We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dive/snorkeling/relaxing vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turneffe Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful dive/snorkeling/relaxing vacation!”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

My wife and I just returned from a week at the resort. I am a diver and she just wanted to relax and read novels (and snorkel a few times). Everything was fantastic and we will definitely return. The island is beautiful, the dive operation was very professional and well-run, the food was delicious, the rooms were very comfortable, the outdoor shower was a nice novelty, and the other guests were interesting and friendly. We really enjoyed being on a secluded island away from the "real" world where there is not much else to do but relax.

We just want to mention a few things that may not have been mentioned in earlier reviews:

- There is very little shade on the beach, so we spent a lot of time reading on our room's screened-in porch, which was covered and had shade for most of the day. We were lucky that our porch had full lounge chairs with cushions. If this is important to you, you may want to ask about the type of chairs your room will have when you make your reservation because only a few rooms had full lounge chairs on their porches - many had shorter chairs. We were in room D (Superior Guest Room) and it seemed that all of these rooms have long chairs.

- The Hobie cat and kayaks are functional, but not in great shape (for example, there were only cushions for two of the kayaks).

- Coordination of events that are planned at the last minute, such as a spa reservation or alligator spotting trip, tend to not be great.

- Internet is available on a computer in the gift shop. The gift shop is open from around 8am-4pm and Internet access costs $1/min.

- Tipping is done through a tipping sheet at the end of your stay so that you can add tips to the final bill, although you are free to give tips directly to staff members if you choose to.


- We never had to use cash once we were on the island.

- There are no keys to the rooms, although there is a safe and the resort will give you keys if you want them. However, we felt very safe on the island and it was great to not have to carry anything around with us.

- The boat back to Belize City got in just after 9AM local time. There is not much to do in Belize City and the airport is not a particularly comfortable place to wait around, so you may be better off getting as early of a flight as you can after 11AM or so. We had originally booked a 3:30 flight, but were able to change to a 12:30 flight when we got to the airport.

- The beach if fairly short and there is not a path to wall completely around the island.

All of these issues are minor. We have visited many dive resorts in the Caribbean. While the diving around TIR is good, but not great, the resort itself is the very best we have stayed at and we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: There really are no "bad" rooms - they all have great views. The biggest difference is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scuba81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    26
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
68
229
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cold Spring, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This is the 3rd. time we have been to this resort. We took our immediate famiily. The staff was great. The food couldn't be better. Our snorkel guide Carlos and the fishing guides were excellent. The only disappointment were the managers. There were only 26 people on the island of which we were 8 of their guests. Never once did the managers asked how we were enjoying our vacation. When asked by the resort for a survey, no one bothered to contact us. We have also been to the Turneffe Flats and Blackbird Caye and if we would return to the Turneffe Islands, we would go to one of those resorts instead of the Turneffe Lodge.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 219mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

My husband and I went to TIR for our honeymoon back in May. It was the best trip that either one of us could have imagined. The rooms are beautiful (we didn't even have a cabana), the staff is incredibly helpful and friendly, and the island is even better in person than in the pictures! We had a great time snorkeling, diving, and meeting all of the other guests! We are pretty new to diving, and the dive masters were awesome about making us feel comfortable...oh yeah, and the diving was out of this world! Carlos, the snorkel guide, seemed to know exactly where the different creatures lived on each snorkel, ensuring that we saw all kinds of wildlife. I've been snorkeling all over the world and it was the best snorkeling that I've ever done. My husband and I will definitely be back - it was the trip of a lifetime!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcxchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenstop
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Just returned from a week at TIR. What an amazing experience. Maya and Allen are doing a fantastic job managing the island. This place runs like a fine tuned machine. From coffee delivered to your door step each morning to the turn down service each night, nothing is overlooked. The food is out of this world and the kitchen staff does an amazing job feeding everyone. George at the bar is a hoot. He always had a magic trick to show us and then would laugh when we couldn't figure it out. Our dive boat crew was great. Brad was our diver and Marcel was our driver and they both are awsome people to spend time with. The dive trips are great the fishing is great. The Friday night BBQ and crab races were a blast! Looking forward to returning to the island.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greenstop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

If you can afford it, if you like socializing and meeting new people and if you like diving, snorkeling or fishing you just gotta go! These guys have thought of everything to make this a relaxing vacation.
As far as diving goes, they take care of all your gear on the boat even cleaning it out at the end and giving you a print out for your log book complete with what you saw on the dive!
The service is like clockwork complete with beverage delivery to your front door in the morning and a print put of the weather forecast, tides and lunch menu. Before bed at night they print out a little poem and put it on your pillow and when you first arrive your bed is made with little flowers spaced out across the sheets!
Every cabana has a deck and place to wash your feet outside as well as an outdoor shower so you're not bothered by sand everywhere inside.
Just a wonderful place and it shows with the number of repeat customers it gets.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DocSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I can't believe that I didn't review this resort when we went back in 2009. We upgraded to one of the cabanas and have to it was nice even though all of the rooms are great. The cabanas were very clean and it was nice to have the outdoor shower(never used the one in the cabana). Each morning they deliver your choice of tea, coffee or hot cocoa to your doorstep without ever waking you up. The resort itself is about an hour boat ride from the mainland which goes by quickly since you are meeting new friends and enjoying the views.
Food: I love to eat and this place has some of the best food around. Everything is served family style and there is plenty to go around. There are few cabanas and rooms so you become familiar with the other people staying on the island very quickly and makes for some nice meals. There are always appetizers at the bar before dinner that are perfect to get you ready for a great meal.
Diving: The diving here is great and the staff is even better. It is very nice to have the valet diving. Everything is always set up for you when you get on the boat. We got to see all kinds of fish and the highlight was diving the Elbow and having about 7 hammerheads swing by to check us out.
Fishing: I did the combination package so I would fish some mornings and dive others. I had KP as my guide and he was the best. He always tried to put us on the fish and even took me out to the elbow on my first day to try and catch a permit even though all of the other guides thought he was crazy because the winds were coming from the wrong direction. I haven't fished at many places but I would say this has to be the best value. You leave after breakfast to fish in the morning and come back for lunch then head back out again for the afternoon till dinner time. KP and the other guides have been there for years and know the area extremely well. Plenty of permit and bonefish to be caught and even some tarpon in the channels. We were there before the migration or tapon really came.
This is one of the best places to go and dive, relax or fish. Since the island is so small there really isn't anything else to do. But they do have a nice pool to relax on or a wide open beach to sit on that they pick up and put out the cushions daily.
The only thing is that alcohol isn't included and it can add up quickly and is quite pricey. Other then that the place is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troutbum75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario, canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Sorry this is late in coming. We went to this resort for a week last March (2011). The diving was very organized and well run. The resort itself was really nice. Rooms werre great with outdoor showers that came in very handy after a dive! We had the second room over from the dive shop and I would highly recommend that as it was super convient between dives to be that close to the room (and the shower!!).
The food at Turneffe was really good - served family style at 5 large tables. it was really nice to be able to sit with others and chat about the days dives and/or fishing trips and other trips that people had been on.
In the evening before dinner many people "bellied up to the bar" by the pool. To share photos of the dives and just chat. many people at this resort are "repeaters"....and have been several other times. We met some really nice people on our trip.
Overall we had a great time. The weather in March was beautiful, the boat ride to the resort was not bad at all, all in all a great trip.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turneffe Island
11.3 mi away
Blackbird Caye Resort
Blackbird Caye Resort
#3 of 3 in Turneffe Island
550 reviews
24.8 mi away
Thatch Caye Resort
Thatch Caye Resort
#2 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
545 reviews
18.7 mi away
Yok Ha Resort
Yok Ha Resort
#1 of 1 in Waterfoot Caye
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chan Chich Lodge
Chan Chich Lodge
#1 of 8 in Orange Walk
220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casitas Tres Cocos
Casitas Tres Cocos
#16 of 31 in San Pedro
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turneffe Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turneffe Island Resort

Property: Turneffe Island Resort
Address: Turneffe Atoll, Turneffe Island, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Turneffe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turneffe Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turneffe Island Resort is a secluded 14-acre private island located 35 miles off the coast of Belize. We offer 7 night, 4-night, and 3-night Diving, Fishing and Resort packages. Packages include airport transfers, deluxe lodge accommodations, scheduled activities, all meals and hors d’oeuvres served throughout the day. All accommodations are located on white sandy beaches. All rooms include indoor and outdoor showers and spectacular ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Turneffe Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turneffe Island Hotel Turneffe Islands
Turneffe Island Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing