We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Oasis in an Ugly town”
Review of D'Nest Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belize City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
D'Nest Inn
Ranked #3 of 26 Belize City B&B and Inns
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Little Oasis in an Ugly town”
Reviewed 14 August 2007

We finished our 12 days in Belize by spending the last 2nights here. We had decided on this place because we had heard/ read such horrible things about Belize City itself. We arrived here after a long journey from the southern part of Belize and Oty arranged for lunch to be delivered to us right away. We hadn't eaten all day and it was a welcomed meal. We were so pleased with the luxury of our room- air conditioning, television, a shower whose warm water stayed warm and cold water stayed cold, comfortable bed and pillows...after what we'd slept in during the trip this was like being home in the US again. The gardens are well manicured and it was enjoyable to sit and watch the birds and iguanas. We spent several hours chatting with Gaby and Oty and their stories were fun to listen to. We had plans to go into town and get a snorkeling tour but the taxi number was disconnected and so Gaby drove us into town himself!! Breakfasts were delicious as well- the Johnny cakes we ate there were to DIE for! I think I need their recipe! Both Gaby, Oty and their family are so welcoming and warm- it was like visiting friends! It may be in the outskirts of town, but you'll enjoy the little retreat and their beautiful home and all it has to offer you.

  • Liked — Cozy and luxurious
  • Disliked — Distance from town
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guanica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    42
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
69
23
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern Belize
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2007

We live in the south of Belize and travel up to the City - confusingly known as "traveling to Belize" if you live here - most months for shopping, etc. Having stayed in just about every place in the city, D'Nest is our absolute favourite. So peaceful, it's hard to believe you are in the city. Gaby and Oty are kind and generouse hosts, the rooms are very comfortable and elegant, and the whole place reminds us of Province, even though the pair have never been to France.

The canalside setting is delightful, and for the gardener, the plants are a never failing source of interest, not to mention the huge fish to be spotted in the canal itself, and the iguanas that roam the ground (and eat the plants, much to Oty's annoyance.)

Breakfast is superb, we highly recommend D'Nest. You will need to get a taxi to get into town for restaurants, or send out for pizza. Frankly Belize's restaurants are nothing to write home about, so you may as well go for cheap and cheerful.

  • Liked — The friendly owners and beautiful rooms and surroundings
  • Disliked — It's a bit far from the centre of town
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LureQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2007

We wanted to have an overnight stay in Belize City before returning home, somewhere a bit out of town and not too far from (or too close to!) the airport. We can thoroughly recommend this very comfortable and wonderfully decorated unique B&B and we wished we had been able to stay there longer. The hosts were excellent and the garden was gorgeous.

  • Liked — Our room and the garden and the people
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan City, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2007

We stayed at the D'Nest Inn for 11 fabulous nights. We visited Belize
three years ago, while on a cruise, and knew we wanted to go back for
a longer period of time. We chose the D'Nest Inn because of all of the wonderful reviews on this site!

We emailed Gaby several times before our arrival, and he was always prompt in his responses. We told Gaby what time our flight was coming in and that we would catch a cab to the D'Nest Inn. To our surprise, when we walked outside the airport, there was a gentleman holding a sign that read "D'Nest Inn - Dale & Judy"! Raul, a licensed
tour guide, was there to pick us up! Gaby and Oty were at the house waiting for us, and greeted us with warm hugs.

My husband and I traveled with our 15 year old son, so we needed a room with two beds. We stayed in the Parakeet Nest which was warm and
inviting. We were so amazed to have Cable TV and a wireless internet connection in our room! The air conditioner was great, too! We were able to stay in touch via the internet with our family and friends in the USA. Be sure to bring your laptop! It sure beats costly phone calls!

The breakfasts that Oty prepared were delicious! We never had the same breakfast in all 11 mornings that we were there! Coffee, home-made juice, fresh grapefruit with honey, additional fruit and a hot main course was served every morning. What a great way to start the day!

The purpose of our trip was threefold; we wanted to learn more about the culture of Belize, look at some properties, and spend time enjoying fun adventures with our son. Gaby and Oty were so much help with sharing their expertise in all of these areas. Not only did we talk with them over breakfast every morning, but we couldn't wait to get home in the evenings to share our day with them. One day we gave Oty money for groceries so she could shop for food needed to make a Belizean dinner for the five of us. It was so delicious, and we enjoyed learning how to cook Belizean food!

The location of the D'Nest Inn was very convenient. We would take a cab sometimes into Belize City for only $5 US. Most of the time, we walked to two nearby Chinese restaurants and a Belizean Diner. We even ordered a pizza a couple of times which was delivered to the D'Nest Inn. The grocery store was only a couple of blocks away where we could pick up pop, water, Belikin Beer, etc. We always felt very safe in this neighborhood. When we passed people on the street, people would say hello, and be very friendly!

While in Belize, be sure to find out what days the cruise ships are in port, and take your tours on the other days! We did, and it was perfect not having to wait in long lines. Our fun days included the Belize Zoo, Cave-Tubing, the Zip-Line, Old Belize, Lamanai (Mayan Ruins) and Snorkeling in Ambergris Caye. Gaby can contact Raul to take you on a variety of tours, and you will be pleased. Raul is a delightful man, and he knows alot about Belize.

Gaby and Oty's home is beautiful! It sits on a canal with a gorgeous garden. Every day we would see a variety of birds (including a flock of parrots flying overhead), iguanas, fish and even a crocodile
in the canal. We met several of Gaby and Oty's children and grandchilden. We felt like part of their family. They took a sincere interest in us, and we were sad to leave. We have wonderful memories from our trip, and the best part was staying at the D'Nest Inn. We will stay there again, and HIGHLY RECOMMEND the D'Nest Inn for anyone
traveling to Belize!

Dale, Judy and Lucas
Michigan City, Indiana USA




  • Liked — Gaby & Oty - We felt like Family
  • Disliked — Loved the Entire Experience!
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Judy_Dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East coast
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2007

Our stay at D'Nest Inn on our last night in Belize was the perfect send-off. We were a bit tired from our travels around Belize and Guatemala, and were delighted by our hosts, Gaby and Oti, their super-cute grandchildren, and their beautiful garden.

The house is elegantly decorated with antiques, and we loved the decor of our room. Gaby and Oty invited us to come to dinner at a delectable local diner. They prepared a delicious breakfast in the morning with local fruits and fresh-squeezed orange juice.

  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastcoastNerds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2007

D'Nest was initially simply a reasonably-priced Inn in Belize City to stay at before we went to Ambergis Caye the next day. Otty and Gabby were such amazing hosts, and we had such a terrific time on our first day, that after we retruned from the Caye, we stayed at D'Nest three more nights (one before going to Chan Chich and two after Chan Chich). Chan Chich was truly amazing, but D'Nest ranked as high as Chan Chich when comparing the hospitality we received and the fun we had. My wife and I strongly recommend staying there. It was so great that I am writing this review over seven months later after having reviewed the pictures from our trip. If I had digital copies, I would share them.

  • Liked — The hosts, the garden, and the food.
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask the hosts for their recommendations on places to eat and visit.
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WallDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MISPLACED TEXAN
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2007

We were unable to catch our flight out of Belize City to PG, so fortunately we had a back-up reservation at D'Nest. What a pleasant unplanned event. Oty and Gabby are gracious hosts and their home is beautiful. It is on the canal and the gardens are lush. And talk about the best fry jacks in Belize - yum yum! The rooms are comfortable and clean. Oty and Gabby were instrumental in making sure our visit was relaxing and we would definitely recommend it to any traveler.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HANKTHETANK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belize City
0.4 mi away
Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza
3.0 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
12.2 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
0.6 mi away
Villa Boscardi
Villa Boscardi
#1 of 26 in Belize City
260 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Nest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Nest Inn

Property: D'Nest Inn
Address: 475 Cedar Street, Belama Phase ll, Belize City, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
D'Nest Inn, located in a quiet and peaceful neighbourhood off the Northern Highway, is magical and charming with sunny and bright old world rooms and antique furniture. The garden is beatiful and filled with birds. The sea is close by and the river is just a feet away. Fishing can be done along the canal bordering the property. Make D'Nest Inn your holiday headquarters with easy access to ervery thing and place in Belize. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
D'Nest Inn Belize/Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing