We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Safe”

Global Village Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belize City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Global Village Hotel
Ranked #5 of 26 Belize City B&B and Inns
Zweibruecken, Germany
Level Contributor
129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Clean and Safe”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This hotel is very large and clean. We appreciated that the rooms had air conditioning, though we did not really find it necessary. The Continental Breakfast of an egg sandwich and orange juice was enough for us to start each day off right. We stayed here as a base point for our ventures in and around Belize City.

As posted by others, it is in fact right along the 'highway', but the traffic noise is minimal and the convenience is excellent. We did not use the Airport Shuttle, but most likely will when we return for our next visit.

The staff are very accommodating and friendly. We appreciate your hospitality and thank you for providing us a safe and clean place to rest our heads.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauramaymuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    29
    19
    0
    4
See reviews for
12
26
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Just a fantastic hotel, ideal for relaxing, doing some shopping in the supermarket opposite, rooms are very clean and comfortable, staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is early which suited me fine, got a nice continental breakfast and a lift to the airport, very good value would go again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Very neat, clean and safe place to stay near the airport in Belize City. Had to make an unplanned stop here overnite and enjoyed our stay very much. Free continental breakfast after a very good nite's rest in a lovely air conditioned room. Quiet and close to shops and Belize Bank branch. Would recommend to anyone looking for an inexpensive and quiet stay. Perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belizedebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Belize
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The night at the hotel is around 50 US, but they have free shuttle from and to the airport. Just get out or in to the airport from the Highway cost 5 US (I traveled by bus to the junction and took a taxi to the airport several times). Taxis to and from Belize city are around 25 US. They include free breakfast: an egg sandwich, coffee and orange juice. The hotel is modest and clean and in front of it there is a grocerie´s store, a chinese restaurant, a laundry, a bakery and a beauty salon, all of it modest and affordable. If you feel more like having dinner, within walking distance (maybe 10 minutes) there is a small and nice restaurant bar. It´s a good option if you are not picky and looking for a clean place to stay. If you are a solo traveler, don´t worry: the hotel is managed by a chinese family, and all of them are very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I thought the hotel was a great hotel. The owners were very friendly and offerred any assistance they were able to give us. At Global Vilage the wi-fi worked great both in our rooms and in the lobby. It is dfinitely bare bones, but the place is clean and nice. The rooms were spotless! Sure the continental breakfast was a fried egg and juice and coffee, but so what? They are not trying to give you a meal.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatlinburg, TN
Level Contributor
321 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I was flying American Airlines out of Belize City, Belize, when the flight was cancelled. There are three decent hotels in Belize City (Biltmore Best Wwsteren, Princes, and the Fort George). I had been staying at the Biltmore BW and had a pleasant stay. However, the airline put me up in the Global Vilage Hotel. The only good thing that I can say about it was that it was close to the airport. The rooms are spartin. There is no clock, no resturaunt, no elevator, no nothing, not even a Gideon Bible which is placed free of charge in hotel rooms around the world. What it did have was a flyer on the table advertising the fact that they sold beer and condoms at the front desk.I think you are getting a picture of what type of place this was. The "breakfast" consisted of one fried egg between two pieces of bread, a glass of juice, and a cup of coffee or tea. If you had been backbacking across the country (sleeping on the ground) or just looking for a place to "spend" an hour or two, this might be the perfect place for you. But for a tourist, businessman, or just anyone who is accoustomed to moderen Westeren aminities, this is not where you want to stay.

Room Tip: Slect one in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Foxtrot-BandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Value and safety are the two most precious commodities in Belize City, and Global Village delivers on both fronts. The owners are courteous and helpful, the rooms are clean and well air conditioned, the wifi is fast enough to stream video on, and the price is extremely reasonable. Most importantly, it's really safe. There's always someone sitting outside the door, and there's a heavy duty gate that closes the hotel off from the street once the sun sets. If you're petrified of the dangerous reputation Belize City has, then you literally don't need to set foot off premises (owners will shuttle you straight to the airport). We were very happy with the stay, and if we're ever back in Belize City, would definitely go to Global Village Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTJ827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belize City
1.2 mi away
Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza
2.0 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
1.3 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
557 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bachelor Inn
Bachelor Inn
#6 of 7 in Belize City
68 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Red Hut Inn
The Red Hut Inn
#6 of 26 in Belize City
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Global Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Village Hotel

Property: Global Village Hotel
Address: 8.5 Miles Northern Highway, Belize City, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Belize City
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Global Village Hotel Belize/Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing