We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect getaway!”
Review of Turneffe Flats

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Turneffe Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Turneffe Flats
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Frankfort, Illinois
1 review
“The perfect getaway!”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This place is fantastic! We did 7 days of diving at beautiful reefs and the Blue Hole and spent a day on the mainland zip lining and cave tubing. The staff was so helpful and personable and the food was absolutely amazing!! It's the perfect getaway, I wouldn't change a single detail. Our vacation was outstanding and we can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    25
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
70
141
39
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Turneffe Flats is just the place if you’re looking for a relaxing and private vacation. Because of its secluded nature you get the opportunity to know the staff and owners quite well. Everyone is so kind and welcoming that even after nine days, I found it hard to say goodbye. I spent the majority of my days diving and loved every second of it! The dive sites were amazing and one boat ride home included an impromptu swim with dolphins! The Blue Hole is also a one of a kind dive that you can’t pass up! I can’t say enough good things about Turneffe Flats, the delicious food, and the people that work there… a must for anyone longing for that perfect vacation!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelbyMatevich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfort, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012 via mobile

Turneffe Flats is fantastic! Our family of 6 had a wonderful time - divers and snorkelers alike. The location is absolutely beautiful, completely secluded, with something for everyone. The divers in our group thought the diving and dive staff were outstanding and the snorkelers were so impressed with the things they saw with their guide (Abel Coe - we call him the Ocean Whisperer!). The food was terrific and every single staff member, even the owners, were so warm and friendly and went out of their way to take care of us. I can't say enough about how great Turneffe Flats is. All in all it was a perfect vacation!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jets60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The staff and guides at Turneffe Flats were outstanding !! Everyone there was friendly and helpful. Food was excellent and the scuba diving sites were awesome, especially The Blue Hole and Half Moon Cay. Rooms were more than adequate for a beachside setting. If privacy is what you are looking for, this is the place!! We all had a great time!!! Highly recommend Turneffe Flats!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mugs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

It's a bit of a haul to get there but sooooo worth it. The fly fishing was awesome and our guide, Dion, was fantastic. Abel, the Atoll guide, is incredible. The food was delicious - don't miss out on the wraps for lunch. Prior to arrival we were concerned about the "closeness" of the dining experience but it turned out to be a lot of fun to socialize with everyone at dinner and hear about what everyone did that day.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My wife dives and I fish. She had a fantastic time seeing everything and more than she thought. She even make a book out of her photos. When guests come over she pulls that book out everytime. She says that everything was very professional and perfect.

Fishing was great fun!!! The first fish with my guide was a Permit!!! My guide, Dion was great. Dion did everything and even more than expected to put me on the fish. I caught just about everything. I caught plenty of Bones, 1 permit (but hooked a few others) and a 75-100 lb Tarpon plus alot of other things.

Staff was amazing and organized. Seemed that they had meetings with guides and dive masters every morning. Everyone was on the same page and they really wanted every guest to have a great time. (maybe, I should have tiped more)

What I thought would be a downside turned into a huge positive. On the last day they want to get you back to the Belize City early in the morning. Well, I was bummed at first but then I decided to fish around the docks. I jumped 3 Tarpon!!!

This was a trip I will remember the rest of my life. If you get the chance you have to go.

WARNING: It's not for you if you want loud music,crowds,shopping and a huge party.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Turneffe Flats is heaven on earth. It's been years since we were there, but have so many fond memories. They have great food and a different adventure every day. Getting there is a little more trouble than I am used to, but is sooo worth it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank De Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turneffe Island
15.7 mi away
Turneffe Island Resort
Turneffe Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Turneffe Island
387 reviews
5.8 mi away
Blackbird Caye Resort
Blackbird Caye Resort
#3 of 3 in Turneffe Island
550 reviews
24.7 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Royal Palm Island Resort
Royal Palm Island Resort
#2 of 2 in St. George's Caye
53 reviews
19.9 mi away
St. George's Caye Resort
St. George's Caye Resort
#1 of 2 in St. George's Caye
293 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turneffe Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turneffe Flats

Property: Turneffe Flats
Address: Turneffe Atoll, Turneffe Island, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Turneffe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Pampered in Paradise! Turneffe Flats has long been recognized as one of Belize's premier saltwater fly fishing, SCUBA diving and marine eco-tourism destinations. Located on the incredibly beautiful Turneffe Atoll, we specialize in superior service for a limited number of guests. Awaken in your air-conditioned beachfront cabana to a tropical Caribbean seascape, expansive bonefish flats, and surf breaking over the reef. We are ideally located to enjoy Turneffe's 250 square miles of world-class fishing flats, coral reefs and rich marine life. At Turneffe Flats we offer guests unparalleled guiding and service, along with the freedom to fish and dive the entire Turneffe Atoll at the best sites. Additionally, our unique Atoll Adventure program is a fantastic option for families and couples. This renowned program offers daily guided snorkeling, wildlife sightseeing, and eco-tours that are both fun and educational for everyone! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Turneffe Flats Hotel Turneffe Islands
Turneffe Flats Islands
Turneffe Flats Hotel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing