We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accom-Belize city”
Review of Bakadeer Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bakadeer Inn
Ranked #10 of 26 Belize City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Clean, friendly and helpful. Excellent accomodation for the cost!
Driver to and from airport arranged, no problem
Excellent restaurant in the vicinity.
Breakfast available on request.
Stayed twice, consistent service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madnomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Bakadeer Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

Good things: it has wifi, it's a relatively good spot in town, I can print stuff, has cable, it has cloth washing and ironing, serves breakfast, etc.
Bad things: it had a smell (not good, not bad, it just had a smell), it doesn't have the best architecture, breakfast is so so (be careful, they'll serve you any meal without asking you what you wanted, and they run out of supplies), the toilet wasn't fasten to the floor, bathroom is a bit small, etc.
In conclusion, you get what you pay for, 'cause is cheap.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank leoberreondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

It is what it is. That is the best way I can describe it. This hotel is close to the airport and the taxi ride here cost $25 US. Miss Rashida greeted me with a warm and pleasant smile. My stay started off by me not getting the bed choice that I had booked on www.booking.com. When Rashida showed me to my room I was surprised to see two single beds instead of one double bed, but this is not a show stopper. I took a nice luke warm shower, but had no hot water. I didn't really care at the time because the room was so hot because the air conditioner was not turned on prior to me checking in. Before I went to the local watering hole, The Riverside Tavern, I asked Rashida about suggesting a tour guide for me. She made one phone call and hooked me up with Manny. When I got up the next morning I still did not have hot water, but this time it bothered me a little because the room had cooled down over night. I told Rashida and she had maintenance change the propane bottle that heats that water. I had an average American breakfast and another pleasant conversation with Rashida. It had rained off and on all night and started raining again while I was eating my breakfast. The water actually rose up high enough to find its way into the dining room floor, which is not a big deal because I was wearing flip flops and like adventures. When I went to leave for my tours that day, the water just outside the hotel entrance had risen to about 6-8 inches deep. Again, this is not a big deal to me because I did come to Belize for an adventure. When I took my second shower later that day, I finally had hot water. The WiFi did not work very good at all on the first day and night due to bad weather, but they did get it back up and running on the second day. So my stay had a few minor mishaps, but nothing to make me shy away from coming back in the future. The best thing about staying at this hotel for me had to be the approximately five minute walk to The Riverside Tavern and the suggested tour guide Manny. The hotel is a very basic money saving stay for anyone that is open minded and likes adventure. I stayed two nights and then went to the islands for some beach and mojito time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Booked hotel online based on reviews. Hotel safe area on outskirts of Belize City, not too far from airport. Only needed hotel for one night. Room on second floor, sparse but clean. A/C worked, TV worked, shower had hot water. Bed comfortable even for someone my size. Hotel run by husband and wife who are very nice and hospitable. No breakfast available as promised, kitchen closed both days i was there. Asked for a cup of coffee and got one without a problem. Hotel mostly caters to Europeans on their way to somewhere else inland or hiking. Rate was very good compared to others found on web sites. The owner picked me up soon after I arrived at airport and drove me back the next day. $25 USD one way, $40 USD RT. Very reasonable pricing based on my 10 years of going to Belize. Family made me feel welcome and I enjoyed the homey casual sense about the place. very quiet no outside noise. Would have loved to sight see if I had more time. Great launching point for your further travels in land.

Room Tip: Take a room on second floor at top of stairs
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dancingbear6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I recently spent 9 days at the Bakadeer, and loved my stay there. The room was clean and charming. The room A/C units worked better in some rooms than in others, but always provided respite from the heat outside. I can't say enough for the staff's hospitality; I was with a large group, and they worked very hard to provide us with a great stay. I hope to return!

The hotel is within very short walking distance of the Riverside Tavern, a great place to go for food and drinks.

Room Tip: Bottom-floor rooms are tiled; upper-floor rooms are carpeted. They are otherwise very similar.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLSDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

What a bummer! Our stay would have been excellent had it not been for the transportation payment kerfuffle. The rooms, including the bathroom were clean, below average in comfort with the beds but will do since the AC actually worked quite. Used the laundry services and were extremely pleased, they were done the same day and smelled very very fresh. Food was ok, after seeing the kitchen though, and with great panades about 2 blocks away, I would say go get your food elsewhere! Overall, as I said, an ok stay for the proximity to things, and the functioning AC, but very disappointed on how they handled our transportation payment. The very last day when we were getting ready to pay for everything, Many, the transportation/tour guide dude, claimed that he had made a mistake on the invoice and that the cost for transportation from the Bakadeer to the TEC, and from the TEC to the airport was $240 USD not $240 BZD. The invoice agreed on weeks in advance was all in Belize dollars, and at the last minute, Many got all up on our face about how we were ripping him off and how he has made a mistake on so we still needed to pay in USD. The problem truly was between the Bakadeer management and Many, however they decided to side with Many instead and acted all angry and aggravated at the fact that we were refusing to accept that he had made a mistake and that he meant US dollars not Belize. Because of time restrictions were ended up going with their services but figured we get somewhat even by warning all of you to be careful. Might be better off renting a vehicle, and note that a lot of things are within walking distance. Really was looking forward to write something nice sine our experience was good, but after that incident I am very disgusted at the lack of responsibility and unethical behavior, so much we probably won't go back, or if we do we definitely won't use any of their "extra" services.

Room Tip: Seems like the rooms on the top floor are nicer than those at the bottom floor, meaning the restroom...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cga4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This was the worst place I have ever stayed. The room was so tired and dirty. There was no breakfast as advertised. No wi-fi connection was available and the TV was very small. The AC did not have enough power to cool the room but was noisy enough to drown out a sports car. Not that you will get any sports cars in this very shabby part of the city. Altogether a terrible place. Do not go there.

Room Tip: Use a different Hotel!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikefar59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belize City hotels
1.0 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
0.4 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
2.2 mi away
Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Red Hut Inn
The Red Hut Inn
#7 of 26 in Belize City
152 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
333 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bella Sombra Guest House
Bella Sombra Guest House
#8 of 26 in Belize City
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakadeer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakadeer Inn

Address: 74 Cleghorn Street, Belize City, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Belize City
Price Range: £42 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bakadeer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bakadeer Inn is located in the heart of Belize City, with quiet comfortable rooms and a beautiful court yard. We can accommodate singles all the way up to a group of 20 people, so if you just stay with us on your way through town or use us as a base from which to see this beautiful country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bakadeer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakadeer Inn Belize/Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing