for you.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikaelab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Tom's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2007

Tom's Hotel is a great place & seems very popular. Great value for the money, the room was very nice (for a budget place), and Caye Caulker itself is very cool -- but there are some definite cons.

Biggest drawback at Tom's is the location -- very far from the Split (over-rated anyways) and pretty far from most restaurants/bars/shops. It's sort of close to Marin's Restaurant & the new Rasta Pasta and Anda Da Wata Tours, but everything else is far... not unbearably far, just uncomfortably far. Bikes are expensive to rent too, so it's something of a hassle. That said, we got used to the distance pretty quickly and after a while you just get over it (until you're walking from the Split again in 90 degree weather). Other drawbacks: no soap provided & the towels were pretty ratty. The hot water doesn't last long and the toilet system can't handle toilet paper (you leave it in the wastebasket). Sand flies were a problem one day and the beach itself is very bad. No soundproofing obviously so you'll definitely hear your neighbors in the hotel and the lighting in the room is VERY dim at night. Lastly, the cleaning ladies come way too early in the morning so be prepared to politely ask them to come back later.

The positives did outweigh the negatives and I don't want to be unnecessarily harsh. We only stayed 3 nights (not sure we would've wanted more though) and had a lot of fun. Caye Caulker is much more relaxed than San Pedro and the quietness is a HUGE plus. The view from the 2nd/3rd floors are excellent and our room facing the sea got a great breeze and was very nicely lit during the day. The room itself was clean and having a double+single bed was nice. There were two plastic chairs in the room as well as a half-closet and a small dresser/bedside stand.

In conclusion, we (traveled with my brother) thought Tom's was pretty nice but a lot of the reasons we enjoyed our stay had to do with the island itself and not Tom's. That is: the snorkeling, food, sunsets, ocean views, etc but none of that is exclusive to Tom's obviously (though we did love seeing several sting rays off Tom's dock). But speaking of the dock, while being "private" it's often over-run with local kids playing and this is sometimes bothersome & loud. It's little things like that (and not providing soap, etc) that add up. But for the money (US$32.50/night) it was worth it and we noticed lots of other budget hotels/inns that are far worse (helps explain Tom's Hotels' popularity).

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dopefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MarioPoznan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirstinecph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: assolutamente non quelle esposte come la mia a tutto il sole del pomeriggio e con minuscola finestra...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiorella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drn-images-de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.0 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Wave Guest House
Blue Wave Guest House
#12 of 32 in Caye Caulker
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tom's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom's Hotel

Address: Beachfront, P.O. Box 15, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing