We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel for a stop over in Belize City”
Review of Chateau Caribbean

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Belize City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau Caribbean
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Belize City left a bit to be desired but this hotel was clean, we felt safe and the staff were friendly and helpful. We were told we had the "honeymoon suite" which I am sure they tell everyone. It was a large room with a King sized bed looking out over the water. There was air conditioning in the rooms and bar fridge. The house is an old colonial home which is a bit tired. The floors have quite a bit of an angle. The restaurant served the most AMAZING Sweet and Sour pork. If I had a stop over in Belize City I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2RoamAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

Nice hotel, facing the sea. A bit worn down, but the hospitality at the hotel was good. Rooms are clean, bathrooms need serious updating. Food was good and not overly expensive. Rooms facing the sea are nice. Belize city really has nothing to offer so don't stay very long there. Use as a stopover hotel only. Good bakery around the corner from the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 302 was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Even if it looks a bit old, which I think givers it some charm, it's a very nice hotel, friendly staff. Great location on the water front with amazing view on the water in a safe neighbourhood. Amazing staff, friendly, helpful. The food at the restaurant is amazing with plenty of local delicatessen. This is the perfect place to stay for a few days in Belize city.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Stayed here three separate times in one month. Each time it felt like coming home. The staff is the perfect combination of attentive, yet discreet, and the owner makes it her business to ensure details are tended to.

This old Colonial Mansion has seen some use, but is being systematically restored. There is a certain charm to it's slightly angled floors and creaking stairs. I'm certain when we return they will be more modern - glad we got to see it "as it was".

The restaurant has fabulous food... enjoyed various well-prepared dishes, morning to night. FRESH! And the bar is well-stocked and colorful. Dining w/sea breezes = priceless!

Aside from feeling safe in Belize City, you can't beat the views. It is possible to while away a day or more simply enjoying the scenery from the balcony. Yes, the cruise ships do change the atmosphere from lazy to crazy, but they are only in port a few hours a couple days a week. Try to see the local markets on a day nothing is happening

This is a one of a kind hotel. Old world ambiance w/modern conveniences.

Room Tip: Room 303 is roomy and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piepeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, great food and great price. This place is good average place to stay a couple day in Belize City. Great location with water front. If you are look for clean, worried free, great reasonable food and clean place to stay at affordable price, this is a place. You can get local god here and great one. Local people do come here and dine. That tell you something. Staff is very friendly. We stayed here and using Radisson tour and taxi service since there is no service at Chateau. Even staff suggest us to do so. Radisson is next door and short walk.

This hotel is clean and historic simple with great water front location but it sure need lot of TLC with its character and it will be very charming.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piradee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I agree with most of the other reviews-the hotel is due for an upgrade/update. It is rather shabby and down at its heels but for the most part clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Yes there are bugs...you are in the tropics..but all ours were dead, so no problem.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maj84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Chateau Caribbean is just like it looks like in the photograph: an old elegant wooden Caribbean building. The rooms on the top floor are spacious and comfortable with two king-size beds and air-conditioning and a fridge. The staff are gentle-mannered people who are efficient and willing to help. The restaurant serves good breakfast (not included) and decent Chinese-oriented dishes for lunch and dinner. You are generally advised against walking at night in Belize City but in this area that does not seem to apply: more or less walkable neighborhood. These are the good things about Chateau Caribbean, but let me just mention that hotels in Belize are generally expensive, overpriced for the quality, and Chateau Caribbean is not an exception.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keisuked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belize City
0.1 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Belize Biltmore Plaza
0.9 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Caribbean Belize Pickwick Hotel
2.0 mi away
Bachelor Inn
Bachelor Inn
#6 of 7 in Belize City
69 reviews
15.1 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Caribbean

Address: 6 Marine Parade, Belize City, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Price Range: £52 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Caribbean 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Chateau Caribbean Belize City
Chateau Caribbean Belize/Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing