We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Great House is a great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Great House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Great House
Ranked #2 of 26 Belize City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The Great House is a great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The room was spacious and modern. The location, a block away from the ocean provided pleasant breezes and the maleacon was a delightful area to walk. The staff was helpful and did everything and anything they could to make our stay pleasant. I would definitely stay there again, if in the area. It us also close enough to walk to the water taxii to go to the nearby islands.

Room Tip: I think the view might have been nicer one flight up, but we could easily go outside to sit on the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    116
    45
    9
    6
See reviews for
48
119
25
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I booked this hotel for 2 nights for my college daughter and 2 friends. They were headed out on a summer program for 6 weeks backpacking and wanted to arrive 2 nights early to enjoy the area. They had flight issues and were unable to make the ferry to go to Caulker Caye to their hostel and needed a place to stay last minute. It was very nice, clean, safe and a close taxi ride to the airport and walking distance to the ferry so they could spend a day on Caulker Caye, a taxi ride to downtown Belize also. They give you a coupon for breakfast for $7 to exchange at the bakery for breakfast, which is fine if you can have baked good. The poached egg sandwich was very good. If you can't have baked goods, then you'll need to find something else. Belize was a bit of a shock for the 2 girls but they felt completely safe at the Great House. It is definitely worth staying at if you plan to take excursions by taxi, a rental or group tours from their. Great place to sit and have drink in the evening too. Don't forget your bug spray.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SantaMarialocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We loved our stay at The Great House. We did not eat at the restaurant. The home was old and beautiful and we loved it. The rooms we had were extremely large with really nice bathrooms. I appreciate staying in original, special places...not a chain hotel. I would definitely stay there again if in Belize City.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank l85walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

The service in the hotel and restaurants were terrible. The food was average at best and the front office and tour cancellation policy outrageous. After miscommunication with the staff,Michelle, about a Lamani tour, the hotel insisted on charging us $145 per person -total $450 - for a tour our family did not take. Most importantly, their cancellation policy was NEVER explained nor communicated to us. Michelle was inflexible in discussing the situation and insisted it was our fault.

We are planning our next trip to Belize and will be staying at the Royal Palm hotel!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Vivian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Arrived at 3pm at the dock from a week on live-aboard dive boat - really wanted to stay somewhere other than the boat that last night so needed one night's stay before heading to San Pedro for 5 days. Very pleasant front staff. The architecture is colonial-plantation style. The building is vast and spacious with large wrap-around porches on each floor (see pictures posted by others). I stayed in a 3rd floor King room on the back corner - very private, big mango tree right outside, ice cold A/C, large pretty room with all painted wood, large spotlessly clean updated bathroom. Blown away by negative comments here about noisy air conditioners - I was so grateful for A/C and have never known of a quiet one (except integrated systems). This was a well-run establishment - amazing to find something so nice in Belize City - truly the highlight of my 12 hours in the town as this place is nothing but a stop over to all the other wonderful locations Belize offers. Truly a gem and a life-saver, very close to the dock, the water taxis (to other destinations), I found all hotels/resorts in Belize to be pretty expensive - it is what it is - I was a single traveler, felt very safe here, was clean, cool, comfortable and was rested for my next week of adventure! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: The quietest most private rooms are on the back of the building around the sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sumthinsilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelly020, Front Office Manager at The Great House, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at The Great House Inn. We truly appreciate your kind review. This review ensures management and staff our continued efforts are being recognized. We are doing our best to maintain the old Colonial architecture and feel of the home that all our guests can have the same experience you had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed there with my husband only for a night but we were very happy with the service and advice provided by the staff. Michelle, Nelanie and Tamika were always smiling and more than happy to help. We stayed in room 16 (2nd floor all the way in the back and it was very spacious and extremely comfortable) which had AC, fan and a mini fridge - all you need for hot and humid Belize City weather!! They don't have a dinning room, so they give you a breakfast voucher for the bakery next door, which is more than enough and the goodies at the bakery are delicious!!! There's a restaurant (The Smoky Mermaid) on premises and dinner there is good and affordable. Granted that the area is a bit rough but as someone else said, that goes for all of the City. However, there's a cab service next door and you are (safe) walking distance from the water taxis to the islands, and about 30 minutes from the airport. Finally, what I liked the best about the hotel is that you could sit at the front porch and chat, relax and have some Belikin beers after a rough day cave tubing or climbing the Mayan ruins! I definitely recommend this hotel because it is clean, affordable and the staff is quite helpful!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for something else than the regular business- or holiday hotel then search no further! An ancient wooden structure with character. Downside: because of the wood it's quite noisy. Breakfast is simple. Beware of the neighborhood at night! But that gies for all of Belize city.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulus1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelly020, Front Office Manager at The Great House, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for staying at The Great House Inn and writing a review. The colonial architecture of the home sets us apart from a regular hotel. The neighborhood is quite in the evenings therefore we ask our guests to be careful when going out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belize City
0.0 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel
1.0 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa Boscardi
Villa Boscardi
#1 of 26 in Belize City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
8.3 mi away
St. George's Caye Resort
St. George's Caye Resort
#1 of 2 in St. George's Caye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great House

Property: The Great House
Address: 13 Cork Street | PO Box 85, Belize City, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belize is fast becoming the English speaking Central America destination of choice for those seeking adventure, a host of natural wonders, and beautiful people. We invite you to experience the awesome wonders of our world-renowned barrier reef system, to bask in the warmth of our numerous offshore and costal destinations, to be humbled by our magnificent archaeological sites, to be awed in the depths of our cave systems, to be totally swayed by the unique qualities of our natural and protected areas, and to be mesmerized at the biological diversity you will encounter in your daily adventures. More importantly, we invite you to be consumed by the passion, gentle embrace and authenticity of our diverse culture and people. As you travel the length and breadth of our home, we will greet each of you as friends but will let you leave as family. My staff and I invite you to choose The Great House Inn as your headquarter for your Belize Adventure. Old world charm with all the amenities for the Business and Leisure Traveler. It would be our pleasure to welcome you to this wonderful Colonial Home, which we have meticulously appointed with all the amenities for your comfort and convenience. The look and feel of yesterday with today's modern conveniences make The Great House Belize's most desirable "outpost" away from home. Our colonial heritage and ambience are faithfully preserved in all of our sixteen guestrooms. Each is individually color coordinated with a host of tasteful and comfortable appointments. All of the spacious rooms feature: Wi-Fi, Air conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Private Bath, Hair Dryer, Mini Refrigerator, Coffee maker, Direct Dial Telephone, Desk, Remote Control Cable TV, Alarm clock, Iron Board and In-Room Safety Deposit Box. Daily Complimentary: Wi-Fi, Light Continental Breakfast, Coffee, Tea, Bottle Water, Bananas and Cookies From polished pine floor to fresh fruit on arrival, our guestrooms and staff let you know you made the right choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Great House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great House Hotel Belize City
The Great House Belize/Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing