We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bachelor Inn - Our only bad belize experience!”
Review of Bachelor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bachelor Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Powell Butte, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bachelor Inn - Our only bad belize experience!”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We spent two weeks in Belize and stayed in some very nice places. We traveled on a budget and scheduled our motels with that in mind. We did not pick the Bachelor Inn. That was done by Expedia as part of our travel package. We will certainly not stay there again.

We did not have our own transportation. A taxi took us out the Bachelor Inn from the Caye Caulker Water Taxi. He was a great driver and treated us fairly. We approached the front desk but no one was present. We waited about 1/2 hour and finally, the proprietor showed up. She was very stressed and very rude to us. She complained that we had arrived on Christmas Day (even though she accepted that reservation months before). When asked where to find food, she rudely told us to forward all questions to the taxi drivers. She stormed off after telling us that we had to get back to the motel by 6:00 or we would be locked out.

We did manage to find us a cab driver after about an hour but he did the bait and switch on us (quoting a price in Belize dollars and then claiming it was really in US dollars).

We are not fussy but the room was really sub-standard. The locks did not work on the door (just a tiny padlock) and the kitchen was full of broken appliances. There were ants all over the kitchen.

Not everything was bad about this room. In fact, we would have given a positive review if the owner/manager wasn't so rude to us. The room was huge and the tv was good. It was air conditioned and there were a couple of fans. The view was great from the third floor.

Room Tip: Choose a room from a different motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    12
    21
    10
    13
See reviews for
5
17
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Belize City, Belize
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Rooms: Very large, with a dining/kitchen area, bedroom and bathroom. With cooking facilities they'd be apartments. Clearly an effort has been made to look nice, though it hasn't quite succeeded. They weren't quite clean & tidy on arrival - stained sink and walls, insect remains squished on bathroom walls, buckets of assorted cleaning products left in the corner of the bathroom, sand and dirt on the floors. There was an empty johnny wrapper (the foil, not rubber!) in one of the drawers and general dust, sand and a hint of mould in some of the others.
But TV & air con worked (neither of which we really used).

Beds: The lumpy, misshapen pillows added a certain mental challenge to achieving comfort, though with the woefully inadequate sheets and mattress springs jabbing into you, it was a lost cause in the end. Genuinely considered sleeping on the tile floor instead.

Service: When we arrived the proprietor (Nancy) was in the midst of haranguing her teenage son, and as we tried to check in she turned her sharp tongue on us, almost but not quite berating us for wanting to check in ten minutes earlier than we'd booked. Though thoroughly disorganised and unprofessional, she was clearly having a hard time, and we felt sorry for her. That didn't last. Most of the time we were in the hotel (advised by all and sundry not to go a-wandering on Sunday) we could hear her shouting useless and impossible advice at the workmen she'd hired to fix up the roof. Any time we asked her for anything whatsoever she huffed and moaned, even once ignoring us repeatedly (at which point I simply walked into her reception area, which finally got her attention). She seems unable to let anyone finish a sentence, or listen.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binfrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belize City hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

We needed a cheap place to stay in Belize City and found Bachelor Inn on HostelWorld. Nancy was a very energetic woman who showed us to our room: very spacious with our own living room and bathroom and kitchenette (consisting of a toaster), but it was dripping from the roof.
Since all the restaurants nearby was closed Nancy took us to a fast food place in town - in general, she seems very nice and helpful but do also seem to have an alcohol problem (was drunk at 5pm when we went to the reception).
The hotel is located far from everything, but a taxi (which you need to call) costs 8 BZD to anywhere in town.

NOTE!!!!
Bachelor Inn cooperates with a tour "company" (consisting of a lady and her husband). The tours are very expensive (you can do it a LOT cheaper yourselves: she wanted 110 USD to the Lamanai ruins, we did it with another company for 50..) - we do NOT recommend using this company!
We were supposed to go on the Beer Factory tour ('cause we couldn't organize it ourselves), and first of all she picked us up almost 2 hours later than she was supposed to! Furthermore, she hadn't even called the factory telling them that we were coming, so in the end we couldn't go there because the factory had no tours available the next two days.. After that, she wanted part of the money for the tour anyway, what we didn't give her. We went on a local bus going to San Ignacio, and when we were IN THE BUS, the tour lady comes in there with two heavily armed police men, demanding to get some money from us - in the end we gave her as much as a taxi would have been. The only thing she seemed to care about was money and didn't even apologize for picking us up two hours late. She can seem very persistent and persuasive, but DO NOT book the tours through her - there are a lot of other companies if you want to go on a tour.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Helene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize City
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is the best spot I have ever stayed while in Belize City, I advise anyone who is visiting Belize to spend sometime there if ever you need somewhere to stay once in Belize City. Great hospitality, nice spacious rooms, and peace and quite. Harmony on earth!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The place I usually stay in Belize City closed...so I friends suggested I use Bachelor Inn. It is apartment style lodging and was very clean! The owner Nancy is very nice and the workers there help watch out for customers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennMorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Spent 19 nights , end of March first weeks of April . GREAT location! City bus runs right by to take you downtown. Local shops for food and supplies. As for safety , no problem ! Nice neighborhood ! Would I stay there again ? Yes , I plan on it ! Nancy, the owner is a sweet lady and willin to help make your stay the best. Clean and comfortable ! Hopein toget back soon ! The rooftop views are spectacular !

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2013

My stay at the Bachelor Inn Hotel was comfortable, the owner is improving the establishment. She has retiled the rooms and is in the misdt of buying new beds and updating the bathrooms. This is an affordable place to stay if you are not looking to be near a beach. You have dolphin park and kings park near by and convienent shuttle service about every 15 mins. going downtown or to the bus terminal. The cost is only $1.00 bz. The rooms are clean and I had a place to cook if I choose to do so. The manager is friendly and very helpful, she will arrange excursions with local tour guides if you need that service.

Room Tip: The third floor has a slight ocean view and you can sun yourself on the roof is you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loretta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belize City
1.5 mi away
Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza
2.1 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
1.2 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
568 reviews
9.3 mi away
Royal Palm Island Resort
Royal Palm Island Resort
#2 of 2 in St. George's Caye
54 reviews
8.9 mi away
St. George's Caye Resort
St. George's Caye Resort
#1 of 2 in St. George's Caye
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bachelor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bachelor Inn

Property: Bachelor Inn
Address: 5931 Bachelor Ave. | West Landivar, Belize City, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bachelor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bachelors Inn, where we make you comfortable, a place so far home but make you feel at home. I bet you that you will have a great time with us here at Bachelors Inn, come enjoy the fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Bachelor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bachelor Hotel Belize City
Bachelor Inn Belize/Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing