We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We're already planning our next years trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Turneffe Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Certificate of Excellence
Whitehouse, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We're already planning our next years trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Absolutely the best dive trip we've ever taken, and I've been diving for 26 years. The staff were extremely accomodating. By the second day they knew all of our names and food and drink preferences. Changes to the meal menu were made willing. Rooms were nice, clean, and cool. And with a wonderful outdoor shower for each room. A tray with our choice of coffe or tea was left on our veranda each morning before breakfast.

I can't say enough about the dive staff. Our Divemaster, Daniel, and our Captain, John, were helpful and knowledgeable. It was full valet service diving. We never had to lift or assemble our gear. The dive briefing were very thorough and the boat rides were usually about 5 minutes. We saw turtles, eels, rays, sharks, and dolphins. Amazing.

The only negative was that there was not a nice sandy beach area to swim, but the pool and bar more than made up for that.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bonniehamilton13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    26
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
67
221
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Just got back from an oustanding week at Turneffe Island Resort. With 20+ years of diving various locations and resorts in the Caribbean, my wife and I have never experienced any resort with better location, hospitality or service. The food was marvelous, and the diving was fantastic. We were pampered by the entire staff--from management, dive staff, kitchen staff, and housekeeping. This was truly a memorable dive vacation. We will definitely return.

Stephen & Colleen Range

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen_Range
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We went to Turneffe for our honeymoon. We went from Wednesday to Wednesday and purchased the diving package. The staff was wonderful and very attentive. Between my husband and I, we have been diving for over 15 years all over the world. Every single dive provided something new. We were never disappointed. The dive captain and dive master were the most attentive we have ever experienced. They pointed out so many things we would have never seen and made certain that we never missed the sharks, dolphins, sting rays, eagle rays, turtles or bleenies. Highly recommend for diving! Great place to bring a group to.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Herrmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

My husband and I just returned from Belize, where we spent a week at the Turneffe Island Resort. We thoroughly enjoyed everything about this resort: the food, cabana, attentive staff, and great dive operators. The outdoor bar by the pool creates a festive daily cocktail hour and we thought that the bartender, Cheryl, mixed the best tropical drinks we've ever had. We would definitely recommend this resort to others and plan to return one day ourselves.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Captiva Island, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

There were several repeat guests and one couple was making their 7th trip. The dive master was very safety conscious. The staff was superb and we will be going back. The chef will adjust the menu if you don't eat meat and will cook vegan or fish or chicken if you ask. Five stars!!!

Room Tip: The beach cabanas are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeaglegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

My wife and I have had this property on our "to do" list for approx. 5 years. For a number of reasons, we ended up and other places, i.e. Saba, Bonaire etc. Well we finally made the decision to go and like all the other reviews, it was worth every penny.

The staff did everything possible to make your stay perfect. Towards the end of the week we felt a little guilty if we got sand in the room; we'd sweep with a towel so the staff wouldn't think we were dragging sand in on purpose.

My wife is already trying to figure out how to hook up an outdoor shower now that she's experiened the one attached to the room.

From a diving perspective, you couldn't ask for anything better. The resort does a very good job with matching up divers skill levels to get the most out of every dive. Since we only had 12 divers our week, every dive was us and the reef. Even the most popular sites we were the only divers there, unlike Cozumel; which as you know can have 10 or so boats all drifting the same time.

On the food side of things, the family style setup did get a bit loud at times; just like eating with 20 family members at home; everyone laughing and yelling acroos the room.
So if you're looking for the ultra quiet dinner off in a corner, this isn't it. But knowiing this in advance makes it all the more fun, you get to use old jokes that your family has heard a dozen times, but still funny in front of a new group.

Could go on and on, just know that this may be a little pricier than your average Mexican/Caribean dive trip, it's worth the extra.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OU1Okc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

This is an overall impressive resort on a picturesque private Caribbean caye! Vanda and Nick Hall, caye managers, as well as their entire staff were gracious and thoughtful, catering to every guest’s needs.

Vanessa and Fireball (as he’s known), greeted us at the airport immediately and transported us to our hotel. Instead of the hotel transporting us to the Princess Marina the following day, we made special arrangements to have Vanessa personally transport us, which she did appropriately.

At the Marina we easily found the Turneffe Island Resort’s (TIR’s) beautiful 49’ yacht, the Miss Bella. We arrived early to eat a delicious grilled whole red snapper at the Calypso for lunch and then board Miss Bella to nap on the bridge, surrounded in clean, comfortable, white leather.

As our yacht departed the Marina we found Captain Eddie to be a delightful man. He explained the Belize Barrier Reef environment, amongst other interesting facts as we made our way to TIR where we were greeted by a very large group of friendly staff members on their beautiful dock.

We were escorted to our luxurious, spacious cabana, saturated in rich Belize mahogany with sky lights, ceiling fan, air conditioning, plenty of windows, screened-in front porch, double sinks, huge closet, indoor shower as well as screened-in outdoor shower and offered “drinkable tap water” due to a highly sophisticated water filtration system (wish we had this at home)!

TIR offered exceptional service and the snorkeling was phenomenal. Our snorkeling guide, Carlos, provided us with a wealth of detailed sea-life information, fresh towels, and fresh orange slices each and every trip. No sign up sheets, no waiting in long lines, no wondering if the sea is too rough to go out and no fish food needed here to attract the exciting underwater inhabitants in this elaborate ecosystem. The colorfully attractive reef surrounding Turneffe Atoll is full of activity, providing us delightful and exciting scenery twice a day within a short 5 – 10 minute boat ride to various unique locations. We’re grateful to have purchased a new underwater/above ground camera to capture reef fish, sport fish, marine mammals, and sea turtles (1,006 photos)!

The full-day Lighthouse Reef Atoll adventure on Tuesday was superb. Captain Brad transported us, along with a few other staff members, snorkelers and divers from TIR to the Blue Hole, Half Moon Caye and Long Caye. On Half Moon Caye, after our snorkel and delicious picnic lunch buffet provided by the talented TIR kitchen staff, Nick and Carlos guided us on a short walking tour to visit the Red-Footed Booby Bird Sanctuary where we climbed a ladder up to a platform to view the birds in their natural habitat. Along the wide trail they pointed out several large iguanas, huge hermit crabs, and other points of interest.

We enjoyed using TIR’s 1-person and 2-person kayaks where we saw many friendly local rays and sea stars beneath the crystal clear waters inside the atoll. Being inexperienced sailors, we asked for assistance in sailing their beautiful Hobie Cat within the atoll. Nick personally arranged to provide us with 2 remarkable excursions.

I obtained a pedicure at the spa and was thrilled with not only the service from Miss Mary but her attention to detail in creating a complex design on my nails. One guest surprised her husband, a fisherman, by booking a massage for him at the spa. He was elated with the professional service he received.

There were a mix of guests while we were there; fishermen, divers, snorkelers, and honeymooners. TIR requires a distinctive guest questionnaire prior to arrival to provide each individual every opportunity to have the perfect TIR caye experience. The kitchen staff served plenty of delicious foods (family style), provided one vegetarian couple with a wonderful array of dishes and delivered pitchers of our favorite beverages (coffee and hot chocolate) to our front door every morning, along with the daily caye weather, tide chart, and lunch menu. They always provided snacks for us and the hors d’oeuvres served before dinner were divine. The bartender, Miss Sheryl, was absolutely bubbly and attentive. Housekeeping added a special touch of hospitality by providing each of us a treasured poem printed on beautiful paper that was sealed in wax and stamped with the intricate TIR logo which was placed on our beds every night.

On our last day at TIR, since our flight was scheduled to depart in late afternoon, we decided at the very last minute, just before boarding the yacht, to book the “Altun Ha Mayan Ruins” tour. Vanda, David, and Eddie quickly made the arrangements and as promised, Daniel (our Altun Ha Mayan Ruins tour guide) met us at the Princess Marina and appropriately transferred our luggage to his non-smoking, air-conditioned vehicle. Daniel, a retire Belize police officer, provided us with an extraordinary educational private tour and transported us directly to the airport afterward.

We highly recommend Turneffe Island Resort no matter what type of experience you’re looking for (i.e. girls trip, fishing adventure, family reunion, retreat, corporate team building, r&r, etc.). This exceptional staff will make certain you’ll get what you want on this unforgettably precious slice of paradise. This was our second visit to TIR in 4 years and we undoubtedly wish to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DallasDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turneffe Island
11.3 mi away
Blackbird Caye Resort
Blackbird Caye Resort
#3 of 3 in Turneffe Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
25.1 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
49.4 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
29.2 mi away
Royal Palm Island Resort
Royal Palm Island Resort
#2 of 2 in St. George's Caye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
33.8 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turneffe Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turneffe Island Resort

Property: Turneffe Island Resort
Address: Turneffe Atoll, Turneffe Island, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Turneffe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turneffe Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turneffe Island Resort is a secluded 14-acre private island located 35 miles off the coast of Belize. We offer 7 night, 4-night, and 3-night Diving, Fishing and Resort packages. Packages include airport transfers, deluxe lodge accommodations, scheduled activities, all meals and hors d’oeuvres served throughout the day. All accommodations are located on white sandy beaches. All rooms include indoor and outdoor showers and spectacular ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turneffe Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turneffe Island Hotel Turneffe Islands
Turneffe Island Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing