We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for a stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel for a stopover”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were in Belize for an unfortunate reason last week. My mother in law passed away. So after the funeral, instead of staying with relatives for the rest of days, we checked into this hotel. It is not the most luxurious but it is certainly clean and the beds are comfortable. The pool view was nice from the balcony, and we had a slight ocean view off to the right. Everyone was so pleasant and helpful. The gift shop employees were nice and pleasant and always had a smile on their face. The maid service was fast and efficient. The bellman were smiling and helpful. I would recommend this hotel as a stop over on your way to the keys. :)

Room Tip: Pool side is good. Ocean view is probably better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdiva216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PamelaG_Belize, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay here at the Radisson For George Hotel. We are extremely happy to know that we met your expectations during your stay. We look forward to hosting you again, when we hope to wow you with our service, property and employees.

Have a wonderful day,

Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    414
    193
    57
    40
See reviews for
180
298
63
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We spend our a 18 year anniversary at this hotel the staff was the best arrival they gave us a card wishing you a Happy Anniversary later that evening housekeeping came up with a complimentary bottle of champagne the staff is the best warm and friendly the area around the hotel is very safe and we could walk to the water taxi to visit the other islands if you are planning to stay in Belize City this is the hotel I would recommend we didn't visit the other hotels while I was there Ramada with its casino didn't seem safe they have a metal detector at the entrance once again I would recommend the Radisson it also has a great history and historical data and artifacts in the hotel

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PamelaG_Belize, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi Gary,

Thank you for your kind words about your stay here with us. I look forward to sharing your review with our employees so that they know the marvelous impact they had on you.

Looking forward to hosting you should your travels bring you back to Belize!

All the best!

Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

we wanted to stay in the city and visit the cayes along with all the great thing Belize has to offer. The Radisson was a great choice hotel staff was very nice and responsive. They gave us a card for our anniversary when we checked in and room service gave us a bottle of Champagne nice thought. They are located walking distance from the water taxi so we could get to the Cayes with easy. they have many restaurants and once close by that you can go to and the hotel has planed activities if you want them. the hotel has great history and you can feel the Belize life style with modern comfort we like. we had a sleep number bed lol. we plan on going and staying again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PamelaG_Belize, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi Gary,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are thrilled to know that we were able to make your anniversary in Belize and at the Radisson Fort George a wonderful one!

We look forward to your return.

Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Travelling to Belize City for business, the Radisson Fort George had everything we were looking for. The rooms were large, well-air conditioned with a fan and porch, easy pool and gym access, a good breakfast buffet, and a fine bar/restaurant. The staff were pleasant, easy-going and helpful. The gym has everything you need for a good workout, and the beachfront has a great jogging path. This is a potentially dangerous city, but the Radisson is in a good part of town with acceptable security.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PamelaG_Belize, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Good evening Colwit,

Thank you for your review and recent stay at the Radisson Fort George. It's always wonderful to know that we made our guests feel welcomed while at our property. We look forward to hosting you on your next Belize stay!

Have a wonderful evening,

Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Radisson Fort George may be part of a chain, but it has been styled with character and the staff members are some of the friendliest and most helpful that I have encountered during many years of travel.
Points to consider:
Price – having compared with the Great House Inn across the street (where friends were staying) I believe the Radisson offers good value for money.
Location – this is good, right at the seafront with cooling breezes. Don’t disregard warnings against wandering around the city at night. Even by day (as is the case with most cities) some level of caution is advisable….having said that, we walked the five minutes it takes to reach the Belize Museum and the Radisson doormen advised us of the best route to take. The museum is highly recommended, as it gives an excellent historical overview of the country and we found it provides useful context for places that we were to visit. At USD 5.00 it is well worth a visit.
Rooms – we stayed in the Colonial Wing, which together with the Tower Rooms, forms the main building. There is also the Villa Wing across the narrow street behind the hotel, next to the Great House Inn. The rooms that we occupied were of reasonable size, with efficient a/c, a safe, and bottled water supplied daily.
Restaurants – I am vegetarian and found a reasonable choice of items, plus staff members are very willing to make suggestions and help to accommodate dietary needs. Le Petit Bakery across in the Villa Wing, serves a wide array of sweet and savoury items that are baked on site. We found this to be excellent, and very popular with both locals and visitors. St Georges restaurant in the main building serves a great choice for breakfast and is also open for dinner. The Stonehouse Grill by the pool serves lunch and stone grilled food for dinner. Baymens Tavern in the main building is also a good dinner choice, with the option of indoor or outdoor dining – the deck area is very pleasant.
Fitness Centre – this is in the Villa Wing and provided a good variety of equipment in a well run environment. We did not try the Spa.
Business Centre – Catherine and her colleagues did an excellent job of arranging tours and giving advice. I can highly recommend the tour to the Lamanai ruins, including a fascinating look at wildlife during the two hour boat journey along the New River - a particular highlight.
Car hire – we used Alamo, which has an office one mile from the Radisson (a short taxi ride and we were given a complimentary ride back to the hotel upon drop off).
Taxis – can be found outside the hotel and drivers are amenable to negotiating trips.
Other places we visited within easy reach of the hotel include The Zoo, Community Baboon Sanctuary, Crooked Tree Wildlife Sanctuary – all of which are recommended.
Taxis from the international airport take 20 minutes and have a fixed cost of USD 25/BZD 50.
Thank you to the efficient reception staff and housekeeping, for making our rooms available a little early and providing great service daily. Also thanks to managers Pamela and Gesenia, Porters Kendale and Robert, Mini Van driver Chris, Janitor Jason, Shop Manager Tamala and Restaurant Staff Denye, Ashanti, Shakira, Shanda Rodney and Lincoln. Yes, worth mentioning individually as they personified friendly service!

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms in the tower and colonial wing afford a better sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EurovisionUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PamelaG_Belize, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Good morning and thank you for your kind and very detailed review of our hotel. We are very pleased to know that our employees made you feel truly welcomed during your stay and that our services exceeded your expectations.

Please know that I will share your review with all those whom you mentioned as well as with our management team.

Thanks for staying with the Radisson Fort George.

Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Recently stayed for four nights and enjoyed the ambiance. The staff are genuinely friendly and helpful. We were on a first name basis very quickly. The bar and pool situated with a waterfront view could not be better. Its small and personal but big enough to host a team meeting or staff retreat. I would choose Fort George again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julianna30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PamelaG_Belize, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hello Juliana,

There is no better compliment that you could have paid us, we are deeply appreciative of your kind words.

thank you.

Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glovers Reef Atoll, Belize
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I have been here many times on business trips, and every time I am greeted with friendly faces, top notch service, and all the amenities one could wish for on a business trip. Lunch at the Stone Grill is awesome too, I just finished a Mexican Salad with grilled pork and pineapple salsa, and a frozen margarita, all by the pool, tropical flowering plants all around me, a fresh ocean breeze and a gorgeous view of the sea. The staff remember me every time I visit, and my room awaits every time with robe, slippers and a fresh tropical fruit plate. The gym is great too. If you need to stay in Belize city, it's an oasis. I look forward to it, everytime.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank offthewallbelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PamelaG_Belize, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Wonderful to know that we made your Belize City stay special and that we were able to meet your expectations.

Thank you for making the Radisson Fort George your Belize City home.

All the best,

Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belize City
3.2 mi away
Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza
0.9 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
15.2 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bachelor Inn
Bachelor Inn
#6 of 7 in Belize City
67 reviews
20.1 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
272 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina

Property: Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
Address: 2 Marine Parade | PO Box 321, Belize City, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Fort George Hotel & Marina is old world charm meets modern style. Located on the shores of the Caribbean Sea, in Belize City's historic Fort George area, it caters to both business and leisure travelers and serves as an ideal stepping stone to the best of Belize. 102 stylishly appointed rooms including Business Class rooms, with sleep number beds, Jr Suites and Standard rooms. The Radisson Fort George offers the convenience of a full service restaurant serving daily breakfast buffet as well as nightly specials; 2 bars and the popular Le Petit Cafe. Our hotel features two swimming pools, complimentary 24 hour gym, and full-service marina. All complimented by a spectacular view of the Caribbean Sea. The spacious rooms at The Radisson Fort George Hotel & Marina offers guests such comforts as cable TV with over 130 channels of free cable, direct dial phones, coffee makers, in-room safes,ironing boards and refrigerators in our Club Tower and Business Class Jr.Suites. Many of the hotel rooms feature a view of Belize City Harbor as well as access to handcrafted furniture made by Belizean craftsmen. Some rooms also feature sleep number beds. Services: When it's time to relax, guest at The Radisson Fort George Hotel & Marina in Belize can enjoy two swimming pools,well equipped fitness center and a full service marina. The hotel's Concierge desk can arrange adventure tours. Restaurants/Cafe: Le Petit: Satisfy every craving at one of Belize's most popular cafes where you can enjoy freshly baked delights, natural fruit juices, hot beverages including both Belizean and international coffee and espresso options for that quick "pick me up". Healthy freshly made salads, sandwiches and other light menu items are also offered at the Le Petit Cafe. Enjoy the fresh air by dining on our open - air patio or be cool and relax in our air-conditioned cafe' while enjoying exquisite service, pastries and locally baked snacks from the Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marinas' bakery. Open from 6:00 am - 8:00 pm. Stonegrill Restaurant:The Stonegrill is carving out a whole new experience in dining. Treat yourself to a memorable experience with our inimitable technique of preparing your lean and delectable steak and healthy side options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belize City Radisson
Radisson Belize City
Radisson Fort George Hotel And Marina Belize/Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing