We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't have stayed anywhere else!”
Review of Bachelor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bachelor Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Reviewed 25 May 2009

To sum this hostel up in only one word would be to call it friendly. It feels safe, despite the location, and it has a wonderful roof with relaxing features. It is amazing. Even if you chose to opt for a cheaper room, it is still worth it. There were no insects in their very clean rooms.If you seek perhaps the kindest and cheapest place to stay in Belize, then choose the bachelor inn. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2009

This was our first hotel, in Belize, this trip. There is always a US to Belize culture shock when you first get there, even if its not your first time. Our room didn't appear very pretty at first look, compared to US hotels, but it was clean and had unexpected comforts. Fridg., coffee pot, virtual lay-out beach on the roof, with view of the Carib., and Nancy (Owner). As we moved through Belize and the other four hotels we stayed at, we had no idea how lucky we were to have those four ammenities, especially Nancy. She is wonderful and will help you with anything you need, including info about how to get around. We fell in love with her after spending a social evening together. She feels her english isn't very good, but we had no problen understanding her. $49 US per night and 15 minutes drive from the airport, you can stay here. Say hi to Nancy for us, we miss her.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uswaorganizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2008

Although my kids thought it was a bit "sketchy", the Bachelor Inn was perfect for an inexpensive overnight stay between our scheduled flights. It was clean and safe - although the doors did have the bars over them and the cab driver was surprised that we were staying there. We had to walk about 20 minutes to find somewhere to eat dinner and bought food at a market for the morning. The Bachelor Inn is not near the city center, and not on the water, so It would not be a place for someone who was spending their vacation in Belize City.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Charlie6325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2008

We recently stayed at the Bachelor Inn for 2 nights before going to Ambergris Caye. This little inn is located in an average neighborhood in the northern part of Belize City, near the municipal airport and the University. The owner picked us up at the International airport upon our arrival. The owner has been in this location for 14 years, and it is a work-in-progress. The 3rd floor (walk-up) has some "finished" apartments, which is what we stayed in. There were a couple of long-term residents up on the 3rd floor also. The apartment was spotlessly clean and had a mini-frig but no cooking equipment. Only the bedroom was air-conditioned, and the TV was in the bedroom also. Everything worked fine, though the finishing touches (light switch plates, door knobs, window trim) were absent. We spent a lot of time sitting in the breeze on the balcony. There were 2 little neighborhood stores where we could buy snacks, food, and drinks to take back to the room. The bus going downtown stopped at the corner of the block every 20 minutes or so. The taxi ride from the hotel back to the International airport was about $30 US.

This little inn is NOT for the average tourist who expects to stay in a resort area with restaurants and activities nearby. The people we met were friendly, but there is nothing to do unless you venture out on the bus or take a taxi. Its too far away from the town and the water-taxi bridge to walk.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank scoobagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank macky005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank あど
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belize City
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Belize Biltmore Plaza
2.0 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
1.2 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
581 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Red Hut Inn
The Red Hut Inn
#6 of 26 in Belize City
154 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sea Breeze Guest House
Sea Breeze Guest House
#7 of 26 in Belize City
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bachelor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bachelor Inn

Address: 5931 Bachelor Ave. | West Landivar, Belize City, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Price Range: £29 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bachelor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bachelors Inn, where we make you comfortable, a place so far home but make you feel at home. I bet you that you will have a great time with us here at Bachelors Inn, come enjoy the fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Bachelor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bachelor Hotel Belize City
Bachelor Inn Belize/Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing