We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ras Tours Belieze”
Review of Altun Ha Ruins

Altun Ha Ruins
Book In Advance
More Info
US$125.00*
and up
Private Altun Ha And Cave Tubing from Belize City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This collection of temples and other buildings is one of the most well-known Mayan ruins in Belize.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ras Tours Belieze”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We just took a cruise (Carnival) that stopped in Belize City. Our travel agent strongly recommended a tour guide (Randy Jones) through Ras Tours Belize. The cruise port at Belize is a few shops, restaurants, and nothing more. We met our tour guide JUST outside the port. He was standing with among a handful of other guides with our name on a sign.

He walked us through the parking lot to his minivan (clean, air conditioned, modern). Our trip through the country was full of polite and informative conversation. There were four people in our party and we were all firing questions at Randy. He was very knowledgeable, and provided in depth answers to everything we needed to know.

Randy was just as informative about the ruins. We climbed two of the structures at the ruins, learning about the excavation, Mayan city life, and local plant and animal life. Our guide timed our "climbs" around the other tours on the site consisting of 50+ people. This, along with our small group, contributed to a very personal and rewarding experience. The price was comparable to the Carnival shore excursion.

After the climb, Randy gave us time to ourselves to look through the few shops and have some food and a beer on the site. When we were ready to go, he took us back to the cruise port. At no time did we feel rushed during this trip, and enough good things cannot be said about the professionalism and experience of our guide.

rastoursbelize@yahoo.com is the direct email if you are interested in taking this tour. The company also does other tours besides Altun Ha.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    220
    45
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stephens City, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Authentic Mayan Ruins”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Spent a day tripping to this remote site from Ambergris Caye by boat and bus. The ruins are still being uncovered and you can even watch the archeologists meticulously unearthing the ruins. With 3 fully uncovered and a few remaining to unearth, the complex very nice to tour. You can even climb to the top of two of the ruins, making for great pictures of the entire site. By boat it is a rough ride back up wind, but worth it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenora, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“First of Nine Mayan Sites Visited”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Altun Ha was our first stop on a self-guided tour of what turned out to be nine Mayan Temples and one cave during a month in Belize. We stopped in at Altun Ha on the way north to Corozal. Spectacular, as were all nine sites, each in their own way. The structures at Altun Ha were very imposing. The site was well maintained and organized (as indicated by the half dozen tour buses from the cruise ships and the long string of souvenir shops), unlike many of the the less frequently visited sites. Road was rough for the rental car but no worse than many other roads we travelled. Altun Ha would be a good day outing for anyone staying in Belize City for a couple of days looking for somewhere to go.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenoradave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to see Belize in a day!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had a great trip with Maud- the river cruise was amazing and we saw lots of animals- my daughter was so excited to get so many pictures of things she had never seen in the wild. It was a beautiful day and perfect weather. Lunch at the Black Orchid was good- but very crowded because the bus and boat groups are exchanging transportation. The ruins were amazing- but the tour was very fast. I'm glad that we had the most time on the river. The guides and boat captains and assistants were wonderful at spotting and pointing out wildlife along the way!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipomo, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mayan Ruins in Belize”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our tour guide's name was Luis. We booked an independant tour through Shore Trips.com. He was very knowledgable about Belize and the surrounding areas and provided us with lots of interesting information about the Altun Ha ruins. The tour was great because there were only 4 of us on this shore excursion. We were on a 16 day cruise with Oceania but wanted to book a tour independantly and it worked out great! Luis was very informative, even telling us about his own family and personal information about his life and livelyhood. We would definltely recommend this tour if you are thinking about touring Belize. :)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Altun Ha Ruins also viewed

Orange Walk, Orange Walk District
 

Been to Altun Ha Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing