We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel is on nice beach front property, however it is in need of a lot of updating and technology. The hotel staff tries there best to help along with there security. The food is good, but needs better quality with a wide range of international foods as this hotel mainly has international guests from USA, Canada, Europe, Asia, and South America. The hotel room amenities are bad and need to be much better. This hotel needs to be totally redone in a classy way and become a part of the IHG Group Intercontinental Hotels as Belize has no FIVE STAR classy hotels.

Room Tip: Insist to hotel that they need to update in a big way!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessManager, Director of Sales at Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for your review of the Princess Hotel. We are in the continuous process of upgrading all our accommodations and public areas and also providing additional customer service training for our staff. We will continue to strive to improve in every way possible and we are sure that for your next stay with us, you will see many more changes and additions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

My family and I just returned back from the independence cele in BZE,we stayed at the Princess hotel for 12nights .Great Improvement has been made since our last stay.The hotel has a new GM (EROL) who is striving for improvements,very social able and eager to please.The strength of this hotel is its employees who are always helpful and willing to help. the front desk attendant (YVETTE) is warm and welcoming.The dinning room supervisor(CHRISTOPHER) and the cook (BRENDA) goes above and beyond to make your stay and meals enjoyable.The Princess offers a family oriented stay with plenty to do for the entire family,can't wait for the 2014 celebration to return to this hotel .

Room Tip: All rooms are water front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dior W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Not sure what people write bad reviews about , but my stay was great. The lobby does indeed have a little bit of an odd smell but the hotel is on the ocean so maybe that is it. The staff was great , the omlett lady at breakfast was great (which is included in your stay) , when we needed something the housekeeping was right upstairs . The only negatives I have to say is people can smoke in the lobby ;/ YUCK and WI FI was bad upstairs in the room so we spent alot of time downstairs.

Room Tip: THe 6th floor is all I can attest for seeing as how thats where we stayed and it was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Singersm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I have stayed at the Princess in the past and found it disappointing. I decided to try it again, stayed there with family members and we had a great stay. They removed the carpet in the rooms and retiled everything, replaced the old bed and furniture. The staff in the lobby are very efficient and the GM is quite friendly. The menu in the restaurant is new and we enjoyed buffet style on the week-end. The gym and pool is clean and they have a bowling alley. There is a casino with complimentary local drinks and friendly staff.
Overall we had a great time and will stay there again.
J-P

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Jean-Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

It was a family vacation and we booked a room for 4 people. The hotel is big so, I thought it was going to be a good place to stay. The first thing we noticed was the smell of cigarets at the entrance of the hotel (because of the casino). We didn't receive help of the staff when taking our luggage. The room was ok except for the horrible odor and the two cockroaches we found on it. If you are going to Belize, do yourself a favor and don't stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The positive was the restaurant staff, they were excellent. The hotel was dark, poorly taken care of and smelly. I traveled with a group of 40 people from Washington,DC. We had to get our room keys re-keyed each day for 4 days. My room had a TV remote that had to be re-keyed 4 times, 3 in one day. The air condition was turned off during the day so we had to request it be turned on for times we got back from touring earlier than 3pm. They had 5 different wi-fi sites and only one worked in your room. The club had music so loud it awoke me each weekend nite from Fri - Saturday at 10pm. I was on the 4th floor. Please stay at another hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vonnie3358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

In booking our stay in Belize we had to stay inland due to the fact taht a few of our excursions were inland and wanted to avoid the water taxi back n forth each day. So we went with the Princess Hotel & Casino for price and location. I'd read the horror stories on here, some good, some bad, and we took the chance. Keeping in mind that Belize City isn't very nice in general and we were in a third world country....it served its purpose for what we needed. There's a lobby bar where we had most of our drinks. Janice at the bar took time to warm up to, but was really sweet. There's a club in the hotel that is all decked out....but no one really there. The breakfast at the restaurant was free as a nice added bonus. Someone there to make you an omlet of your choice, cereal, cheeses, beans, potatoes, etc. The Calypso bar/restaurant over the water was more relaxed for a mid day meal, nachos, and drinks in the evening. Georgia was really sweet the couple times we went in there.
Now for the "not so good" parts. My room was fine, but the other two rooms our group had seemed to have water pressure issues in the evening and water wouldn't get very hot. The area between the hotel & the dock is pretty trashy. It wouldn't take a lot to clean it up and fill it in with rock or plant grass. That is what really detracted from the whole place the most to me. Otherwise the rooms were fairly clean, it was perfect location, nice view of the ocean in the morning, taxis always ready just outside the hotel door, and we had a good stay overall.

Room Tip: Stay in the higher floors if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bosejb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belize City
0.9 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Belize Biltmore Plaza
14.5 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bachelor Inn
Bachelor Inn
#6 of 7 in Belize City
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Caribbean Belize Pickwick Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel

Address: Newton Barracks | Kings Park, Belize City, Belize (Formerly Princess Hotel & Casino)
Region: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Price Range: £86 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel And Casino
Princess Hotel Belize City
Princess Casino
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing