We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glovers Reef Atoll
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 10 December 2009

Came back for a second trip and brought my 6 year old son last April. First time I stayed for 2 weeks with a buddy and this time cut it down to 1 as I was a little unsure about my son getting bored being out on a small island. Not a chance. He's an avid swimmer and snorkels well so everyday was an adventure. Not to mention the crabs, lizards and kitties. The far end of the island has shallows that are 3-4 ft and basically a big pool except with sea life. Started there but were swimming out to the sand bar inside the atoll before no time. Great time fishing and he soon had a daily routine of catching and releasing the Trunk fish around the dock. All the guys at the dive shop are great and make you feel very welcome. Only advice would be to get down to Dangriga the day before because I've been bitten by the airlines getting to BZE on each trip.

Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank Bill-in-Raleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2009

My husband and I are fairly new to scuba diving and were still somehwhat ambivalent, since our comfort level with diving isn't very high yet. We booked a12 dive package with Off the Wall, thinking we wouldn't do all the dives. Well...after about the 5th dive, we couldn't get enough! Everyone there was so supportive and enthusiastic, it made this vacation a joyful adventure! Jim was always there to greet us when we got back from a dive and to find out what we saw. Kendall joined us at the dock at night to shine lights into the water looking for baby squid and lobsters. This led to us spotting a batfish 6 feet off the dock one night and our first night snorkel to check it out. Amazing! A couple of nights later, we did our first night dive and had an adventure with over a 1000 pound loggerhead turtle our divemaster, Ralph discovered.
The food was fantastic, the views were breathtaking, the staff was fun and friendly (we even played volleyball with the staff from Off the Wall and the resort down the beach), the water was heaven. Perfection.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaniPay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

My husband and I were staying at Thatch Caye and happened to be brought out to Off The Wall for lunch during a snorkel trip to Glover's reef. As soon as we set foot on Long Caye, we knew we would have felt very at home here, it was like paradise on earth. Off The Wall is exactly like what I pictured an island paradise to look like. Not only is it beautiful, gorgeous and charming -wait did I say beautiful already?- the owners are two of the sweetest people we encountered in Belize. The accommodations are beachy and simple and that's all you need here. Keep in mind that this is a more rustic style of resort (meaning outdoor shower, etc). But you don't need anything more than what you have here. Everything is eco-friendly and you will totally fall in love with the peace and charm of the island. Long Caye overall is one of the prettiest Cayes we saw while boating through the islands.

Plus there is some of the world's best snorkeling/diving right next to the Caye!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blndie5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

This place is truly magical. It's like stepping off the planet into some fairy tale--absolutely brilliant turquoise water, white white sand, swaying palms, tropical fruit, and swimming with turtles, dolphins and even sea horses! All of this is on a tiny island and you practically have it all to yourself. We dove with no more than 8 people at a time, 5 minutes away. My advanced dive course was with only 2 others and special attention was given to each of us. We had our own individual cabana complete with mosquito net, candle lanterns, a selection of books, a hammock, and of course, a killer view. (There are only 5 cabanas, so each one is special). The meals are a community affair in the thatch roofed, sand floored, dining palapa and prepared by a local Belizean artisan. Yum! Kendra and Jim, the owners, are a lovely couple that happily share their stories of island life and let you relax and do nothing or help guide you through whatever activities strike your fancy, scuba diving being their specialty. My 12 year old daughter caught her first 4ft barracuda with Kendra's help and is now a fully certified diver thanks to Jim. Their place is about an hour by boat from the mainland and about a million miles away from everything else. We didn't miss our TV, electricity, the phone, or asphalt one bit. Even showering out doors under the stars was part of the magic. I'm already trying to figure out when I can fit next year's trip in and am trying to make it longer!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubagirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2009

We dream often about coming back to Off The Wall! We had such an amazing time in this island paradise. Jim & Kendra are incredible hosts! It is the perfect place to unwind: no cars, no phones, no TVs, no electricity, no problem.... Long Caye "Rush hour" is when all of the hermit crabs take to the foot paths around the island. It is absolutely perfect in its rustic simplicity & feels so wonderfully removed from the craziness of the western world. It is utterly romantic at night with all the paths lit by candlelight. Nightlife is enjoying a belikin while eating yummy food family-style by candlelight in the thatched roof, open-air dining room hut, sharing stories of eel & ray sightings from the day's diving. There is nothing better than hearing the waves crash while you're snuggled up in your cabin with your honey reading or playing cards by the light of a hurricane lantern. It is paradise above & below the surface of the water! The only bad thing about our stay at Off The Wall is that we had to come home. Jim, Kendra, Brian, Annette, Junior, & Matthew: you rock!

(Note: There is electricity in the kitchen so there are cold belikins. The boat trip out was a blast although not for those without a sense of adventure & probably not suited for the pregnant or the convalescent. But we loved every minute of it - even the whale shark sighting on the way back to Dangriga! :) Also, this is not a place for those wanting a plush, posh resort with fluffy towels, fancy bathrooms with flush toilets, nightlife, lots of amenities, & a swim-up bar. The adventurous, that love the outdoors, snorkeling/diving, & rustic resorts in off-the-beaten-path destinations will love Off The Wall.)

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freedomfromdeskjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2008

We stayed at Jim and Kendra's "Off the Wall" resort on Long Caye in May 2008 for our honeymoon and had a great time!

After an initial search for different resorts in the area, we finally settled on "Off the Wall". We decided to stay away from "Glover's Atoll Resort" (on Northeast Caye) after reading a few reviews (Jim and Kendra later shared stories about this neighbouring island that seemed to be consistent with the reviews).

The island is a little remote (~ 1 hr somewhat choppy boat ride). But the distance is totally worth it when you arrive at the island. Paradise - sandy beach, coconut trees, and warm, crystal clear turquoise water. All just for us.

The facilities there are basic but very clean, and well kept. The cabins are private and secluded from each other. The cabins include: a bed with mosquito net, windows with shutters (no screens), lots of books, a solar powered lamp, candles, and a porch where we spent a lot of time reading and hanging out. The view out the front porch is phenomenal - you have your own little private beach in front of the ocean. We considered it our own little ocean-front property.

The shared composting toilets are clean. There are three showers supplied by rainwater or well water (it hadn't rained there in a while so it was brackish well water for us). Kendra's also done a lot to personalize the resort with crafty lanterns, and colourful tile mosaics.

You can pretty much do what you want for the week. Each morning you plan out your day with Jim/Kendra (whether you want to dive, if you want to

go snorkeling, kayaking, or fishing). Most of the time we just winged it and sometimes changed our minds.

The dive centre is stocked with well-kept equipment. Their instructors and dive masters are careful and a lot of fun too (we had Lucky and Ralph - both great guys). In fact, all of the staff there is super friendly and very laid back. And the diving there is superb! All dive sites were within a 10 minute boat ride. We saw turtles, nurse sharks, lobsters, octopus, and even flying fish and dolphins on our boat rides.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at regular intervals (they blow a conch horn to notify the guests) and the food is awesome. It's all served family (buffet) style so you can eat as little or as much as you want. Annette was our cook that week and she served a variety of meals and desserts too. They kept us very well fed for the entire trip.

Last but not least, Kendra and Jim are the best! Kendra is super nice and sweet. Jim is a little quirky in a fun way. They make a great pair to hang out with. The resort is essentially their home which they open up to host guests. They are so warm and welcoming and take very good care of you. You will feel much at home when you stay with them.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank grillmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2008

We stayed at the Slickrock Resort next door as part of a tour but took Scuba lessons to include PADI certification from the instructors at Off the Wall Dive Center. They are great instructors and coaches -- knowledgable, competent, supportive, and patient. I thoroughly enjoyed the process. The diving locations are excellent and varied. I highly recommend their dive school. Also, the guests I spoke with who were staying there were very pleased with their lodgings and meals.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimIthacaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glovers Reef Atoll
5.2 mi away
Isla Marisol Resort
Isla Marisol Resort
#1 of 1 in Glovers Reef Atoll
197 reviews
24.1 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
1,071 reviews
24.1 mi away
Thatch Caye, a Muy'Ono Resort
Thatch Caye, a Muy'Ono Resort
#2 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Blue Marlin Beach Resort
Blue Marlin Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in South Water Caye
92 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort

Address: Long Caye, Glovers Reef Atoll, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Glovers Reef Atoll
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Glovers Reef Atoll
Price Range: £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Off The Wall Dive Center and Resort is situated on a private island in the turquoise waters of Glover's Atoll. We are a small Eco-friendly, PADI 5 star Dive Center and Resort and offer Scuba Courses, Whale Shark trips and the best diving, snorkeling and fly-fishing in Belize, as well as kayaking and stand up paddling. Or, just come to relax and enjoy our white, sandy beaches and idealistic setting for getting away from it all. Our packages include Saturday boat transportation to and from our island, 7 nights accommodations in charming, ocean front cabanas, 2 guided snorkel trips, free use of Kayaks and Stand up Paddle boards, Park Fees, 9% Hotel Tax and all your meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Off The Wall Dive Hotel Glovers Reef Atoll
Off The Wall Dive Center And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing