We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in Belize City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bella Sombra Guest House
Ranked #7 of 26 Belize City B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place in Belize City”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

You may not think much of the place when coming down the street, but as they say never judge a book by it cover! Once in through the front door, a new world in the heart of Belize City awaits you starting with Lauren your host that could not be anymore accommodating and helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean. A fridge, microwave and other offerings make the stay very easy. Beds were comfortable and a lot softer than other hotels we had stayed in. It was quiet and coffee, tea, drinking water were offered at no cost. Lauren attended to peoples need with a smile always on her face. Her knowledge was exceptional so take advantage of this if you visit. A new upstairs wing had just been completed and the rooms looked great. So we would highly recommend Bella Sombra Guest House.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but suggest you print of a map of the location to help you find the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    28
    26
    5
    4
See reviews for
8
34
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Dix, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed at Bella Sombra Guest House II which is currently under renovation on St. Mark Street in Kings Park to the north of the city by the local airport. Wasn't aware of this until we got there. Our actual arrival did not go smoothly. The house is surrounded by a wall and gate with barely even an address visible. Had to stop and ask some construction workers where the hotel was. All of the gates had chains on them. Luckily the gate wasn't locked and once we got into the "lobby" the only person there was another guest who just happened to have the cell # of Laura the owner who wasn't there and upon her arrival, admitted she forgot we were checking in. Not sure what we would have done had the other guest not been there to call Laura. We would have been at a loss. However, Laura was very nice and I'll chalk it up to running between two locations. After that, we had a little bit of a delay getting our room because Laura brought workers to install the TVs when we arrived. I wondered why this location is listed when it hasn't been finished yet. I think 6 months from now when the kitchen is put together, all the furniture is in, and the grounds are landscaped it will be a great place to stay but just for now, I would look elsewhere. Also, the beds were hard as a rock.

On the positive side, the rooms and shower were spacious. Plenty of cable channels and there was Wi-Fi and brand new AC units. Great taco restaurant (Chap's) about a mile down the road.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belizerooms, Front Office Manager at Bella Sombra Guest House, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
It was a pleasure having you stay with us. Daily we are improving our services. As was mentioned earlier, our Internet provider was down for several days so we were unaware of all of our online reservations. I apologize once again for the inconveniences. We will be putting up our sign in a few days. As to the beds, our mattresses and beds are brand new with firm top since several our other guests had shared interest in a firm top. The kitchen will soon become a Cafe Shop with breakfast, lunch and dinner available. Once again, thanks for sharing your thoughts and thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
world traveler
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We only stayed one night because we couldn't get to Caye Caulker yet. But the staff & the hotel are just superb. It is super close to the bus station drop-off, which was very nice. Just walked around the block, no taxi needed. It doesn't look like much from the outside but the rooms are beautiful. Everything was new & the bed was amazing! There was even a little kitchen area too. If you must be in Belize City, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdmarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista, California
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I stayed for 1 night at Bella Sombra Guest House. When we arrived, there was no one there and the door was locked. We knocked and rang the door bell, but no one came. We stood outside the door for about 15 minutes before a guy walking by on the street yelled up to someone that "there are guests waiting outside your door". A guy came down and opened the door for us. We found out shortly later that he is the electrician for the hotel. It appeared that they were remodeling. He had us set our bags down and opened a room for us. A short time later an older couple came and checked us in. They didn't appear to know what to do. They told us that we would not be staying in the first room that they other guy gave us and moved us to another room. A few minutes later, the receptionist arrived (thank goodness!) and she was very friendly, helpful and helped us get settled in. The room that we stayed in was right next to the main door. It had 2 beds, a small bathroom, 1 small window, a refrigerator and a microwave. It was dark since there was only one window. The room and bath towels were clean. The receptionist told us that it was a safe neighborhood to walk in. She recommended a restaurant to us. We wondered around the city for a while and had no problems. Everyone that we encountered was nice and friendly. However, we didn't carry a camera with us or much money. We didn't want to attract attention. Nor did we walk around after dark. We felt that the hotel was overpriced for what we got. We paid $65/night. However, it is in a convenient location near the water taxi. It was good for a night, but I wouldn't stay longer. The receptionist booked us a taxi the night before since we had a morning flight. The taxi was waiting for us in the morning when we left.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtraveller2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed in the guest house for 2 nights in May 2014.

The staff were simply excellent. I would like to thank Laura, Crystal and the rest of the team for the brilliant service they provided to me and made me feel right at home. They helped me with sightseeing and recommended places to eat authentic Belizean cuisine. They also work with respectable taxi firms if you are looking for sightseeing tours or transport to/from the airport.

My room was very spacious. The bed very comfortable, the fridge worked perfectly and the bathroom was superb. There was also hundreds of TV channels to choose from on the in-room system. The air conditioning appeared to be brand new and was a delight. The free WiFi worked everywhere too.

The location within Belize City is spot on. 5 minutes walk from the coast, 5 minutes walk from a medium sized supermarket and 10 minutes walk from the boats to the Cayes.

The guest house was undergoing renovation works at the time of my visit but it didn't affect my stay at all.

I paid $98 for my stay which I thought was pretty good for both the location and the really top-class customer service guests will receive.

I would fully recommend this place for anyone planning a stay in Belize City.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mezzarino1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Located at a walkable distance to all the boats that take you out to the cayes. The staff (Laura) is super friendly and she would make you feel right at home. They were very accommodating when we asked them to have us park our rental car when we were out in the keys for 2 days. The rooms are quite basic but a great value for what you are paying. Belize city is a safe city and Laura can provide some good recommendations to hang out.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ourwonderingfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

A modest property right in the city. The rooms are basic but spotlessly clean and functional. The beds were very comfy and the wifi free. Desk staff very friendly and helpful. Courtyard tables made for a little noise in the evening, but nothing terrible. An all round great value for a short stay.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are being newly renovated and should be quieter when finished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharla k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belize City hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
2.7 mi away
Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza
0.5 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
330 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Red Hut Inn
The Red Hut Inn
#6 of 26 in Belize City
152 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Boscardi
Villa Boscardi
#1 of 26 in Belize City
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Sombra Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Sombra Guest House

Property: Bella Sombra Guest House
Address: 36 Hydes Lane, Belize City, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel Belize and stay at Bella Sombra Guest House Belize. The rooms at Bella Sombra Guest House Belize are ideally located only 15 minutes from the Philip Goldson International Airport and 8 minutes away from the local municipal airport. Bella Sombra Guest House is within walking distance to downtown Belize City (the commercial zone in Belize City), and the Belize Tourism Village where cruise ships dock. At Bella Sombra Guest House Belize, we take great pride in our rooms. Bella Sombra Guest House Belize offers the best and most affordable rooms in the city, free parking, secure, clean, double beds with clean linens, private bathroom with hot and cold water, AC, Cable TV, Ceiling fan, Kitchenette area with microwave, refrige, and dining area. Bella Sombra Guest House Belize is ideal for relaxing, visiting family/friends, shopping or doing business, or a night out in the city. Bella Sombra Guest House Belize is walking distance to all local banks like Belize Bank, Atlantic Bank, grocery stores, gas stations, and restaurants. Bella Sombra Guest House Belize is a hop skip away from the famous Caye Caulker Water Taxi Terminal - boats which travel to the islands of Caye Caulker and Ambergris Caye. Enjoy a relaxing boat ride and visit the islands, only 1-2 hours away from Belize City. Bella Sombra Guest House Belize is a great place to stay when doing business in Belize. During your stay at Bella Sombra Guest House Belize, we ask you to enjoy an ice cold local Belikin Beer or Belizean Coconut Rum on the rocks, and local Belizean Cuisine from the comfort of our outdoor patio garden. Sit back, relax and enjoy your time at Bella Sombra Guest House Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bella Sombra Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Sombra Guest House Belize/Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing