We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glovers Reef Basecamp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glovers Reef Atoll
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glovers Reef Basecamp
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

One poster wrote that "you wouldn't want to get voted off this island". I'm laughing because I now know which guide they must have had!

Absolutely A-One scheduling and organization. The only thing better than the snorkelling was the staff who were, WITHOUT EXCEPTION, amazing people; funny, entertaining, knowledgeable, helpful and professional to a fault.

You don't have to be a skilled kayaker or snorkeler to completely enjoy yourself with Island Expeditions and their Glover's Reef camp; they can (and did) make anyone feel competent and able at all aspects of their trip. From the zip-lining in the jungle to the River of Caves tubing (done with a very well selected sub-contractor whose employee/guide was every bit as good) to the trip out to the reef and subsequent base-camping we had an absolute blast. Our fellow guests helped make the trip one to remember forever and even the hotel (Biltmore in Belize City) went out of their way to be helpful and accommodating.

Cudos to Island Expeditions for putting this together, selecting and hiring the right people, and fine-tuning their logistics to what seemed to be split-second timing. Well worth the price of admission; don't be afraid of a "generation gap".

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tootsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    6
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
30
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

We had a wonderful on Glovers Reef. Every picture we took looked like it belonged on a postcard. All of the staff were nice and knowledgeable about the wildlife. The walled tents had comfortable beds, plenty of shelves for storage, and a oil lamp. All of our meals were delicious. My husband had some food requirements and they were all taken care of. If you love seafood, they had fresh fish and shrimp at dinner or lunch. There is a dive resort on the island as well, so we did head down to their over-the-water bar for some Belikin.
There are showers there, but it is fed by the rain water, so no real water pressure and is luke warm. Though after a day in the sun a cool shower feels refreshing.
The entire camp was well put together and thought out.
We are definitely going to return to Glovers Reef.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tazra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantucket
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

In the past few years we have traveled to Maui, up and down the US west coast, Provincetown, and just got back from a month in Dominica and Aruba, but with every experience I end up comparing it back to our idyllic 5 days on Glover's reef. The arrival experience primes you well to fall in love with the place. The boat navigates it's way over big swells on seemingly hostile seas but then slips into the calm waters of the reef. From the dock over the postcard blue waters you hit the beach and the cabin tents. Coming from an island in the north east of the US, my first thought is that this place is so close to the water that when high tide comes we will all be wet. I was assured this wasn't the case so I could set to relaxing. The next 5 days were spent snorkeling the amazing sites, paddling and sailing the kayaks, and exploring the tide pools of the island (check them out at night with a red light to keep the mosquitoes at bay and to make the many octopuses stand out). This obviously isn't the pampered kind of luxury that some of the all inclusive types need, but it makes living on a remote amazing island, seemingly in the middle of the sea comfortable and easy. Our group also was great and given the adventures and beauty gelled into a great group of friends. I'd go back in a second, and all of our trips since have been trying to recapture that feeling we had there. As long as you have an adventurous spirit and an appreciation for beauty, you will love it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twowheeltango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moraga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

We had a wonderful time during our week with Island Expeditions. Our expectations were met or exceeded on all fronts. Expectations that were met: a small, agreeable, and interesting group of expeditioners; a beautiful, natural setting; lots of snorkeling and kayaking; safety; hygiene; pleasant meals and accomodations; and all in the setting of a developing economy.

Other expectations were greatly exceeded. In particular, our Belizian guide, Karm, was very exceptional: warm, sincere, humorous, and deeply knowledgable of the ecology and culture. He organized Garifuna drumming at our request and on the fly, he responded to requests for medical supplies, he assured that we felt comfortable asking for dietary adjustments... and on and on. A mensch, a naturalist, a story-teller...

We loved it. We strongly recommend Island Expeditions.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinTeens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights as part of a paddling trip.
We stayed in the walled tents: mine had two single beds with linen. Two ablution blocks are provided with 4 toilets & 2 showers (feeding rain water so no ability to adjust pressure or temerpature). There are an additional 2 solar-warmed shower bags however these are in the open area so no privacy. No bath towels supplied so BYO - and BYO torch to get around camp at night.
Make sure you wear shoes as there are many conch shells.
At night, we did a lot of star gazing whilst sprawled out on the hammocks & beach chairs.
There is no air conditoning or fans - simply flaps you can roll up (& sacrifice privacy). No internet, mobile phone reception or power points in your rooms - if you must power devices, there are some points in the dining room.
Meals are provided in a great dining room. My only disappointment was they did not always cater to dietary requirements (as provided when booking the trip).

ACTIVITIES:
plenty of ocean paddling, fishing & snorkelling is offered. Scuba divers can jump in with Isla Marisol ([---]) - the resort located at the other end of the island.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussie_shark_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2010

A friend and I recently went to glover's reef basecamp.It was absolutely wonderful.The staff were amazing.We went through a Canadian company island expeditions,it was very well planned the staff were helpful,fun and friends by the end,and they made you feel safe.
This truly is a snorkelers paradise, there is a neighboring diveshop for the divers too(my friend did twice and it was the highlight of her trip)The food was by far better than what I was expecting in the pre-trip package the company sends you, asks you what your food dislikes are.They work hard to please you.
This is not a resort so expect to rough it a little.They have composting toilets and showers in a building near all the tents.The water is not the best..use dishsoap as nothing else will lather.
The kayaks are great for everyone even first timers.They teach you everything you need to know,and you get to sail.
This trip was active and educational.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llatte73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2009

This is an excellent, well-organized, adventure through the rainforests of Belize, including Zip Lining, and cave rafting, and then five wonderful days of snorkling, sea kayaking and sailing, beach, sun, and wonderful new friends of all ages. The food and accommodations are excellent--the highest end of camping! The naturalist guides are extremely knowledgeable, helpful, skillful and wonderful teachers, and their love of and desire to preserve Belize's natural beauty is inspiring. The surroundings are exquisitely beautiful in all locations and access to the reef within the park added such wonderful variety to what we saw--everything--turtles, sting rays, baracudas, sharks, lobsters, crabs, conch, and all the varieties of fish the Caribean is blessed with. The balance maintained of ensuring that all have an excellent adventure safely was much appreciated. The equipment was kept in top notch condition. Wonderful to leave the blackberrys behind and immerse oneself in the wonders of the natural world with great, great guides. Yoga and healthy meals and happy times. All included and that means, all and everything imaginable. Excellent and highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TorontoDrB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glovers Reef Atoll
0.0 mi away
Isla Marisol Resort
Isla Marisol Resort
#1 of 1 in Glovers Reef Atoll
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
0.0 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glovers Reef Basecamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glovers Reef Basecamp

Property: Glovers Reef Basecamp
Address: North East Point, Glovers Reef Atoll, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Glovers Reef Atoll
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glovers Reef Atoll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the amazing underwater world of Glovers Reef from our comfortable safari-style camp on the furthest reaches of the Belize reef system. This low impact facility is designed to be a comfortable base to explore the amazing setting, but to have a minimal impact to this tropical island-treasure. Our amazing guides will teach you the wonders of sea kayaking and snorkeling, while our resident marine biologist will teach you about the surrounding marine ecology. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing