We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two tours for one!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Community Baboon Sanctuary

Community Baboon Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
US$48.00*
and up
Howler Monkey Sanctuary from Belize City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Community Baboon Sanctuary is one of the first of its kind in the the world in terms of how it is set up. It is a Non Governmental,community base organization which is manage by the Women's Conservation Group(Local women from the area). The Community Baboon Sanctuary is home to more than 3500 howler monkeys and over 250 species of birds. A wide variety of other animals frequent the area..
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Two tours for one!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had a great visit to the Community Baboon Sanctuary which was led by a very knowledgeable community member. While we trekked along a trail searching for up close howler monkeys, we received a priceless lesson on medicinal plants! Great experience...but do NOT forget the bug repellant and closed toe shoes, hikers or sneakers!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AkademiksTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    36
    9
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place to interact with howler monkeys”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Shane and his family have owned and protected this land for generations, and it is now open for visitors. A private tour is given through the amazing rainforest, and we saw a whole family of howler monkeys, even the mother and baby came down to see us.

It's obvious that Shane cares a bunch about preserving the beauty of Belize and this is a must for those who love the rainforest and monkeys!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JaimiLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth a trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived with no planned accommodation and didn't get the most interested of receptionist. We ended up staying at a local homestay which was really great and not too far from the sanctuary.

We went on a night croc tour which was pretty good, the guide was really nice and informative. Lots of mozzys so bring spray. Saw some big crocs as well.

The next day our receptionist turned out to be the guide who luckily was much more interested and we had a really good time seeing and hearing the howlers on the local trail.

I would recommend to people if you want to see the monkeys up close in the wild. Getting there and back can be a bit tricky if you don't have your own transport though.

Helpful?
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
156 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Great place to see the Black Howler Monkeys”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I visited the Community Baboon Sanctuary. We like to support local organizations that protect wildlife and promote conservation. We arrived early and were probably the first visitors of the day. The man working the museum was friendly, but didn't know too much about the local wildlife. The museum is small, but informative about the community's efforts to protect the Howler Monkey. There was also information about other animals that live in the area. There was a small gift shop. We booked a tour with a local guide for $7/person. We waited a few minutes for the guide to show up. The tour lasted about an hour and went to a small patch of forest down the road from the museum. I was expecting the tour to take place in a larger patch of forest behind the museum. There was a group of monkeys in the small patch of trees near the road. Our guide called to them and they called back. They were fairly active running and jumping around the tree tops. We watched them for a few minutes, then walked on a trail through the woods. We circled back around to the monkeys. One came down to the lower branches and ate a mango out of my husband's hand. It was a cool experience for my husband, but I don't think that this is the best practice for the monkeys. As with any wild animal, it's best not to feed them so they don't become dependent on humans. If I were to do this tour again, I would tell the guide that we are not interested in feeding the monkeys. Overall, this organization is worth supporting. They have done a lot of work to provide habitat for this endangered species of monkey. They offer several tours, check out their website for details. This area is one of the best areas in Belize to see Howler Monkeys close up.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveller2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Feeding Howler monkeys”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our hotel was near the sanctuary so a driver took us and waited for us. Our guide, Robert, walked us through a really pretty area that opened up to a park-like area. Once he spotted howler monkeys, he began calling, "Come" and sure enough several monkeys, including a baby, came down from the tree tops right to us. We were able to feed them bananas and cashews. It was a really fun and unique experience. The cost was only $7.00 and well worth it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandmaPatti2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Community Baboon Sanctuary also viewed

 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
Belize District, Belize
 

Been to Community Baboon Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing