We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gaby & Oty Are The BEST!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of D'Nest Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belize City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
D'Nest Inn
Ranked #4 of 26 Belize City B&B and Inns
Michigan City, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gaby & Oty Are The BEST!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2007

We stayed at the D'Nest Inn for 11 fabulous nights. We visited Belize
three years ago, while on a cruise, and knew we wanted to go back for
a longer period of time. We chose the D'Nest Inn because of all of the wonderful reviews on this site!

We emailed Gaby several times before our arrival, and he was always prompt in his responses. We told Gaby what time our flight was coming in and that we would catch a cab to the D'Nest Inn. To our surprise, when we walked outside the airport, there was a gentleman holding a sign that read "D'Nest Inn - Dale & Judy"! Raul, a licensed
tour guide, was there to pick us up! Gaby and Oty were at the house waiting for us, and greeted us with warm hugs.

My husband and I traveled with our 15 year old son, so we needed a room with two beds. We stayed in the Parakeet Nest which was warm and
inviting. We were so amazed to have Cable TV and a wireless internet connection in our room! The air conditioner was great, too! We were able to stay in touch via the internet with our family and friends in the USA. Be sure to bring your laptop! It sure beats costly phone calls!

The breakfasts that Oty prepared were delicious! We never had the same breakfast in all 11 mornings that we were there! Coffee, home-made juice, fresh grapefruit with honey, additional fruit and a hot main course was served every morning. What a great way to start the day!

The purpose of our trip was threefold; we wanted to learn more about the culture of Belize, look at some properties, and spend time enjoying fun adventures with our son. Gaby and Oty were so much help with sharing their expertise in all of these areas. Not only did we talk with them over breakfast every morning, but we couldn't wait to get home in the evenings to share our day with them. One day we gave Oty money for groceries so she could shop for food needed to make a Belizean dinner for the five of us. It was so delicious, and we enjoyed learning how to cook Belizean food!

The location of the D'Nest Inn was very convenient. We would take a cab sometimes into Belize City for only $5 US. Most of the time, we walked to two nearby Chinese restaurants and a Belizean Diner. We even ordered a pizza a couple of times which was delivered to the D'Nest Inn. The grocery store was only a couple of blocks away where we could pick up pop, water, Belikin Beer, etc. We always felt very safe in this neighborhood. When we passed people on the street, people would say hello, and be very friendly!

While in Belize, be sure to find out what days the cruise ships are in port, and take your tours on the other days! We did, and it was perfect not having to wait in long lines. Our fun days included the Belize Zoo, Cave-Tubing, the Zip-Line, Old Belize, Lamanai (Mayan Ruins) and Snorkeling in Ambergris Caye. Gaby can contact Raul to take you on a variety of tours, and you will be pleased. Raul is a delightful man, and he knows alot about Belize.

Gaby and Oty's home is beautiful! It sits on a canal with a gorgeous garden. Every day we would see a variety of birds (including a flock of parrots flying overhead), iguanas, fish and even a crocodile
in the canal. We met several of Gaby and Oty's children and grandchilden. We felt like part of their family. They took a sincere interest in us, and we were sad to leave. We have wonderful memories from our trip, and the best part was staying at the D'Nest Inn. We will stay there again, and HIGHLY RECOMMEND the D'Nest Inn for anyone
traveling to Belize!

Dale, Judy and Lucas
Michigan City, Indiana USA




  • Liked — Gaby & Oty - We felt like Family
  • Disliked — Loved the Entire Experience!
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Judy_Dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    41
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
64
23
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2007

Our stay at D'Nest Inn on our last night in Belize was the perfect send-off. We were a bit tired from our travels around Belize and Guatemala, and were delighted by our hosts, Gaby and Oti, their super-cute grandchildren, and their beautiful garden.

The house is elegantly decorated with antiques, and we loved the decor of our room. Gaby and Oty invited us to come to dinner at a delectable local diner. They prepared a delicious breakfast in the morning with local fruits and fresh-squeezed orange juice.

  • Stayed January 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastcoastNerds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2007

D'Nest was initially simply a reasonably-priced Inn in Belize City to stay at before we went to Ambergis Caye the next day. Otty and Gabby were such amazing hosts, and we had such a terrific time on our first day, that after we retruned from the Caye, we stayed at D'Nest three more nights (one before going to Chan Chich and two after Chan Chich). Chan Chich was truly amazing, but D'Nest ranked as high as Chan Chich when comparing the hospitality we received and the fun we had. My wife and I strongly recommend staying there. It was so great that I am writing this review over seven months later after having reviewed the pictures from our trip. If I had digital copies, I would share them.

  • Liked — The hosts, the garden, and the food.
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask the hosts for their recommendations on places to eat and visit.
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WallDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MISPLACED TEXAN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2007

We were unable to catch our flight out of Belize City to PG, so fortunately we had a back-up reservation at D'Nest. What a pleasant unplanned event. Oty and Gabby are gracious hosts and their home is beautiful. It is on the canal and the gardens are lush. And talk about the best fry jacks in Belize - yum yum! The rooms are comfortable and clean. Oty and Gabby were instrumental in making sure our visit was relaxing and we would definitely recommend it to any traveler.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HANKTHETANK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2007

I am a Belizean who normally stays with family when I go home. This visit was for my family reunion, so since there were so many relatives in town and I was travelling with two close friends, I decided to find a hotel or guest house. I cannot actually take credit for finding D'Nest Inn, it was actually one of my friends who was travelling with me.

For my two friends who travelled with me, it was their first visit to Belize, and I really wanted them to love it. D'Nest Inn did not disappoint. It was a beautifully decorated home and lush property in a quiet neighborhood owned by Gaby and Oty, who made us feel like family. The rooms are so charming and the A/C was wonderful. Each morning Oty served us a delicious breakfast, and she and Gaby sat and ate and chatted with us until we had to rush off to the day's activities.

When it was time to leave Belize, my friends and I were all sad to go. I'm always sad to leave Belize, because it's home for me, but I felt a sense of pride knowing that my friends felt that way too, and that is due, in large part, to the time spent with Gaby and Oty at D'Nest Inn. We can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — The rooms, the breakfast, the location, the owners.
  • Disliked — I can't think of anything I didn't like.
  • Tips/Secrets — Definitely choose D'Nest Inn.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank misslisa330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2006

They welcomed us with a "welcome home" greeting and really felt at home! The room we stayed in was great! It was a superb way to end a 13 day trip to Belize. We stayed 2 nights. To top it all off, one of the nights we had a Barn Owl swoop down quietly in front of us. We went to Belize for the water sports and birding and again, a wonderful way to end our vacation! I highly recommend the D'Nest Inn

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nightwing_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Leandro, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2006

My boyfriend and I spent a week in Belize: 3 nights inland, 3 nights in the cayes, and one night in Belize City at D'Nest Inn. The owners, Oty and Gabby, were the most gracious hosts we had come across our whole trip there (and we thought everyone in Belize had been very friendly up to that point). When we got there, we were sweaty, hungry, and tired from traveling that day. They made us feel right at home, brought us some refreshing cold face towels, and ordered us some food to be delivered to our room right away. After being there for a few hours, my boyfriend said that he wished he could stay in Belize longer just so he could stay at D'Nest Inn longer. The room (we stayed in the Dove's Nest) was very charming and comfortable. The bed was the most comfortable one we had slept in all week, and we had stayed some some very reputable places. Our stay was finished off with a fabulous home-cooked breakfast (honey-drizzled grapefruit, fried "jacks", beans, eggs with a delicious chili sauce, fresh-squeezed orange juice, excellent Belizean coffee... yummy). We will definitely be staying at D'Nest Inn again, and the next time for longer. Very highly recommended.

  • Liked — Comfortable room, wonderful hosts
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank apple597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belize City hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel
3.0 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
2.3 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Boscardi
Villa Boscardi
#1 of 26 in Belize City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Red Hut Inn
The Red Hut Inn
#6 of 26 in Belize City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Nest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Nest Inn

Property: D'Nest Inn
Address: 475 Cedar Street, Belama Phase ll, Belize City, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
D'Nest Inn, located in a quiet and peaceful neighbourhood off the Northern Highway, is magical and charming with sunny and bright old world rooms and antique furniture. The garden is beatiful and filled with birds. The sea is close by and the river is just a feet away. Fishing can be done along the canal bordering the property. Make D'Nest Inn your holiday headquarters with easy access to ervery thing and place in Belize. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
D'Nest Inn Belize/Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing