We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, Remote, Relaxing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Turneffe Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Certificate of Excellence
philadelphia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Remote, Relaxing!”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

It takes about 1 1/2 hours to get to the resort from the Princess Marina in Belize City. Turneffe Island provides the boat shuttle (and rum punch) to the island. Upon arrival we were greeted by the staff at the dock and shown to our cabanna. The rooms are all tastefully furnished. The beds very comfortable with crisp white sheets. I loved the outdoor showers after a long day of snorkling. Turneffe Island does not have sandy beaches because it is a coral island. The resort has plenty of longe chairs and hammocks for relaxing.

I loved the coffee/tea service delivered to the cabanna every morning. Nothing like waking up and having your coffee on the porch over looking the Caribbean at sunrise. All of the meals were delicious and filling (served family style). We enjoyed the cocktail hour with appetizers at the pool bar. George can sure makea great pina colada!

Our guide while snorkling was Carlos. However, Carlos is also a scuba diver. He wouldn't think twice about diving down 20 feet to take a picture with my camera!!! I must say I have some great under water pictures thanks to him. He also is very conscious that everyone is safe while in the water. Carlos is a gem of a guide and the resort is lucky to have him. Don't miss out on visiting the Blue Hole and snorkling with sharks.

The reosrt also has three resident dogs...Cashew, Gator, and Ginger. All of them friendly and ready for a belly rub anytime.

We had a wonderful stay and wouldn't hesitate to come back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rg2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    26
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
67
223
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This island is amazing from the dark wood rooms with beautiful views, to the landscaping and available activities. The offshore excursions were conveniently located and managed by great guides. The diving, snorkeling, and fishing is world class and is like nothing I have experienced before. This is a must do for a trip to Belize. The best part of Turneffe Island Resort has to be the staff they were very flexible with changing schedules and accommodating. Everyone was extremely nice and knowledgeable as well. The food was great, the bartender Jorge was great company and the managers were always ready to help you out and make sure you were having a great time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kohdiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We just returned a few days ago from this island paradise. The entire week was fabulous- great diving, great snorkeling, beautiful water and scenery, excellent managers (thank you Maya & Alain!), and best of all was being able to relax and unwind, and not have to worry about anything or lug my scuba gear around. We were there to celebrate our first anniversary, and couldn't have picked a better place!

One of my favorite things was meeting all the other guests- everyone was absolutely lovely, and it was fun getting to know them. The communal dining was convivial and entertaining, and the food always extremely generous and delicious. Beware the gargantuan dessert portions!!

The water from the beach is quite shallow for a long distance, and the upside down jellyfish there are very plentiful. If you plan or snorkeling or swimming from shore, be sure to bring neoprene booties to protect yourself from them.

You don't need to bring cash with you if you'd prefer not to, as all purchases and tips can be added to your bill at the end of your stay. Very convenient!

The back portion of the island is inaccessible by foot as it is largely mangroves and there is no path or sand there. There is a good stretch of beach and sand in front of the guest rooms though.

Our room was beautiful, immaculately kept, and comfortable. The outdoor shower was delightful as well as practical (for rinsing mask/snorkel/fins/booties of saltwater and sand). The nightly poem which is placed on the bed is a lovely touch.
The staff were all fantastic, and do a great job of keeping the resort running smoothly and the guests happy.

The diving was excellent, and I managed to see many creatures there: A black tip shark, eagle rays, sea turtles, sting rays, wild dolphins, and many, many gorgeous fish. The gift shop on island even sells fish ID charts so you can identify what you're spotting- very useful!

There were no mosquitoes while we were there, just a few sand flies and a couple of horseflies. We didn't even need to use the bug repellent.

We have many wonderful memories, thank you TIR and all the other guests for making our stay so calming and delightful!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petstylist101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We have just returned from Turneffe Island Resort where we had a wonderful time. My husband went there to go diving and very much enjoyed not only the great diving but personal service offered by Turneffe. Marcel the dive guide was excellent. I enjoyed some of the best snorkeling I have done and many thanks to Carlos the snorkel guide. Maya and Alain who manage the resort are very welcoming and make sure there are lots of personal details for the guests including have coffee tea or hot chocolate delivered to the rooms early in the morning. All the staff were personable and the family style food excellent. We hated to leave.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjbChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

My wife and I just returned from a week at the resort. I am a diver and she just wanted to relax and read novels (and snorkel a few times). Everything was fantastic and we will definitely return. The island is beautiful, the dive operation was very professional and well-run, the food was delicious, the rooms were very comfortable, the outdoor shower was a nice novelty, and the other guests were interesting and friendly. We really enjoyed being on a secluded island away from the "real" world where there is not much else to do but relax.

We just want to mention a few things that may not have been mentioned in earlier reviews:

- There is very little shade on the beach, so we spent a lot of time reading on our room's screened-in porch, which was covered and had shade for most of the day. We were lucky that our porch had full lounge chairs with cushions. If this is important to you, you may want to ask about the type of chairs your room will have when you make your reservation because only a few rooms had full lounge chairs on their porches - many had shorter chairs. We were in room D (Superior Guest Room) and it seemed that all of these rooms have long chairs.

- The Hobie cat and kayaks are functional, but not in great shape (for example, there were only cushions for two of the kayaks).

- Coordination of events that are planned at the last minute, such as a spa reservation or alligator spotting trip, tend to not be great.

- Internet is available on a computer in the gift shop. The gift shop is open from around 8am-4pm and Internet access costs $1/min.

- Tipping is done through a tipping sheet at the end of your stay so that you can add tips to the final bill, although you are free to give tips directly to staff members if you choose to.


- We never had to use cash once we were on the island.

- There are no keys to the rooms, although there is a safe and the resort will give you keys if you want them. However, we felt very safe on the island and it was great to not have to carry anything around with us.

- The boat back to Belize City got in just after 9AM local time. There is not much to do in Belize City and the airport is not a particularly comfortable place to wait around, so you may be better off getting as early of a flight as you can after 11AM or so. We had originally booked a 3:30 flight, but were able to change to a 12:30 flight when we got to the airport.

- The beach if fairly short and there is not a path to wall completely around the island.

All of these issues are minor. We have visited many dive resorts in the Caribbean. While the diving around TIR is good, but not great, the resort itself is the very best we have stayed at and we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: There really are no "bad" rooms - they all have great views. The biggest difference is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scuba81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cold Spring, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This is the 3rd. time we have been to this resort. We took our immediate famiily. The staff was great. The food couldn't be better. Our snorkel guide Carlos and the fishing guides were excellent. The only disappointment were the managers. There were only 26 people on the island of which we were 8 of their guests. Never once did the managers asked how we were enjoying our vacation. When asked by the resort for a survey, no one bothered to contact us. We have also been to the Turneffe Flats and Blackbird Caye and if we would return to the Turneffe Islands, we would go to one of those resorts instead of the Turneffe Lodge.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 219mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

My husband and I went to TIR for our honeymoon back in May. It was the best trip that either one of us could have imagined. The rooms are beautiful (we didn't even have a cabana), the staff is incredibly helpful and friendly, and the island is even better in person than in the pictures! We had a great time snorkeling, diving, and meeting all of the other guests! We are pretty new to diving, and the dive masters were awesome about making us feel comfortable...oh yeah, and the diving was out of this world! Carlos, the snorkel guide, seemed to know exactly where the different creatures lived on each snorkel, ensuring that we saw all kinds of wildlife. I've been snorkeling all over the world and it was the best snorkeling that I've ever done. My husband and I will definitely be back - it was the trip of a lifetime!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcxchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turneffe Island
11.3 mi away
Blackbird Caye Resort
Blackbird Caye Resort
#3 of 3 in Turneffe Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
25.1 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
49.4 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
29.2 mi away
Royal Palm Island Resort
Royal Palm Island Resort
#2 of 2 in St. George's Caye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
33.8 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turneffe Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turneffe Island Resort

Property: Turneffe Island Resort
Address: Turneffe Atoll, Turneffe Island, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Turneffe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turneffe Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turneffe Island Resort is a secluded 14-acre private island located 35 miles off the coast of Belize. We offer 7 night, 4-night, and 3-night Diving, Fishing and Resort packages. Packages include airport transfers, deluxe lodge accommodations, scheduled activities, all meals and hors d’oeuvres served throughout the day. All accommodations are located on white sandy beaches. All rooms include indoor and outdoor showers and spectacular ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Turneffe Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turneffe Island Hotel Turneffe Islands
Turneffe Island Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing