We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor service poor location poor food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“poor service poor location poor food”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Traveling with OAT.and staying 2nights at this hotel. The safe at the desk were not available and to small to even fit a passport if available, the service at the restaurant was slow and limited, pool towels were all dirty and not available when we wanted to swim, the location is poor with no close restaurant or place to buy water, coffee pot with ground coffee but no filter. Rooms however were clean and the beds comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somanyfoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    200
    146
    72
    41
See reviews for
113
165
53
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in February at the start of 9 nights in Belize. We also had a reservation for the last night, but I cancelled it and moved to the Radisson and was happy I did so. The room was not well-maintained, and felt a little dirty. We were on the main floor, and beside the pool; the room did not feel very secure. We ate at the restaurant -- food was just okay, and service very slow. The pool is acceptable, but not fancy. The location is out of the way and removed from easy shopping. This is not the best hotel in Belize City.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calgaryfamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belize City hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Fe, NM
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I was forced to stay here because my flight was delayed and it was late at night with little available but the rooms are what you would find in a $60/night motel in the states for $160 here with no breakfast in a crappy location on the main highway. Don't go here

Room Tip: don't go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelterform
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had planned to just pass through Belize City due to the bad rap it gets in most reviews. Ended up staying here for several days. Found this hotel to be a great location, both for visiting the city and also for taking day trips out to the cayes and other adventures. Our 9 year old loved the pool here and we felt very safe onsite so that she could go to and from the pool or the lobby on her own. We enjoyed a nice breakfast in the restaurant each day and they have a great happy hour in the bar- the main bartender there is very friendly. The front desk is a little hit and miss, depending on who is working, but most were friendly and I know the manager really cares about the guests. We had fun exploring the city (we had a car) and really enjoyed the vibrant culture. It really comes alive at night. I can see how it might be intimidating to some, especially if you read the reviews, but we had no trouble here at all and found most people to be very friendly. Despite many warnings not to go out after dark, we never had problems in the early evening and never heard any actual stories of anyone who did- just lots of warnings. Agreed it's a little spendy for what you get, but we would most likely stay here again when we visit Belize City.

Room Tip: Nice and quiet in the rooms furthest from the front desk, on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salida, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed here for one night - just a stop off point before leaving to travel and stay in other places. Our flight arrived late so we didn't want to take off for San Ignacio in the dark. The location is near the airport which makes it convenient. Overall, the rooms were okay. I would stay there again if needed. There was alot of remodeling, etc going on around the property. Would not recommend walking around at night outside the hotel.

Room Tip: You take what they give you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraciD50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

By Belize standards this is as good as it gets in Belize City. It probably doesn't even rise to a Motel 6 level. The rooms are tiny but provide two beds. The bar is located in the central plaza. All rooms open to this area.. We had no trouble with noise.
Do not anticipate any walking to view the neighborhood. Even the locals recommend not going out after four in the afternoon.
Very pleasant serving staff in the restaurant. Breakfast is served buffet style with MANY options!

Room Tip: Try for second floor AWAY from sewer smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bnjmartin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed here for a night as I was leaving Belize. For the price, I was expecting a little better. The bathroom was a little dirty including a giant hairball on the floor. Location is pretty bad - nothing nearby. You should only stay here if you're using it to go to and from the airport. Actually, you should only stay in Belize City if you've got an early or late flight. I booked the hotel on hotels.com but the hotel had no record of my booking when I got there because it was sunday and the person who checks the email was off that day. The restaurant is expensive for Belize but was priced much cheaper than most American hotels. Service there was pretty slow and food mediocre. Wifi was not available in the room as promised. Calling a taxi is slightly cheaper than getting a van from the hotel but the quality won't be as good and won't have as much room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belize City
3.2 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
2.5 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
12.0 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bachelor Inn
Bachelor Inn
#6 of 7 in Belize City
67 reviews
20.5 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
272 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza

Property: Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza
Address: Mile 3, Northern Highway, Belize City, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belize Biltmore Plaza, situated literally minutes from the Caribbean Sea, the choices for incredible adventures are many. A day of fishing, snorkeling or scuba diving is just a short boat ride away; after which, your "home away from home" awaits you. A beautifully appointed room, a wonderful dinner, a stop in our bar for a relaxing nightcap and "swapping stories of the day’s adventures with others" is a wonderful way to end your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Belize City
Belize City Best Western
Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing