We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cafe' Oasis”
Review of Spoonaz Photo Cafe

Spoonaz Photo Cafe
Ranked #3 of 4 Bakeries in Belize City
Restaurant details
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
137 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Cafe' Oasis”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Located near the water taxi and boat tour docks this is a friendly and quality place. Really good morning foods and espresso. Cool inside dining and outside courtyard are peaceful.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank globalcamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    38
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quality, cleanliness, peace and happiness”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

If you are becoming a little tired of constant noise from TVs or music in restaurants, or if you are longing for a delicious sweet or savoury snack that puts quality before quantity, or you just want an excellent coffee, then come to Spoonaz. If you are weary of being pestered by the many beggars in the streets of Belize City and are longing for a place where you can choose to have a chat or just be quiet and use the fast WiFi, then come to Spoonaz. Here, you will find all these good things, served up with a happy smile and a warm welcome. This was the only place of its type we found in the 'high street' here in Belize and became addicted to our daily visit! Thank you Merilyn and your wonderful staff for the sanctuary, the free information, the great food and drinks, and the all-round good service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level Contributor
171 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“One of the best places in Belize City”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Belize City is not the most exiting and pleasant place on the Earth, but apart from that Spoonaz seems to be one of the best places in town.
Very friendly service, nice riverside terrace outside (where else can you sit outside in Bellize City?).
Very friendly service and the chocolate cake is excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank edhimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I tried this newly opened cafe on my second morning in Belize City. Being only a couple of weeks old it certainly looks and feels new, and has presents as a more western venue than what surrounds it. However, for a newly arrived Brit, the cool shady interior and fresh coffee was more than welcome. I spoke at length with Merilyn, the manager who also works with the Belize Audubon Society in protecting the national parks and wildlife reserves. She also does training for the indigenous population to make sure they make best use of their natural resources to both conserve the environment and maximise their ability to profit from it. I was sad to have only tried this cafe on my last day in the city as Merilyn was so incredibly welcoming and interesting to speak to that I could easily have spent much more time there. As an addition, there is a photo studio attached at the rear of the cafe with its own unique story and the rear courtyard area was just delicious as I enjoyed a toasted bagel watching the fishermen repair their boats under a cloudless blue sky. Breakfast (cream cheese bagel and two coffees) came in at BZ$9.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheBloggingPanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Patio overlooking harbor”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Liked the patio location and the food was ok. Not a bad little spot to have lunch and take in some Belize City scenery. Sandwiches were only ok, due to the lack lustre choice of bread, but the vegetable samosas were good. Owned by a Brit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Madser2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spoonaz, Owner at Spoonaz Photo Cafe, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Just a correction........ I am not a Brit but do have British connections, I have lived all my life in Belize.

Yes, bread is a challenge in Belize however I have located a great Baker who does my bagels and is now doing my Whole Wheat and White bread, trust me , it is god.

Thanks for your review of my Cafe'.

Regards,

Jeremy Spooner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spoonaz Photo Cafe also viewed

Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 
Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 
Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to Spoonaz Photo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing