We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no charm - comfortable rooms - terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“no charm - comfortable rooms - terrible service”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

don't come here expecting any sort of charm, cachet, atmosphere... there is none. you could be anywhere in the USA.
the hotel is far from the city center.
the rooms are clean, comfortable and relatively large. however they only have one window over the outside corridor. therefore you have the choice between opening the curtain and then everybody passing by can see you or closing the curtain and feeling in a cell. both options not pleasant at all.
food was bad.
but the worst thing here is the service. we were warned that compared to Guatemala we should not expect the same level of service, especially in terms of friendliness. good that we were warned... because service here is careless and unfriendly. especially at the restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPC1PCP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    198
    138
    71
    40
See reviews for
107
164
51
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stayed here one night before the start of a prebooked tour. Many tour groups meet here since it is partway between the International Airport and city center. The rooms are adequate although a bit dated. The toilet in my room had trouble flushing ( I had to hold the lever down) and actually got clogged the next day. The pool is nice with enough loungers available for everyone. There is wifi signal available in your room, pool area and restaurant. You probably would not want to stay more than 1-2 nights here because of the limited meal options and lack of anything within walking distance except for the Brodie's Supermarket which is a 10 minute walk away. The Lebanese restaurant across the street opened in time for a late lunch.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The Belize Biltmore adheres to expected quality standards for the Best Western chain, with a couple of nice surprises. The beds are really comfy, and the breakfast was decent. The pool area and pool are really pretty but we didn't get to use them because it rained during most of our stay. They have a bar, a gift shop, and a tour operator all onsite. Everything was clean and housekeeping did a good job. The drivers they called for us (Jose and Jaime) were both really nice guys.

It's about a 15-20 minute cab ride from the main part of downtown, and about 15-20 minutes from the international airport. I believe it's the closest good hotel to either airport. Lots of tour groups -- high school kids, retirees, adventure sports folks, all manner of groups -- come through here, so the tour companies obviously trust it. If you're there for dinner, the Lebanese place directly across the street (Sahara) is good. The wifi worked fine in our room, which is always nice. Our room did not have a safe.

While it's no destination in and of itself, I would readily recommend the Belize Biltmore Best Western for anyone who's passing through.

Tips: The courtyard and area are very well-lit at night. If you need deep darkness to sleep, bring an eye mask. They don't have an elevator, so bear that in mind if you have heavy bags or mobility issues.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so those with mobility issues may want to request a first-floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st-jean
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights before heading home at the Best Western after 10 days in san perdo. The 2 best nights sleep of all our whole trip. The hotel itself is in need of up dates. We didnot use the pool because of rain. The restaurant , will let's say breakfast was okay but supper was not. Nothing around other than a lab anise restaurant and a super market.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank kperky96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed at the Biltmore as a layover, one night on the way out and one night on the way back. It is clean and relatively comfortable. I wouldn't want to stay there for too long.
There is a pool that was cold, but the kids enjoyed it.
There is a pool side bar, but service was SLLLLOOOOOOW or nonexistent.
The restaurant breakfast buffet was pretty good.
The showers were spotty and the toilets barely flushed. Our bathroom had bugs or mouse poop :(
The front desk ladies barely looked up to help you and were not very friendly.
The location is away from "downtown" Belize City which is good as far as crime goes, but bad as you need to hire a car to drive you to anything.
There is a good Lebanese restaurant right across the street and a shopping market across the street and down a few blocks.
We were headed into town one night and warned that we really should go there as a small family after dark.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d22randy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We had a layover on our way to Ambergris Caye and wanted a location near the airport. This was a great location. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There was a good little restaurant across the street and at the hotel. Otherwise, there is nothing much else there. This hotel is expensive, but if you don't want to travel into the City, you get what you pay for, location, location, location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennyfer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
192 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here for our last night before flying back home. I would not have stayed here before because it's quite far from the city centre and one has to take a taxi to get there. Convenient is that there is a supermarket close by, max 10 min walk.
I thought the hotel was very nice, Western standard. The room was big, very clean, the beds comfortable, the bathroom super. It had a coffee maker, we got water, the A/C worked fine.
We had to ask the staff to stock our room for 3 people instead of 2 though (i.e. towels, coffee, water) but they did.
The pool area is great and there are tables and chairs to sit and have a snack and chill out as well. The outside bar area is also very nice.
I think for Western convenience and cleanliness this is a great hotel. Taxi to the airport is 25$US or 50$B, the same as outbound, which is different than most cities, where the inbound is cheaper.
We befriended a taxi driver while we were in Belize, who did other trips with us as well. His name is Gerald and his phone nr. is 667-9182. You can ask reception to call him. They always make local calls for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelcrazy013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria R, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Belize!

It is our pleasure to know that we have meet your expectations. We do our best daily to offer quality service in each department for the satisfaction and enjoyment of our guests. The management and staff are very pleased that they meet all your expectations.

We take this opportunity to thank you for your sincere comments and feedbacks. They are all taken into consideration and used to evaluate our service so that we can continue to offer the best service and quality to our guests. Our doors are always open and we cordially invite you to visit us once more. Once again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belize City
3.2 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
2.5 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
12.0 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bachelor Inn
Bachelor Inn
#6 of 7 in Belize City
68 reviews
3.2 mi away
Chateau Caribbean
Chateau Caribbean
#3 of 7 in Belize City
129 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza

Property: Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza
Address: Mile 3, Northern Highway, Belize City, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belize Biltmore Plaza, situated literally minutes from the Caribbean Sea, the choices for incredible adventures are many. A day of fishing, snorkeling or scuba diving is just a short boat ride away; after which, your "home away from home" awaits you. A beautifully appointed room, a wonderful dinner, a stop in our bar for a relaxing nightcap and "swapping stories of the day’s adventures with others" is a wonderful way to end your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Belize City
Belize City Best Western
Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing