We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't get room 8 - and watch out for overly slippery tile floors”
Review of Bayview Guesthouse

Bayview Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bayview Guesthouse
Ranked #24 of 26 Belize City B&B and Inns
Kelowna
Level Contributor
183 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Don't get room 8 - and watch out for overly slippery tile floors”
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We also chose this place based on the reviews here as well as the Toucan Trail. Didn't help that at the start the owner argued with me about cost - we didn't need the fan offered after all and based on pricing - thought we'd be getting a reduction (that didn't happen - he indicated price we'd been quoted and paid for was lower than it should have been). Secondly - floors so slick that just sweat from my feet was almost enough to make me slip and fall. Then at midnight - pounding music that came from right next door to our room. We thought it was a party going on - turned out next day that it is a nightclub right beside us. Music lasted til 3 - I realize Bayview really can't control that - but a warning would help.

Was pretty clean though - however shower not cleaned well - was still a bar of soap stuck on the floor and bleach smell was very strong - hadn't been rinsed that well. Good cable.

Pleasant back yard. We may or may not stay here again. Owner was helpful in getting us a cab when we were leaving. He chuckled over my husband's bargaining skills - some of the taxi's were over charging and we knew it

Connie in Canada

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reynoir2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    3
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
7
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Belize
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

We needed a bed for the night and chose Bayview for its rates, and safe location. We were left waiting trying to figure out where the reception was and eventually noticed someone hiding behind a metal window grill. Once we had got their attention though, the check-in procedure was swift and efficient.

Our room didn't match the photo on the website, with a twin bed crammed in at the foot of the double bed. Cleanliness wasn't great (food remains smeared on furniture), a few more roaches than I'd usually expect to see, and the furniture was shabby. The TV was at the end of the room, and too far to be able to watch from your bed.

As a light sleeper, the dog barking during the night was a little wearing, as was the broken dripping tap in the bathroom. Add in a coffee-maker (or early-morning coffee on site), and a bedside lamp, and I think it would be a fair price.

All in all, it was a safe bed for the night but next time we'll pay the extra and stay at the Mopan, or D'Nest Inn.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hickatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belize City hotels

uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2010

We stayed here for one night and then got the hell out of Belize city to the Cayes! The good things about this guesthouse are that its in a 'nicer' part of town- i.e. slightly safer than downtown and its in its own locked compound, we also had a bigger room with a little balcony onto the backyard. It cost us $25- for room with fan, which is quite good value for expensive Belize! Negatives include: luke warm service, paper thin walls in our room (which may not be a problem to some, but we had a guy watching porn films late at night before receiving nocturnal visitors at 5am..not conducive to a good nights sleep!). The room was tatty and somewhat unclean- chewing gum and dubious stains on the walls and a threadbare matress which felt like you were sleeping in small crater. Apart from the odd guy next door there were no other guests which created quite a hostile, odd atmosphere around the place. No breakfast was included (and no hotwater) and we were hard pressed to find any food outlets nearby (though good nachos shack on the sea front). We found little reason to stay in Belize city for more than an afternoon- we went to the museum which was sweet but took an hour to cover. We are now enjoying our time on the Cayes and heard of yet another shooting in downtown Belize city- will give it a wide berth!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcs094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2008

I stayed there with my wife for a week in June while organising our wedding in Belize City. Over the years I have stayed in many hotels in Belize City, from budget to the most expensive. I found this place by chance on the net and at US$30 a night for a double room with AC I thought what is the catch. (You can even get a double with a fan for US$20) There wasn't one! The staff are freindly, expecially the manager Kenny. The rooms themselves are clean, (only complaint is that the sheet covers and bathroom mats could need replacing). The AC worked fine and Bathroom was fine.
The hotel is situated on the north side of Belize City in a good and safe area. It is round the corner from Bars and restaurants and down the road from the Princess Hotel & Casino, where we stayed for 4 days around the actual wedding. I will say nothing else of this place for now!!!!
All in all you will not find better value for money in Belize City, especially considering the location. And if you wanted to use a pool you can walk to the ocean front and down a bit to the Pickwick Club and use their pool for a few quid.

  • Liked — Value for Money
  • Disliked — Bath Mats
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank atmontejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belize City hotels
1.0 mi away
Bachelor Inn
Bachelor Inn
#6 of 7 in Belize City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea Breeze Guest House
Sea Breeze Guest House
#10 of 26 in Belize City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bella Sombra Guest House Kings Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bakadeer Inn
Bakadeer Inn
#8 of 26 in Belize City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.8 mi away
Belcove Hotel
Belcove Hotel
#9 of 26 in Belize City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.0 mi away
Easy Inn
Easy Inn
#14 of 26 in Belize City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Guesthouse

Property: Bayview Guesthouse
Address: 58 Baymen Ave., Belize City, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bayview Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Guesthouse Belize/Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing