We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kayaking Escape (Feb 2007)”
Review of Long Caye Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glovers Reef Atoll
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Long Caye Resort
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 14 March 2007

Absolutely one of our best vacations ever. We couldn't have planned a better vacation for ourselves if we tried.

The accommodations were basic but very comfortable, pretty much perfect for island life. The island was nicely laid out but not over developed. Our cabin (Sumo) was very private from the other guests and the view was spectacular. The bed looked very basic but to our surprise it was more comfortable than the Biltmore Hotel. The food was nothing short of spectacular. We had to restrain ourselves from over eating the wonderful concoctions that the two sweet ladies cranked out of the kitchen. Don't worry though, there's enough activities that you can't gain weight on this trip!

The equipment was plentiful and the guides were fantastic. The guides were friendly, enthusiastic and genuine. The guides seemed to be at our beck and call without making us feel like a bother in any way. They truly were interested in ensuring we had a great time, were enthusiastic about all the different activities and were laid back about us hanging out and hammock surfing occassionally too. The guide to guest ratio couldn't be beat and there was always a variety of things going on if you wanted it.

Lastly, the guides were patient and persistent as they taught us new sports in a way that we could actually learn and get the hang of it.. My husband was windsurfing up a storm and I fell in love with kayak surfing.

Our one week on the island began to feel like longer as we started to forget about work and school that we left behind. Our trip was both relaxing and adventurous. If only we could have stayed longer. We will definately go back again!

4  Thank Jenn&Per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2007

The 2nd part of the Slickrock Adventure week was on the private Island in Glover's Reef. It was such an awesome place for our honeymoon. The staff are fun and informative with a great knowledge of marine life and sporting ability. With this came almost private lessons in rolling kayaks, surf kayaking, diving, and many other activities based on the island. Of couse there is always the option to lay in the hammock and read one of the numerous educational, fiction and non fiction books they have to borrow or keep.

After spending a few days climbing and paddling through caves, hiking through the jungle, and touring the ruins, the island was like another paradise to us. The food was impressive and abundant - no need for the snacks we brought with us.

Slickrock obviously knows what they are doing and their guides are first rate. You can't go wrong booking a trip with them. It is worth every cent.

2  Thank MarieGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2007

Slickrock does a great job with this private island experience! We loved our cabana right on the sand with a beautiful ocean view, and very private. The whole experience was lots of fun, including sea kayaking, lots of snorkeling, and learning to surf kayak.

Check out their website at slickrock.com for photos, details, and reviews from all the top adventure magazines. The island is very well laid out with sandy paths between the palm trees, lots of hammocks, and a dinning cabana to enjoy after dinner games and socializing. The activities are a nice mix of orgainized time, and free time.

We did the midweek 4 day trip, but wish we would have the the whole adventure week, with the inland caving and rafting.

1  Thank Lucky0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2007

let's get it out of the way: if you care a lot about your ACTUAL accomodations, this is not the place for you. If you want the absolute best in scenery/environment.... keep reading. Yes, cabanas are rustic. Yes, you will share a composting toilet (a step up from those who went to summer camp- it doesn't smell). Yes, the showers are lukewarm. Yes, I'D GO BACK IN A SECOND.

We did adventure week and it was fabulous. The activities in the maya mountains were great. Our guides were fabulous. Once on the island, you'll be treated to some of the best snorkeling on the planet, steps away from your cabana. Food is plentiful and the company can't be beat, as slickrock attracts fun, likeminded individuals. Kayaks were top-notch, and you never tire of things to do....

enough said, just look at the photos. I have tons more where that comes from. It's that beautiful!

5  Thank keewee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2007

Under-promised / Over-delivered! We knew the week would include fun activities, but we were blown away by the quality of each activity, the care that our guide, Neri, took with us, and the excitement we felt as we experienced each moment.

The staff was first-rate – very professional and extremely safety-conscious and detail-oriented, and a wonderful combination of care, talent, enthusiasm and humor. Neri also has great skill in teaching important facts in an interesting and meaningful way.

Slickrock's food and facilities were also first rate.

The waterfront cabanas, where everyone stays, come complete with hammock, bed and refreshing ocean breeze.

Keep in mind though that bathroom facilities are rustic.

1  Thank LSU/ND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana1976_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glovers Reef Atoll
5.2 mi away
Isla Marisol Resort
Isla Marisol Resort
#1 of 1 in Glovers Reef Atoll
195 reviews
24.1 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
1,056 reviews
24.2 mi away
Thatch Caye, a Muy'Ono Resort
Thatch Caye, a Muy'Ono Resort
#2 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Blue Marlin Beach Resort
Blue Marlin Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in South Water Caye
91 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Long Caye Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Caye Resort

Address: Long Caye Island, Glovers Reef Atoll, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Glovers Reef Atoll
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Glovers Reef Atoll
Price Range: £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Caye Resort, operated by Slickrock Adventures at Glovers Atoll, Belize, specializes in adventure sports such as sea kayaking, windsurfing, scuba diving, surfing, paddleboarding, kayak surfing, snorkeling, kiteboarding. Located on a private island, we feature thatched cabanas, coral reef access, palm shaded sandy beaches, fresh food menu. All inclusive packages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Long Caye Hotel Glovers Reef Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing