We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to dive and kick back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glovers Reef Atoll
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Green River, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to dive and kick back”
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Jim and Kendra are the best!! We made our flight reservations down to Belize City and Kendra does the rest, hop to Dangriga, motel for before and after our week on the island. You can't find a more hassel free vacation. They open up their home for the guests and treat them like family, or even better, long lost friends. The diving is the best anywhere and the guides are extremly helpful. Can't say enough good things about it. We will go back for more.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandyTucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
98
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Kendra & Jim and their entire staff gave us wonderful service, and made us feel so welcome and part of the family. We brought our kids, and our daughter celebrated her birthday while there. They decorated, made her a cake with trick candles (Thanks Jim!) and Kendra even custom painted her toenails for her birthday. They made her day so special! The rooms are beautiful, rustic but you can't beat the location and the views. The dive master Matthew, Instructor Christine, Captain Jr., and cook Therese were all super, very attentive and always polite and fun. The diving is top notch, the bonus being that all dive sites are no more than 3-4 min away from the dock so we spent more time in the water and not too much time in the boat. A great family vacation!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SantaBarbaraMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas, tx
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2010

Jim & Kendra have created a peaceful getaway to enjoy diving, snorkeling, canoeing, and fishing all at a leisurely pace.

Mornings usually start around 6 am with the lapping of waves and sun awakening you from your cabana only feet from the Caribbean sea. If you are ready to start the day, there is hot coffee and tea available down the path in the kitchen. It is there you will smell the wonderful aroma of Teresa preparing breakfast. If fresh juice is your preference, then there are sweet fresh oranges and grapefruits that you can press yourself. If you are not ready to rise, you can just roll over and let the waves lull you back to sleep.

During breakfast, around 7, everyone gets to decide when they want to dive in the morning. Some chose 8:30 and others 10:30 but no set schedule. All diving is just minutes from the dock. There is also snorkeling from shore.

Lunch is around noon and decisions on when to dive in the afternoon are made then. We generally went at 3 after a nice siesta on our cabana's porch. After our last dive, we enjoyed some adult beverages overlooking the sea.

Dinner at 5 and then some candle light conservation with all our new friends around their grand mosiac table.

All the meals were very good from fish, chicken, seafood, pork, and pasta with a Caribbean and Belizean flavor. There is Belikin beer ($2USD) and bottles of wine available to purchase. Ask for white to be stocked in advance as supplies are
limited. What's great is that you can also bring your own wine and liquor.

We took our Deep Diver Specialty course with Christine who just joined OTW. She was delightful- as a teacher and under water instructor. A Great addition for OTW!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gj3511gg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattsville, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2010

couldn't imagine a more perfect vacation. Private yet so friendly. Relaxing. Peaceful. Most eco-friendly place on the earth. and the diving was phenomenal. Will absolutely go back.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubabeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottonwood, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2010

I recently traveled alone to Off the Wall, Belize for a get-away and dive vacation. As a solo female traveler, I was guided all the way with both plane and mainland accommodations made by Kendra.

The SCUBA diving was top notch with the highlight being a whale shark dive where we encountered 7 whale sharks, 2 bull sharks and several dolphins!

The accommodations are rustic and real. My cabana was right on the Caribbean sea and was constructed of natural materials. Solar and wind power generated the necessary island needs and the refreshing open air shower with air temperature water was always refreshing.

Jim and Kendra have created a resort that operates with minimal impact to Long Caye.

The most impressive quality is the way that Jim and Kendra treat their guests. They go out of their way to think of your needs and wants and have the best hospitality of any place I have ever traveled!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAddis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winnipeg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

I miss all of you!!! Such a beautiful island with wonderful people made "Off the Wall" the highlight of our trip. It is a true paradise. The dive team made diving so easy and relaxing (Hi Tony!). The corals and sponges on the wall are some of the best I've ever seen. Food was fabulous. You couldn't ask for a better place. And of all the spots on Glover's Atoll, this one has very few, if any, bugs. Thanks for a great week Jim and Kendra. Say hi to everyone for us.

For any readers who haven't been on a remote location be warned - a composting toilet is a brighter, slightly less stinky outhouse and hot water showers are not really possible. If you want paradise, you have to give up a few of the amenities but it is worth it. So worth it!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50winnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, mass
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

This place is truly a hidden gem. I almost do not want to post another great review because if too many people find out about this place it wont be as great.
Jim, Kendra (owners) and the whole staff are fantastic. The island is heaven and the snorkeling/scuba dive sites are some of the best in the Caribbean. The food was very good and the private bungalows made it so easy to relax and enjoy the island. Amazingly there are little to no bugs on the island. We spent every night with all the windows wide open to enjoy the breeze and listen to the waves.

The only downside is the bathroom situation. The shared composting toilets are basically "upscaled" outhouses. The shared outdoor showers are a pretty nice setup but the water isnt heated (other than the sun) and depending on how much rain they have received it may be quite brackish. However, Jim and Kendra do everything possible to make their guests as comfortable as possible. For example, when we returned from our night dives they had heated up fresh water for us to bathe with.

While some travelers may not be able to deal with the bathroom situation we definitely believe the small inconvenience is worth the amazing experience. This place is the perfect way to get away from the crowds and just relax. Jim hand Kendra have put together an impressive resort especially considering that the island is 20 miles off the coast of Belize. They now have a new boat that makes the trip to the island much easier/enjoyable. A smaller boat is used for the scuba diving and most of the dive sites are all within 5 minutes.

On the island they also have a little gift shop and even will allow you to use the wireless internet for quick emails (although the internet should be the last thing on your mind). Also they dont overcharge for drinks which was the only thing not included in our package price.

Not sure what else to say. This is a great place to scuba dive while avoiding the crowds. I would compare the diving experience to Bonaire but Jim and Kendra's island is more secluded and beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjtat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glovers Reef Atoll
5.2 mi away
Isla Marisol Resort
Isla Marisol Resort
#1 of 1 in Glovers Reef Atoll
189 reviews
24.1 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
931 reviews
24.1 mi away
Thatch Caye Resort
Thatch Caye Resort
#2 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Blue Marlin Beach Resort
Blue Marlin Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in South Water Caye
83 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort

Property: Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort
Address: Long Caye, Glovers Reef Atoll, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Glovers Reef Atoll
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Glovers Reef Atoll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Off The Wall Dive Center is situated on a private island in the turquoise waters of Glover's Atoll. We are a small Eco-friendly, PADI 5 star Dive Center and Resort and offer Scuba Courses, Whale Shark trips and the best diving, snorkeling and fly-fishing in Belize, as well as kayaking and stand up paddling. Or, just come to relax and enjoy our white, sandy beaches and idealistic setting for getting away from it all. Our packages include Saturday boat transportation to and from our island, 7 nights accommodations in charming, ocean front cabanas, and all your meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Off The Wall Dive Hotel Glovers Reef Atoll
Off The Wall Dive Center And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing