We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place, great staff.”
Review of Coningsby Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coningsby Inn
Ranked #18 of 26 Belize City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 March 2013

My fiance and I spent 4 nights at the Coningsby Inn, and I would highly recommend it as a home base for exploring Belize. Jeanette and her staff were amazing. Kendra made us dinner almost every evening, even trying her best to accommodate my vegan diet. Breakfast was also fresh and deliciously prepared every morning. I would recommend taking a short walk to the Birds Isle Restaurant at least once. If you are looking for a 4 star hotel to sip fruity drinks by a pool, look elsewhere. If you are in need of a decent meal, comfortable nights sleep, and hot shower, at the end of a busy day exploring as much as you can of this beautiful country, then look no further.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Coningsby Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2013

It’s hard to understate how grateful I am to the Coningsby Inn after my recent very short stay there. My friend and I were at the hotel for a mere 9 hours, but in that time they managed to save my friend and me three times! We arrived in Belize City at 8.45pm after a bus ride from San Ignacio that took almost an hour longer than it was supposed to have, and hence missed the nightbus to Mexico we were connecting with. Belize City has a reputation as a rather dangerous city (in an otherwise very safe country) - the fact that every shop had barred windows, and that the only people on the street at 8.45 were shady-looking, backed this up. Luckily we had a Lonely Planet, and so after arriving first at a hotel that had closed a couple of months before, we made it to the Coningsby. They were just closing up for the night, but they had a room – and didn’t rip us off – 54 USD for a very large twin room, comfy beds, air-con (a must – Belize City is like a steambath at night), cable TV, wifi and very clean private bathroom. The décor was all a bit boring, but very clean. Having a room at all was the first act of salvation. The second was that the energetic receptionist was able to whip us up some dinner (we didn’t exactly feel trying our hand at getting some food in the city, given it was now almost 10). The third was in the morning – we were planning to leave on a 630 express first class bus to the border, which was meant to leave from the water taxi station. It was a Sunday, and the Hotel owner adjudged there was no hope of getting a taxi, so instead gave us a lift herself. But there were no signs of life at all around the water taxi station, so she gave us a lift to the main bus station, where she insisted (correctly) that there would be second class express buses. Indeed, one left at 630, so we didn’t end up losing any time at all.
So if you find yourself in Belize city for any reason, especially if you've been defeated like us by the Belize bus system – which can be pretty fast and efficient at it best, but still hasn’t even gotten to the stage of printed timetables – then you can’t go wrong choosing this place as your refuge!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aroldo_Cameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We had a one night stay cause we went to Tikal Guatemala the next day. Jeanette and her staff are very lovely ladies. Our room was clean and we enjoyed our home cooked fish dinner and our Belizean breakfast the next morning. It was our first time in Belize and she Jeanette talked us out of wasting $140 on a taxi to Peten and told us to take the Belize Express instead for just $25 each. We met Italians, Greeks, Japanese, all going to Tikal in the bus. We saved money and had fun. Jeanette was kind enough to offer us a ride to the buses and there was a lot of traffic and we were blocking traffic trying to get out. She asked for no payment but I would have liked to have tipped her for her kindness. The next time we connect thru Belize City to our final destination of Guatemala or Ambergris, we will stay here first. :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chapina1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I made a last minute booking at the Coningsby inn because I was arriving in Belize City a day earlier than expected. I was just looking for a place to crash for the night at a decent price. In general, Belize City is expensive for the quality you get - and that pretty much sums up the Coningsby inn: a cute place with nice staff - but overpriced. The room is hostel quality: a bit run down, broken windows and light fixtures, but it’s still a bed with a roof over your head nevertheless. However the service was great! Personal attention just like that of a charming Bed and Breakfast – I felt like I was long lost family. The nice people, good food, relaxing balcony, free water and wifi - left me an overall good impression and I guess I would stay here again, and even recommend it to you! The bed was actually comfortable, the shower was hot, and the air-conditioning was cool. Like I said, other than the price ($70 for a hostel-ish room) I think it’s a solid choice in Belize City.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAXtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

With reference to the lady that wrote a review saying that the first language in Belize is Spanish has been misinformed. The first language is English and the second is Spanish, I should know, born and educated in Belize but now live in the UK, with family still living in Belize and has restaurants in the City. I do agree though about the safety factor, as we spent Christmas 2012 &New Years there this year, and know the Coningsby as my nephew stays there quite often. The Coningsby is the place to stay if you are on a tight budget, value fir money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

This small hotel is clean, well run, and safe. It is walking distance to some decent restaurants, although everyone in the city will warn you not to walk anywhere. We ignored that advice and had no problems. There is air conditionsing and good TV. The owner, Jeannette, knows everything about the area and willingly shares her knowledge. She personally took us to the nearby Maya ruins at Altun Ha, and we all enjoyed a delicious Indian meal at a restaurant shse knew about. The hotel is pretty with a nivce white picket fence outside.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This hotel was alright. Most importantly, the hotel felt safe. The room was fairly clean. It had an AC, and satellite TV (though our TV set did not function properly). Do not eat there, unless you have to, we had dinner and breakfast and it was not very good. The room and the food are fairly expensive. The night we stayed, there was a fair amount of noise, and plenty of barking dogs. Chances are, you are not going to be in Belize City for long, this hotel can suffice.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the ground floor, and towards the back, to minimize noise and distraction.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanRoberge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belize City hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
0.9 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
2.9 mi away
Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bella Sombra Guest House
Bella Sombra Guest House
#8 of 26 in Belize City
98 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Red Hut Inn
The Red Hut Inn
#7 of 26 in Belize City
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coningsby Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coningsby Inn

Address: 76 Regent Street, Belize City, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Belize City
Price Range: £39 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coningsby Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coningsby Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coningsby Hotel Belize City
Coningsby Inn Belize/Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing