We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive and bad”
Review of D'Nest Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belize City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
D'Nest Inn
Ranked #3 of 26 Belize City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 August 2013

it is very difficult to get disspointed by a b&b but this one is the one. We were a group of six and as soon as we arrived they made a fuss because the reservation calculated my 13 year old daughter as "child" and they said she would eat breakfast as an adult so they decided to charge the difference and talking about breakfast, it was cold, fatty, stingy and who eats cooked zuccini for brakfast anyway. We took this hotel because we were staying only for the night and it is relatively near the airport but to the city center it is only 4 more minutes by car and the taxi charges the same.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innbelizecity, Owner at D'Nest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

It is just amazing that each time our customers do not pay as per our established hotel rates and we tryr to collect it or we try to collect the cancellation fee based on the cancellation policy our B & B gets a bad review. The B &B then becomes dirty, expensive, and unfriendly and the breakfast becomes terrible.

We on the other hand do our best to make them comfortable but we never seem to succeed in these circumstances.

These customers stayed with us on two different nights and we did our best for them to be comfortable. Of the two female adults, the more senior female was very friendly however the younger female adult was not. Now, we realized that the extra US$16 may be the cause her discomfort.

We pride ourselves on our breakfast! One of the female adults asked us to pleased prepared breakfast early as they planned to leave very early. Breakfast is normally served between 7:00 to 9:00 am. To accommodate them we prepared the breakfast as requested expecting them at about 7.30 am. However, for one reason or another they did not come early for breakfast but instead came almost 9:00 am. Again had they mentioned that they do not eat zucchini, we would have happily prepared something. After all we are here to serve them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

If you’re in Belize to experience the cayes and the islands, then this may not be the place for you to stay. As it’s well-known, Belize City doesn’t have much to look forward to, and everything that is to-be-experienced is on the islands/cayes out of the city. But if you’re spending a night or two of relaxing and heading out west in the country, then this bed & breakfast inn is perfect for you.

Located in the north-west side of the city, in the neighborhood of Belama, D’Nest Inn sits in the corner of a road’s end. Run by a family, who live on the ground level, the decor of this cute home will awe you and the hospitality of the owners will want you to get out of your room and sit with them over a cup of tea.

The rooms are clean, well-maintained and on the upper level. With limited rooms in the ‘house’, make sure to book well in advance. Breakfast is included in the price and freshly prepared by Oty and her troupe. Every room is equipped with AC, TV and a fan; the beds are very comfortable with memory-foam pillows.

You can use their land-line to call a taxi and it will cost US$5 one-way to the downtown, which is about 5 miles away.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelOnTheDollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We were in Belize City for one day on our honeymoon working our way through Central America. Gaby was great to communicate with before we got there advising us of the best tour company to use for Cave Tubing, way cheaper than the top results on google. The room was well decorated, 4 poster bed and powerful AC.

We had an amazing breakfast of a bean soup, jacks( bread puffs) eggs and fruit; it was local food and it was amazing. We got a lift to the bus stop, and had we been awake we would have had lifts to local bars and restaurants.

A great stay and highly recommended, great people!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cquinn1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Wow! The place itself is cute, but is not located in the city. Which is a good thing. Considering the city is not a place to walk at night, you would rather stay there. It's located at about a 8 minutes cab ride from the city (10$ belize) on the outskirts of the city. About a 10 minute walk to an international ATM, a very big convenience store, a couple of small restaurants, etc... The owners are excellent hosts. They take care of you no mather what. They can plan your excursions and know a lot of different options. They even gave us a ride once just cause they wanted to help. The excursion guides come and pick you up at the door. I will suggest this place to anyone who goes to the city. Make sure to say hello to mustard from my wife and I (Amely and Nicolas from Canada) he rocks :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Our family of 4 used this wonderful Inn to begin our Belize vacation. We spent 2 nights there and used it as a home during our excursions to see Mayan Ruins, go zip lining and cavetubing. Gaby and Oty made it fell like we were staying with family. Oty makes a great breakfast and the garden area is a great place to relax.The local restaurants were not extravagant but adequate. Their wasn't much to do in the immediate area but we felt very safe and comfortable there. It was a short ride to the airport as we continued our vacation in San Pedro

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We spent two nights here and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Oty is the perfect host and even stated that she spoils her guests. She sure spoiled us. We had a great room with A/C, a hot shower and a king sized bed. Many plants in her garden and she knows all their names. Breakfast was delicious and all the hot coffee you want. This is a great value in Belize City. It is also conveniently within walking distance of two good restaurants for dinner. It is a very quiet and safe location. We walked to dinner both evenings. The locals were friendly and helpful with directions. Tell Oty we said "Hi".

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

It was great to spend another night at D'Nest Inn in late April. Oty and Gaby as always are wonderful hosts (hope your hip continues to get better, Gaby!). I got the chance to introduce my wife to this delightful little B&B in a safe area north of town, off the Goldson Highway.

Chetumal Street, the way you normally get to the inn from the Goldson Highway, has been totally redone as a divided concrete boulevard, part of the major street upgrading project in Belize City, so I temporarily got lost and had to ask some neighborhood people to give me directions, as they kindly led me the right way.

Oty's breakfasts as always were delicious. Because of Oty and Gaby, this little B&B is such a jewel in The Jewel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LanSluderBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belize City
1.0 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Belize Biltmore Plaza
14.2 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
0.8 mi away
Best Caribbean Belize Pickwick Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Nest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Nest Inn

Address: 475 Cedar Street, Belama Phase ll, Belize City, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Belize City
Price Range: £50 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
D'Nest Inn, located in a quiet and peaceful neighbourhood off the Northern Highway, is magical and charming with sunny and bright old world rooms and antique furniture. The garden is beatiful and filled with birds. The sea is close by and the river is just a feet away. Fishing can be done along the canal bordering the property. Make D'Nest Inn your holiday headquarters with easy access to ervery thing and place in Belize. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
D'Nest Inn Belize/Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing