We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Living with the locals” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of D'Nest Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belize City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
D'Nest Inn
Ranked #4 of 26 Belize City B&B and Inns
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Living with the locals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

If you land in Belize city for the first time and are not comfortable with the surroundings then this place is not for you. I suggest the Best Western. The B&B is located at the end of a street in an upper class area of Belize city. At the dead end is a canal, a bit rough by North American standards but clean for Belize city. Across the street is a soccer field and the police station is just down the street. The room with the king size bed had AC and was very spacious and clean. After living a week in Belize without AC we finally got a good nights sleep. Our hostess made us the local breakfast, translated in English as "expand your gut", was very good. What was very pleasant was being able to exchange our visit experiences in Belize with other couples staying there.

Room Tip: Bedroom with a King bed is very spacious and overlooks the soccer field.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Srokag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dnest, Owner at D'Nest Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for the review and your kindness. The basketball court and the football field in front of our place is being redeveloped. Due to the heavy equipment used, the street has deterioated. When completed the parks (football field) will be beatiful and hopefully the street will be repaired.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    41
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
64
23
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Don't know how they got other folks to give favorable accounts it is horrible. Beside a stinking stagnite creek and across from that a junk yard, access is by an untravelable gravel road, without any services. No Ice machine, no service bar or cold drinks, the dining area was covered with dust. No association with any travel tours, in the middle of a very rough area. Two blocks from a grocery store to get our own soda and ice. The "SHUTTLE" is a family van which you are charged for. The sheets were yellow and spottedThere is nowwhere,nothing to do there but get the heck out and go somewhere else. Downtown Belize is a mass of horribly cheap holes in the wall, not like any other port I've seen.The internet pictures cannot begin to show the conditions at D'Nest Inn, they must be years old.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dillys77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dnest, Owner at D'Nest Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
It is evident that our place and Belize City were not what this customer expected. The customer was angry and vex from the time he arrived asking for amenities that we do not have such as ice machine and pop machines. He expected us to be located at the waterfront. He did not discuss his dissatisfaction with us but left right away to another hotel located in the Fort George Area.

It is unfortunate that this customer appeared not to have research Belize City and our place and as a result did not have a good time in ourt country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathmore, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We came upon this place 6 years ago and since then for 6 years we have always stayed here on our travels
They are very accommodating,the rooms are beautiful and so comfortable and the breakfast is amazing .The yard is full of surprises from ,flowers ,trees, a patio and best of all sit back and see the many birds ,butterflies and iguanas of all sizes just passing by .They will help you with anything you need and know all the best places to go .Belize city is truly amazing so if you are looking for the best place I highly recommend D Nest Inn .Thank you for all our wonderful memories

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayliec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dnest, Owner at D'Nest Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your kindness! Our guests are special to us and we like to share with them our home, our garden and our city. We want them to take home wonderful menories of our Belize. Yes! you are family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stopped in on my way to dig at Caracol in late January and this couple was so nice. As a Master Gardener, I found lots to enjoy and plant species to see. Hummingbirds were easy to spot.I returned on my way home to U.S. this weekend and the WELCOME MAT was even longer.
Such a genuinely nice couple.

Room Tip: I had the Dove nest facing the water and iguanas in the Mangroves. No fitness center, but jogging i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dnest, Owner at D'Nest Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your kindness. We listen to our guests advices and appreciate thier comments. Thank you for the advice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queen Creek
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Gaby, the husband, and Oty, the wife, run a delightful little guest house in Belize City. If you email them and give them your flight information, Gaby will meet your flight. You will discover right away how expensive transportation is in Belize. Gaby charges $25 US for this short taxi ride. Once you arrive, you will enjoy the garden right by the water where, if you are lucky, you will see manatees. Be sure you spend a good 8 hours in your comfortable king-sized bed - it might be the last comfy bed for the rest of your trip. Go down the road a short distance to eat at the Atlantic restaurant, a Chinese restaurant. It's pretty much the only place to eat within walking distance. Oty prepares a delicious breakfast and you may meet other travelers at the table.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a sofa and chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank selmagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

The D'Nest Inn was everything we had hoped it would be, and we are extremely happy we stayed here to start off our Belize honeymoon. Since our flight was arriving in the evening, we chose to stay closer to the airport the first night and then make the trek out to our destination in The Cayo District. We easily arranged an airport cab ride/ pick up from Gaby, one of the owners. Both Gaby & Oty were very helpful and charming during our short stay. They recommended places for dinner and even dropped us off at a nearby one, Admirals Bay, which was delicious and right on the water. We stayed in the Doves Nest, and the room was spotless and beautiful. We loved the furniture and overall aesthetic of the room. Breakfast in the morning was delicious & it was great to converse with other people who were passing in & out of Belize. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jami L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at D'nest Inn our first night in Belize. We found a warm welcome waiting for us from Gaby and Oty. We especially enjoyed the deck overlooking the river and the garden that they have worked hard to develop. A great start to our trip.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gwynn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belize City hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel
3.0 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
2.3 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Boscardi
Villa Boscardi
#1 of 26 in Belize City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Red Hut Inn
The Red Hut Inn
#6 of 26 in Belize City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Nest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Nest Inn

Property: D'Nest Inn
Address: 475 Cedar Street, Belama Phase ll, Belize City, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
D'Nest Inn, located in a quiet and peaceful neighbourhood off the Northern Highway, is magical and charming with sunny and bright old world rooms and antique furniture. The garden is beatiful and filled with birds. The sea is close by and the river is just a feet away. Fishing can be done along the canal bordering the property. Make D'Nest Inn your holiday headquarters with easy access to ervery thing and place in Belize. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
D'Nest Inn Belize/Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing