We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice for local food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bird's Isle

Bird's Isle
Ranked #4 of 82 Restaurants in Belize City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Central American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great choice for local food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

It was recommended by our hotel. We had very good fish and pork. The service was nice, and food was very reasonably priced. The restaurant has great views, but don't forget mosquito repellant if you want to seat outside

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4everHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    113
    31
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
181 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent fish and local food! Great view and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was the highlight of our time in Belize City! We had an excellent snapper (the WHOLE fish grilled with a hot sauce coated skin), rice with black beans, coleslaw, fried plantains and we rolled away from the table. The portions were generous and food excellent. If you do nothing else in Belize try this place for a meal. The service was friendly and helpful and it's a bit of the real Belize. The customers were mainly locals and the thached roof and plastic chairs all gave it the local flavor that tourist so often miss in a city.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PBTravelstheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great restaurant by the Sea & Huge Ceviche!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

A little bit of a far drive to get here from outside Belize City but heading south over the Swing Bridge and then straight down Albert street for a mile puts you at the restaurant on the water. Out waiter here was very attentive even though the place was busy and full of locals for lunch on a Friday. The Ceviche comes in a huge portion for $20 BZ and is highly recommended. The food here is cheap and we will come back many more times!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank devilpup88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neptune Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Way better than options at the port”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

The Belize Port area is a well defined, fairly small area of shopping and a few restaurants. We were advised by the ship not to venture out into the city. But when we asked a local bartender where he liked to eat he said Bird's Isle is the best place on the island. I wouldn't advise walking there but our short taxi ride was fine and the well worth it. It is obviously a local place and the food, service, and view were great. A much nicer experience than the touristy places at the port. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ToddN2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stopped here at the suggestion of our tour guide, what great advise, the staff was friendly, the food top 10. Sitting overlooking the ocean and eating a great meal. Can't beat it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bird's Isle also viewed

Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 
Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 
Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to Bird's Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing